Customer Reviews


366 Reviews
5 star:
 (306)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb
This film is just a visual and audio treat. We have watched this blu-ray numerous times and each time is as funny as the last. It just seems to keep getting better with each viewing as we see more and more details in the picture, more and more subtle hints, jokes and producer tricks.

The story is moving, about monsters that work in a factory and scare...
Published on 27 Nov 2009 by Split-Pea Soup

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really 3d
I love this film and hoped the 3d version would be as good as the adverts made out. Unfortunately the 3d isn't up to much. The high definition aspect is very good but I don't buy 3d versions of films just for improved picture quality
Published 17 months ago by A. Clegg


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb, 27 Nov 2009
This film is just a visual and audio treat. We have watched this blu-ray numerous times and each time is as funny as the last. It just seems to keep getting better with each viewing as we see more and more details in the picture, more and more subtle hints, jokes and producer tricks.

The story is moving, about monsters that work in a factory and scare children, collecting their screams for electricity to run their world. It has adult humor about the 9-5 grind, lots of laughs for the children, and of course, the bad guy. There is something for everyone in this film, and the characters are realistic, well portrayed, and you forget that you are watching a cartoon after a while. I don't post spoiler reviews, but the story is excellent here and one of their finest to date.

The DTS-HD MA sound delivers thumping bass and very realistic and believable surround sound perfectly balanced on all channels. The Subwoofer is well integrated into the sound effects for a nice deep addition to regular sound effects however, when it should thump, it really does. All channels get a good workout and really throw you into the movie. TEN stars for sound.

This cartoon may be a bit dated in terms of technical aspects but it is still an awesome display of cartoon. The picture is 1080P and just crystal clear and unbelievably cool to watch. Ten stars for video too.

After such an awesome sound/video quality, the story could be mediocre and it would still get five stars. However, the story is also very cool and entertaining to watch. This is one of the best blu-rays I have bought, and even better than some of the newer cartoons.
You can't go wrong with this Blu-Ray. A big thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect film, 30 July 2009
By 
Paul McNamee "Rambleast Reviews" (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I know Monsters Inc is popular, but I've always thought of it as living in the shadow of the other Pixar films; it came nestled between the more successful and considerably more famous Toy Story 2 and Finding Nemo, it's not one of the 'Brad Bird masterpieces'; it's even outshined by the comparatively duller Cars, a film that coasted into kids' hearts despite being missing something perhaps only we older Pixar afficionados can see.

This is a shame, as Monsters Inc is one of the studio's very best films, and indeed one of Disney's very best by default. First time director Pete Docter knows his stuff- the film is filled to the brim with background detail, and after the discovery of the child the pace is frantic 'til the thoroughly satisfying conclusion. Following three films directed by studio head John Lasseter, Docter paved the way for the other directors to tackle their own ideas, and ironically Lasseter's return to directing (with Cars) fell far short of the bar set by Andrew Stanton with Nemo, Bird's The Incredibles, and this sterling effort.

The Blu Ray is a stunning transfer. While it's arguable that the film's groundbreaking fur rendering looks dated now, it still looks amazing compared with lesser offerings from Dreamworks. EVERYTHING in this film, in fact, looks amazing, from the subtle hues and colours of the sky to the photorealistic blizzard and underground halls. The animation on token child Boo is so human its impossible not to fall in love with her, share her fears and her delights. Background detail is too presented with astounding visual clarity- see the combination locks in the locker room or cars in the exterior shot of the building for proof.

Billy Crystal and John Goodman are the perfect double act to lead the film, though there's good support from a spiteful Steve Buscemi as the piece's villain Randall and Bob Peterson as grumpy, paperwork-fond Roz, who really shines in the outtakes reel (which for this release has been removed from the film and put on the extras disc).

The extras aren't as excellent as I would have hoped for, though this is a catalogue release rather than a new film, so that's understandable. It's been released as a tie-in for Docter's second film as director, the apparently-awesome Up, though the significance of that is lost on us as we don't get it until October anyway. The only new extra of significance not ported over from the DVD special edition (which itself has long been out of print, and is replaced by the standard edition in the yearly 'Complete Pixar' collections) is a far-too-short (at 20-odd minutes) discussion between four of the film's creators about their inspiration and experience. I know it's essentially a kids' film by I would appreciate a longer feature all the same.

I can't recommend this film highly enough. It's touching, exciting (the door chase is spectacular in HD) and hilarious ("23 19!"). It looks amazing, everyone in the family will love something about it and you've no excuse not to buy it. Away you go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof, if proof were needed..., 12 Jun 2003
By 
Andrew Kerr "Alabony" (Dunfermline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
... that there IS an art to film-making, and that Disney and Pixar are masters of this art.

Toy Story broke new ground, Toy Story 2 took the ideas there into new territory, and Monsters Inc takes the game onto a whole new level again.

Graphics, effects, lighting, sound, story, characters, voices - all are outstanding and all combine to make this a thoroughly enjoyable film. Want a challenge? Try to find any real flaws...

Also, unlike many 'suitable for all ages' films, this genuinely fits the bill. Like Shrek before it, there's plenty for adults to laugh at as well as the kids. This genre seems to have a monopoly just now on films that anybody can enjoy. Why's that so rare in live-action films these days...?

Anyway, if you enjoyed Shrek, or Toy Story, you will absolutely love this. If you haven't seen any of them, jump in! You'll love 'em!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, 24 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. K. Whalen "Keith Whalen" (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monsters Inc. [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
My 3 year old daughter loved this movie and to be honest so did I. As mentioned by other reviewers the plot is well thought out and totally original. The film was released before my daughter was even born but has a timeless quality and loveable monsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Film For All, 4 Feb 2003
By 
Matt (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
As soon as I saw the first trailer for this film in the cinema with Sully and Mike playing charades I knew I was going to love this film. I am a big fan of all the computer animation films and this one is easily on par with the Toy Story films and A Bugs Life.
The attention to detail that has been put into this film has really paid off. It was in production for over five years, and actually started before Toy Story 2. They have used the latest technology (and developed new techniques) to make the animation as realistic as possible, just look at Sully's hair.
Now to the actually story. Sully and Mike are the top scare team in Monstropolis, working to collect children's screams by entering their rooms at night through their closet doors and scaring them. One day a child escapes into the monster world and children are believed to be toxic to monsters. Mike and Sully end up trying to save Boo (the name they give the girl) and return her to her world.
I wont give away the end to those of you who have not seen it yet (why haven't you!?) but I would definitely recommend this film to both children and adults.
The second disc of the DVD is also worth five stars as it is jam packed with extra features to keep you entertained for hours. There is the animated short film "For The Birds" which proceeded Monsters Inc in the cinema and there is also a new short, "Mike's New Car" which is absolutely hilarious. Then you can take a look behind the scenes at how the film was made, take a tour of the Monsters Inc factory, view the scarers trading cards or play a game where you help Mike find parts of Boo's door.
What else can I say? You can't go wrong with this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Languages & Subtitles, 15 Dec 2009
Blu-ray all zone

Ratio of the feature film:
1.85:1

Languages of the feature film:
DTS Master Audio 5.1: English
DTS 5.1: French, Dutch
Dolby 5.1: Belgian

Subtitles for all the videos:
Dutch, French, English, English for the hearing impaired

Verdict:
An outstanding and perfect picture and sound quality, this film couldn't have been watched in better condition than it is today thanks to the blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab Film, 28 Jan 2005
This review is from: Monsters Inc. [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see Monsters inc because it was a Disney Pixar collaboration and I had loved their previous films Toy Story and Toy Story 2. Monsters inc doesn't disappoint with great gags, amazing animation and characters that everyone will adore.
Both the young and not so young will love this film. I would have given it 5 stars but then I saw Finding Nemo ( a true 5 star film!) what showed up a few flaws in this film, nevertheless you should still see this movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for kids and grown-up's alike!, 1 Jun 2003
From the creators of Toy Story and Toy Story 2 comes Monster's Inc. A heart-warming adventure story about the epic adventures of Sulley and Mike (two very funny monsters from Monstropolis). Monstropolis relies on children's screams to power their world and without it, just like us human's, we can't survive( no TV, Internet), the lot! So it is down to the incredible duo of Sulley and Mike to scare children whilst sleeping to help power their world. On the way Sulley makes a new friend called Boo and without spoiling the film they go on some brilliant adventures with a lot of laughs on the way. Overall this film is another brilliant creation from Pixar and just like Toy Story it is a film for the whole family to enjoy, a must for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this CD set, you WON'T regret it!, 22 Sep 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
James Sullivan (voice by John Goodman) and Mike Wazowski (Billy Crystal) make a great team...a great monster team that is. Monstropolis, the city of the monsters, gets all of its power from the screams of little human children, and though scarers such as Sulli work real hard, sneaking through children's closet doors and scaring the daylights out of them, there just doesn't seem to be enough power. But, when a human child (toxic, like all children) sneaks into Monstropolis, Sulli and Mike find themselves in real trouble. They can't tell the good monsters from the bad monsters, but it's up to them to save the day! [Color, released in 2001, with a running time of 1 hour, 33 minutes.]
I was lucky enough to get my hands on the Monsters, Inc. Collector's Edition, and boy am I happy! This movie is an absolute masterpiece. The story is clean enough for any kid, it is extremely funny (I loved it!), and it is just the right balance of being suspenseful but not too scary for the young viewers. The monsters themselves are funny, creative, and very well-done.
Now, let's talk extras, this CD collection is crammed full of them. It has an all-new short (Mike's New Car, which my little ones had to watch three times in a row!), the short seen when the movie was in the theatre (For the Birds), outtakes, the Monsters Inc Company Play (it's kind of hard to explain, you've got to see it), Monster World (for the new Monsters Inc employee), a game [pant, pant, pant], and so much more.
OK, if that's not clear enough, let me put it this way: Buy this CD set, you WON'T regret it!No matter what state you come to see it, you will leave with a smile on your face and a joy not often given to us by movies. This is a movie to warm the heart, the spirit, and the corners of your mouth, not to mention your stomach as you laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3D as it should be, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters, Inc. (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [2002] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A totally winning combination. Great film, lovingly re-rendered in 3D with superb high definition and totally immersive surround sound soundtrack.

My favourite 3D so far, depths are clear and deep, which actually helps emphasise the background jokes, pop out 3d pops right out to tickle your glasses. Detail is fantastic, makes you want to reach out and straighten scully's hair, oh and to me the film is even funnier than it was 10 years ago.

Clearly a lot of love and care has gone into this release, and it shows in very frame. It's like an old friend has lost two stone and taken up weight training.

If you need a film to show off your system then this is it, also handy to keep the kids quiet and if you need a giggle on a Sunday afternoon. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monsters, Inc. (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [2002] [Region Free]
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews