Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good intro sampler
The current Euro revival of swing music started in the UK by Mr.Scruff is a whole new world of music to discover,particulalry if you like jazz.This set offers good value as a sampler over 4 CDs which is a great place to start.From this set you can establish what electro swing resembles euro/disco/pop and what music faithfully recreates a swing feel with a very modern...
Published on 22 Oct 2010 by Archie Grimwald

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jury is still out
The jury is still out for me on electro-swing. At its best it does offer a imaginative reworking of old material, at its worst (step forward Mr Scruff) it doesn't seem anything more than a revival of Jive Bunny. This compilation provides a good overview though. There are some great tracks here - the fusion of old and new is seamless and it's sometimes difficult to tell...
Published on 15 Sep 2011 by David Arturovitch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good intro sampler, 22 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The current Euro revival of swing music started in the UK by Mr.Scruff is a whole new world of music to discover,particulalry if you like jazz.This set offers good value as a sampler over 4 CDs which is a great place to start.From this set you can establish what electro swing resembles euro/disco/pop and what music faithfully recreates a swing feel with a very modern twist.Obviously this is a jazz based music but there are clever mixes of ragtime,dixieleand,trad jazz,electro,trip hop,dubstep,ska,funk and rock woven into the swing beats found here.Too many tracks to individually review but this set reflects the musicaldiversity which has become known as electro swing very well and there should be something for everyone within these discs. Great music to dance to and I would recommend slipping a few tracks in the mix to get people dancing at a party.People really do love this stuff and it really has a universal appeal due to the long history of swing music.Be aware that there are a number of Electro Swing compilations on the market,all of which have a number of duplicated tracks which is a great shame-thus the four stars.
I have even taken the step of learning to dance to this stuff properly instead of making an ass of myself under the influence.No mean feet at my age!Recommendation enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to electro swing, 31 Dec 2010
By 
Most of the tracks are really easy on the ear and toe-tapping stuff, but there are a few that are just too repetitive - mind you that's what the skip button is for! All in all a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 2 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You get four CDs of Electro Swing music, delivery on time.
My only objection is that CDs come in paper sleeves, so if you want to store them in the CD rack, you won't be able to. Four paper sleeves are within the nice cardboard box. It could be a good present to post to somebody, because it is not too heavy. If you are not botheres about packaging, it is a nice collection of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jury is still out, 15 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electro Swing Fever (MP3 Download)
The jury is still out for me on electro-swing. At its best it does offer a imaginative reworking of old material, at its worst (step forward Mr Scruff) it doesn't seem anything more than a revival of Jive Bunny. This compilation provides a good overview though. There are some great tracks here - the fusion of old and new is seamless and it's sometimes difficult to tell what comes from where. Other tracks, however, just take someones else's music and add a very repetitive, unsubtle percussion track. Worst of all is that these tracks don't swing - the importance of swing in jazz is that the rhythm switched from the bass drum to the ride cymbal - providing a subtle pulse rather than an obvious beat. Also, there was harmonic invention as well as rhythmic, whereas most of the tracks on this album reduce the harmony to two chords, even if these clash with the changes on the source material. All in all, this set is a bargain and provides a good intro to the genre. Undemanding music to play in the background - but you'd be better spending your money on the Jazz at the Philharmonic recordings. They really swing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Be carefull if you buy the auto-rip version from Amazon themselves....., 28 Mar 2014
By 
D. Oliver "Gamer" (planet rock) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electro Swing Fever (4CD) (Audio CD)
Be carefull if you buy the auto-rip version from Amazon themselves, why? - There are 2 auto-rip compilations named Electro swing fever. This one from 2013 & a red cover version from 2010,
I have only just noticed 24hrs before agreeing to dj this at a friends birthday using my pc dj software.

Hopefully Amazon will sort it out asap, but I'm only giving this 1 star because frankly Amazon you should have the right info the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not my cuppa, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electro Swing Fever (4CD) (Audio CD)
Not wat I expected. Very, very repeditive and boring. Can't think of anything else to say about, apart from the cardboard cover, very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What A great Sound, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electro Swing Fever (MP3 Download)
Found this by fluke when looking for something else. Got say loved every track on it, I will be getting more of this kind of music it make you feel up lifted and put a smile on your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solid album, 30 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electro Swing Fever (MP3 Download)
I don't claim to be an electro swing aficionado, but this album is certainly one of my favourites out of my entire music collection. I tend to make custom playlists of the songs I like from large albums like this and 52 out of the 60 songs made it in, which is the largest proportion I think I've ever ended up with from a collective album. Still has replay value even after a year has passed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good choice., 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electro Swing Fever (MP3 Download)
I was new to Electro Swing so this album was the perfect introduction. Many, but not all, good tracks and a good starting place to dig deeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good. Value and new mp3 download is a breeze, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electro Swing Fever (MP3 Download)
There are some great tracks and a lot of stuff you couldn't really call electro swing - maybe electro make it up as you go along. Mixers often get all mixed up !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Electro Swing Fever (4CD)
Electro Swing Fever (4CD) by Various (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews