Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merits the designation as one of the greatest novels of all time
I first read War and Peace 25 years ago at the age of 15. It was a light in my intellectual development. Rereading it today took me two weeks and helped me revisit the concepts and the power of this magnificent epic novel which combines , romance, realism, and philosophy and deserves it's designation as one of the greatest novels of all time.

War and Peace...
Published 7 months ago by Gary Selikow

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too many typing mistakes
There are huge spelling mistakes and typos it's really really off-putting, can barely read it as the story doesnt flow properly with such huge errors.
Published 16 months ago by Georgia Spencer Davison


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too many typing mistakes, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Kindle Edition)
There are huge spelling mistakes and typos it's really really off-putting, can barely read it as the story doesnt flow properly with such huge errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good do not buy, 20 Oct 2012
This review is from: War and Peace (Kindle Edition)
Text is repeated, with random question marks appearing throughout. There are sometimes missing spaces also through out the text. Not sure if the text has been transferred correctly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merits the designation as one of the greatest novels of all time, 2 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: War and Peace (Kindle Edition)
I first read War and Peace 25 years ago at the age of 15. It was a light in my intellectual development. Rereading it today took me two weeks and helped me revisit the concepts and the power of this magnificent epic novel which combines , romance, realism, and philosophy and deserves it's designation as one of the greatest novels of all time.

War and Peace operates from the premise that history is a result of predestination and not as the result of the actions of great and powerful men. Having said that one comes away from reading it with an admiration of the Marshal Kutuzov, who from the beginning to end never once from the beginning of his activity in 1812 never once swerving by word or deed presents an admirable example of self-sacrifice and a present consciousness of the future importance of what was happening. and of the heroic Russian people, who valiantly defended their homeland and suffered such terrible and massive losses.
They would repeat this valiant performance against the Nazi invaders some 130 years later.
Tolstoy wrote War and Peace in 1864, and it took him nearly six years to finish it. The book covers Russian history between the years 1812 and 1818, and takes in Russia's struggle against the French, including Napoleon's 1812 campaign which effectively destroyed his power.
It deals with the Russian upper class family life and it's near dis-integration through adversity, yet the traditional Slavonic pessimism is not allowed to dominate the novel and it ends on a note of hope.
War and Peace essentially deals with five Russian aristocratic families, but includes in it'it's pages over 500 characters; all of whom are delineated with amazing realism, even the dogs emerge as personalities. Many of the people in the novel are drawn from life and are recognizable as relatives and friends of the author.
Reflecting the two sides of his own character, Tolstoy puts himself as it were in the book, as the very different friends, Prince Andre Bolkonsky and Count Pierre Bezuhov.
You will find that you have your own favourite and best loved characters and circles of characters. My favorites were the engaging and spirited Natasha Rostov (whose development from a charming 13 year old child to a 25 year old mother of four I followed closely) , and the pious and kindly Princess Maria. But I could not help feeling a certain sympathy for the Princess Helena..

Despite the novel's length, and break in the narrative, for discussion of the forces that move history, the interest is kept up all the way through.
The extraordinary trueness to life of the book was achieved by painstaking research into the historical background and by minute observation of real people.
The novel deals not only with the forces that move nations but with deeper questions of people's consciousness and the realities of human freedom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Kindle Edition)
I have been promising that I would read W & P for many years and have finally managed to fing the time!

I have to admit that I read it as a historical story rather than an in depth manual of war. Having said this, I very much enjoyed the human stories which trickled through the whole book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Translators?, 12 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Kindle Edition)
I've read "War & Peace" many times in a variety of different translations. Each time it's like reading a different book depending on the translator. (The first translation I read was a nineteenth century version and it was quite heavy going) I am annoyed that the product description here does not include the name of the translator/s. I downloaded it yesterday on spec and read the first couple of chapters. I'm almost sure that it's the Aylmer Maude translation which was the Penguin version that I first read in the 1950s. I'm mentioning this for the benefit of other would-be readers who are curious about which translation they are downloading. This is one of my top 10 novels. Infinitely satisfying for anyone who enjoys family sagas and the sweep of historical events. Some people find the length off-putting and are bewildered by the opening chapters which introduce dozens of characters all at once. There is a helpful glossary in the printed version - don't know about the Kindle. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Novel., 30 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. J. J. Roebuck (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Kindle Edition)
This is my third reading so I am familiar with the plot and characters. It is still my favorite novel and I am enjoying reading it again and getting just as involved as I did the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Vintage Books edition, 21 May 2014
This review is from: War and Peace (Kindle Edition)
This book is a treasure, beautifully produced. The English .translation is excellent. The notes and background details are full of interest and most useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars definitely worth reading, 27 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Kindle Edition)
It's a classic for very good reason because although bases in the time of the Napoleonic wars, many of its observations about human life are timeless and see, remarkably contemporary. My only caveat would be that the Second Epilogue which is chapter after chapter of abstract thought on the nature and laws of history adds nothing to the book and in retrospect I would not have read them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this at least once in their lives., 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Kindle Edition)
Takes some time to get into the writing style, but once you start engaging with the characters, you get hooked and just want to keep reading to find out what happens to them next. Gives a good background history to the Napoleonic wars in the Germanic and Russian areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 21 May 2014
By 
Peter H Breckwoldt (Northampton, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace (Kindle Edition)
This is an essential read. It is a story on a grand scale that has both depth and intimacy. It is both a family story and deeply moving love story. It is the kind of book that would be most welcomed on a desert island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War and Peace
War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
£0.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews