Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly sensational read!!
I must admit that I am only half way through this book and it has turned me into a believer! I have always been cautious to read any books written by American scientists whose intention is to investigate the survival of consiousness, but Gary E Scwartz is a whole different ball game!

This book is very clearly written and easy to understand, his scientific...
Published on 18 Dec. 2007 by Mr. D. Child

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK if you are a scientist!
A good solid study by a reputable scientist on several American mediums and their communications with the hereafter. Mediums include John Edward and George Anderson. Undertaken several years ago, the evidence still speaks for itself. Whilst the subject was interesting, the book was rather boring as it was written and presented in a scientific manor, as a series of...
Published 14 days ago by Karen Froud


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly sensational read!!, 18 Dec. 2007
By 
Mr. D. Child "Dion" (England, Huddersfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must admit that I am only half way through this book and it has turned me into a believer! I have always been cautious to read any books written by American scientists whose intention is to investigate the survival of consiousness, but Gary E Scwartz is a whole different ball game!

This book is very clearly written and easy to understand, his scientific investigations with the mediums are extremely professional and it is good that he constantly questions whether what he is seeing and hearing with his own senses is real. Never for a moment does he suggest that what he is investigating is real - he always remains firmly open minded, but largely more skeptical. He never forgets that he is a scientist whilst writing this book and it's great to know that someone so intelligent and cynical as himself, is looking into the notion of survival of consiousness with an open and scientific mind!

The book has many revelations and it is extremely thought-provoking. It's good that science is pondering the existence of consciousness after death and this book only confirms that this may in fact be a possibility! He has made a believer out of me! And I was once an ardent skeptic!
Dion, Leeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scientific after-life experiments, 6 Sept. 2007
By 
Roy J. Candy (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the most important series of experiments undertaken in the last 50 years and consequently one opf the most important books. It is encouraging how Gary Schwartz and his associates adapted their methodology in the light of experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must and very thought-provoking record, 1 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
this book is a must for anybody who has questioned the existance of life after death. It has a very scientific sounding title but don't be put off by that, it is a very easy book to read offers thought provoking rational insight into the other side. I am not an academic but I found this book, even with it's somewhat profound complicated appendices very easy to read and understand. Even Skeptics should read this book as it also explains some of the reasoning behind skeptism. This book connects science with religion and spirituality and leaves the reader feeling that they are never alone, but in the most warm and loving of contexts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A serious challenge for the ultra-sceptics, 6 Mar. 2006
By 
R. Nathan "rotatingflak" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a highly readable and convincing account of a series of fairly exceptional and important scientific experiments.

Any scientific investigation of the hypothesis of after-death survival of consciousness has to rule out (beyond reasonable doubt), fraud, hallucination, cold-reading, chance or super-psi as opposing hypotheses for the results. With the occasional reservation,these experiments go a long way towards doing just that.

The experimental conditions, controls and data are well documented and the results present a serious challenge to the ultra-sceptics and reductionist-materialists.

Those in search of evidence for the after-life should definitely add this book to their collection. Also highly recommended is David Fontana's comprehensive overview `Is There An Afterlife?'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!!, 24 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just received this two days ago and cannot put it down, it's mind blowing and heart wrenching at times as well, i've always believed there is something else there when we die and this just confirms to me that the soul does not die after death, haven't finished it yet but felt compelled to review already, great read even for a sceptic, this may make you a believer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully compelling and Truly Staggering, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an absolute must read for anyone interested in exploring the possibility of an afterlife, but particularly with reference to mediumship.
Prof. Gary Schwartz is a consumate and incredibly well qualified scientist, with great integrity and courage to explore a topic mainstream science ignores and codemns as fraudulent.

This book has totally shaken the very foundations of my world view. It has had me laughing and crying, and really examining what I thought I previously knew. All for the better. This work is truly astounding, and demands to be read by skeptics and believers alike, as it cannot be ignored. The science is solid, and the message profound.
Absolutely first rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - worth every penny, 2 Dec. 2011
Exciting and I could not put it down when. Well written but it did take a couple of pages to get into it but definitely worth the effort. A real eye opener and it certainly makes you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK if you are a scientist!, 10 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Afterlife Experiments: Breakthrough Scientific Evidence of Life After Death (Kindle Edition)
A good solid study by a reputable scientist on several American mediums and their communications with the hereafter. Mediums include John Edward and George Anderson. Undertaken several years ago, the evidence still speaks for itself. Whilst the subject was interesting, the book was rather boring as it was written and presented in a scientific manor, as a series of experiments and their outcomes, really aimed at persuading the scientist of the certainty of life after death ,rather than the general reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title, 10 Oct. 2013
By 
D. Birbeck "Jasperoo" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another book which IS NOT by Deepak Chopra only the forward.
The book is interesting in what it tries to do (which are basically to prove that there IS life after death), but the methods employed by the author are not particularly 'scientific' and would most certainly leave a sceptic saying 'told you so'. But, for all that, it was a well written book on the subject, and having read many recently, was not the worst by any means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Science made to fit?, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At first it was a fascinating read but then it seemed to be summarised and pulled together by non science with all sorts of speculation including the possibility of spirits leading courts as they would know the truth of what has gone on! If there is a god and we are hear to learn do you not think the 'veil' is there to let us learn if the two worlds merged into one what woukd be the point? Book went way beyond science!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews