Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different take on a nowadays popular topic
Every other book written about cryptography has, for me, been overly serious and thus tends to be very hard to become immersed in. This is where Leo Marks' excellent account of his exploits in SOE differs. He tells his amazing, moving and tragic story with a wonderful sense of humour that allows the reader to become involved in the agents he describes. Marks very cleverly...
Published on 8 Dec 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars beale norman
probably the best book I have read as an adult I have given only three stars as my kindle wont accept the other two. a truly brilliant book. hurry up amazon and make it abailable on kindle.
Published 17 months ago by beale Norman


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The story of the other code breakers, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Silk and Cyanide: A Code Maker's War 1941-45 (Kindle Edition)
Bletchley Park didn't house the only code breaker in the UK. There was one man who single handedly kept the French resistance safe from their own codes without them even knowing and made codes as arguably a secure as Enigma codes that could not be tortured out of allied spies. Even the Americans succumbed to his genius yet he failed the entry test for Betchley. Warning! This is a page turner for what could otherwise be a boring subject. Well written and a true story. Even Fannies get a mention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Story, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Silk and Cyanide: A Code Maker's War 1941-45 (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant story about the man who kitted out the SOE with their codes for service behind enemy lines. A heart wrenching read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A code makers war, 9 Feb 2014
By 
G. Baker "GB Wales" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Silk and Cyanide: A Code Maker's War 1941-45 (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read,for someone born just after the war, it gave a brilliant view of what went on in those dark years of the war.Especially
the live of the poor agents droped into europe only to fall into the hands of the germans. They were truly brave people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Silk and Cyanide: A Code Maker's War 1941-45 (Kindle Edition)
I had heard so much about this subject l(Bletchley) lately that I was really looking forward to it, but the writing style was so unprofessional and unpolished that I gave up after just a few chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay BUT, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Silk and Cyanide: A Code Maker's War 1941-45 (Kindle Edition)
A lot of how good am I and takes a long time to get to the point.
Once more showing the intransigence of the higharacy to change and innovation.
More of the direct story would have made this a better book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How secure are we today, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Silk and Cyanide: A Code Maker's War 1941-45 (Kindle Edition)
This was my first Kindle book and from start to finish I could not put it down! Leo marks brings it all to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading., 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Both books were excellent! In fact, I would love to read "Between Silk and Cynanide" again but a person I loaned the book has never returned it. Leone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for WW2 enthusiasts!, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Silk and Cyanide: A Code Maker's War 1941-45 (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic content about SOE and World War Two espionage.
Have read this in book form, lent it to someone who was very interested in this topic. Never got it back, thus book e- book.

Will read and read it again. Worth a trip to Bletchley Code breaking facility, too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars for cypher operators only, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Silk and Cyanide: A Code Maker's War 1941-45 (Kindle Edition)
Started off well,unfortunately unless you are well versed with the world of codes and methods of
breaking them then the book got far too repetitive and far to difficult to understand.
A simple explaination of what each heading meant,perhaps in the form of an appendix,would have
enabled the reader to understand what he was talking about.
I tended to bypass blocksof pages in order to hope to come to paragraphs that meant anything to me!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read in years., 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Silk and Cyanide: A Code Maker's War 1941-45 (Kindle Edition)
A humorous but brilliant book which tells the story of a young man who worked in cryptology throughout the war. Easy to follow and amongst the humour gives an insight into the dedication and hard work of the unsung heroes of the second world war.

Be warned. Once you start reading this you won’t be able to stop until you reach the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews