Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars147
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2014
If you are interested in codes, the war, agents or spies and so forth then you'll enjoy this. Excellent read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
This is a book to hold your attention and one to read again and then again.

I would recommend it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
An incredible account of SOE and coded signals during the 2nd World War, written by the Code Master, a very young man at the time with an amazing sense of humour, and great sensitivity for all the agents who went into so much danger; many of those he taught codes to were captured, tortured and killed. A view of undercover activities which so few people knew anything about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
I loved this. There were times when I was so involved with the people and the danger they were in that I could only read it in coffee shops where I couldn't be spooked. My attempts at trying to follow the decoding instructions were disastrous! The brains, bravery and sheer chutzpah of the people...... no wonder we won the war. It makes you proud to be British - and how often do we get to feel like that? Read it. It's better than anything a novelist could invent.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2009
. . . I endorse everything that the 5 star reviewers have to say about this account of SOE operations from 1942 on - when Marks joined the service. But a serious cavil. The index to the Sutton Publishing (paper back) imprint has no page references! Read that again slowly! Thus the index is useless if the reader wishes to refer back to names, places etc. An incredible editorial oversight - surely not just in my copy?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
What a biography.I would take this book to my DESERT ISLAND.
Promptly delivered
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
An excellent book. Easy to read and very informative from an unusual perspective.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2010
As with all the other reviewers I agree this is a fascinating book well worth the read and of obvious interest to anyone who wants to find out more about code-making and code-breaking during the Second World War.

Unfortunately for those of us in the 'older generation' with failing eyesight the size of type in this edition makes it quite hard going unless you are reading under good light and - even worse - I have never encountered a book with so many typographic errors: misprints, missing punctuation and sentences that don't make sense. It would be wrong to say there are errors on every page, but there are at least a couple in every chapter, which is pretty annoying. There is even one section where a code is being explained and the letter-transposition (which is quite clear in the diagram) is described incorrectly in the text. Perhaps there is a hidden challenge here that you have to be a potential code-breaker to read the book?

Overall - highly recommended, but don't buy this edition.
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
This is a fascinating book which shows what clever people can achieve with enormous effect. It should be compulsory reading material to show all the post war generations what was done by the silent army who are mostly not here anymore. Such bravery should be rewarded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Witty, pithy, quietly thrilling and definitely stirring...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)