Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More delights from this series!
If (like me) you were a fan of the 1st series of 'grow your own drugs' on BBC2 (and dvd) Grow Your Own Drugs [DVD] [2009]and its accompanying book Grow Your Own Drugs: Easy Recipes for Natural Remedies and Beauty Treats, you will be delighted with this new book. (And with the knowledge that the passionate and evangelical James Wong is back for another series on...
Published on 4 April 2010 by Bob and Billy's Mum

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's ok
Well! I was hoping that it would have more recipes that the series but its the same don't get put off.. it that's ok with you i do still find the book resourceful.. but jus expected more.
Published on 21 Mar 2012 by lo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More delights from this series!, 4 April 2010
By 
Bob and Billy's Mum (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
If (like me) you were a fan of the 1st series of 'grow your own drugs' on BBC2 (and dvd) Grow Your Own Drugs [DVD] [2009]and its accompanying book Grow Your Own Drugs: Easy Recipes for Natural Remedies and Beauty Treats, you will be delighted with this new book. (And with the knowledge that the passionate and evangelical James Wong is back for another series on BBC2).

This new book, contains over 100 new remedies for both medical and beauty remedies, and a seasonal timetable on when and how to grow them. It also offers good advice on where to locate the natural ingredients you may need either locally or even online if you fail to be as 'green fingered' as you would like.

Also included are top tips for general healthy living, case studies and ideas for home remedies too (I was very happy to see the tips for fleas as my pets are gearing up for the summer already and I spend a fortune on flea remedies from the vets!). Some fabby gift ideas too ( I may just be making the Sugar 'flatulence' mice for my brother!!).

224 quality colour pages make this book a real delight. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple cheap and healthy drugs, 9 April 2010
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
James Wong uses his botanical expertise in this book where he teaches how to grow over 100 new, natural, cheap and easy remedies, showing how to improve your health and save money.

His remedies can tackle all manner of common conditions and beauty problems without the need for prescription drugs.

James shows how easy it to have access to the right ingredients with his easy-to follow seasonal instructions even if you do not own a garden.

His yearly planner advises what to plant and when and the best time to harvest ir order to make your own pharmacy at home.

An easy to follow and well illustrated book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would give this ten stars if I could!, 11 May 2010
By 
S. Baldwin "dragonsue" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am making up things from this book at a fast a furious pace!

The arthritis tea really does work for me, to the point where now I will not miss my daily cuppa, even though it is messy to make, and a bit of a fuss, but for me, to be pain free, makes it all worth while.

The verbena and cat nip toy is the most loved toy in my arsenal of entertainment for my kitty now. She will lie, wrapped around it, with her nose buried in it, for hours at a time, purring like a little steam engine! The fact that I made it out of one of hubbies old socks might be a help here too though! lol

This year we had a sudden in-flux of clothes moths, probably from a nearby flat that hasn't been used though is still furnished. So I made up the clothes moth remedy balls. To see those moths battering themselves against the windows, in broad daylight, to get out, was a wonderful sight! Add to that the smell is pleasant, not like most moth balls, and I'm a very happy bunny.

The growing instructions for the plants you use in the recipes are well laid out and easy to follow, and I've already started growing some indoors, but he keeps things simple, by keeping the gardening section seperate. But if you don't have access to growing things, or are just plain hopeless at it, there is also a list of trusted suppliers where you can purchase the items ready dried, and even hints on where to get items like turmeric (arthritis tea) cheaply.

I love James Wong's style of writing. The recipes are well written out, easy to follow, and, as yet, I haven't discovered one that doesn't work! If you are an old hand at making your own medicines, you may find this book goes over familiar territory, but even an old hand might find a few new ideas here, as James worked out a lot of these recipes himself from his extensive knowledge of plants. But for a newby it is a brilliant starting point to turning your nose up a manufactured alternatives. I can't recommend this book enough, really I can't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healthy Living, 24 July 2010
By 
This second book in James Wongs TV series Grow Your Own Drugs is another fact packed volume which supports and builds on the first series.
A whole new range of recipes and treatments is on offer with simple practical advice that laymen and women will gain confidence and inspiration from.
There is also a host of additional internet linked resources.
The whole area of natural treatments with plant medicines is gaining popularity and it is heartening that James has managed to give this knowledge back to the people in a simple humorous and easily understood manner.
I recommend this book to all with an interest in simple living and also to the scientists and drug companys to see that there are no patents on healthy living and many treatments for common ailments are free to hand on the nearest piece of land.
Lets hope this trend continues and the layperson can once more take control of their own everyday health without the confusing array of specialists health products and drug concoctions.
I very much look forward to the next series in which i hope James will touch a little more on the historical context of natural plant remedys in the U.K. and abroad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Year with James Wong, 26 Jun 2010
By 
Matthew Harbottle (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Extremley good book. Very interesting and helpful, with information on herbs and their uses. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grow Your Own Drugs, 15 Jun 2010
A Kid's Review
Having enjoyed watched James on the TV, found it ideal to have this book, very interesting and I'll certainly be trying a few things out, an brilliant book to have on your shelf!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes! I'd like to spend at least an afternoon with James Wong!, 5 Jun 2010
By 
S. Bailey (Leicester, Leicestershire, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really good read, informative, inspirational, it gives you the, "I want to try this.", feeling.
If you've watched any of James's programmes from the series, 'Grow your own drugs', you'll know what I mean.
Some of the tips for easily growing your own herbs, like buying some Lemon grass in the supermarket,put in a container of water( a jam jar will do), on your kitchen windowsill, let it root and plant it up, grow on in a pot in a sunny spot....these tips make growing your own drugs more accessible to people.
And yes, I really would love to spend an afternoon with James! Purely research you understand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Readable & Informative, 25 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second book from James Wong. Beautifully written and illustrated. We've tried several of the 'recipies' ad they DO what they say in the book. The book is also packed with so much information. It is a one stop for all the information you will need, including how to cultivate aswell as harvest! I can only say Excellent James Wong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get growing, 29 Jun 2010
By 
M. D. Lawrence (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An inspirational book to read and use for reference. Beautifully presented and full of enthusiasm for the subject, it cannot fail to encourage the reader to grow and forage for plants with healing qualities, and then go on to make really helpful remedies.
I can personally vouch for the efficacy of many of the recipes and look forward to trying many more.
However, reader beware. You are soon going to want more space to grow herbs , and then much more cupboard and shelf space to store ingredients and the finished products !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grow Your Own Drugs, 8 May 2010
By 
Linda Oliver (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An entertaining and interesting book full of ideas. Having watched the television programme it is good to be able to refer to the recipes, but even without watching the programme it is still worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews