Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helen Forresters best novel to date.
"Yes Mamma" is a beautifully written book. You felt compelled to read on and learn the fate of Alicia Woodman. It is an evocative and moving story exploring the lives and views of many upper class families during the early 20th century. "Yes Mamma" has been written with emotion and understanding allowing the reader to feel part of the novel and...
Published on 18 July 2001 by kcwkate@hotmail.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes, Mama
It took me a while to get into the book. Not as good a read as the other books I have reviewed.
Published 10 months ago by rita pritchard


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helen Forresters best novel to date., 18 July 2001
By 
This review is from: Yes, Mama (Paperback)
"Yes Mamma" is a beautifully written book. You felt compelled to read on and learn the fate of Alicia Woodman. It is an evocative and moving story exploring the lives and views of many upper class families during the early 20th century. "Yes Mamma" has been written with emotion and understanding allowing the reader to feel part of the novel and enabaling them to sympathise with the characters. It is a wonderfull book and an engaging read. I enjoyed greatly and can well recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and researched, 1 May 2011
This review is from: Yes, Mama (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book very much. It is well written and well researched as I could tell by the wealth of information given about those times in Liverpool. It is not cheerful but is interesting and the characters are well rounded and believable.The main individuals are not beautiful and don't have easy lives but are like real people. It made me want to read more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
C. Gregson "Book Worm" (Chersey, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes, Mama (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed the book. Found it difficult to put down. The characters are well thought out and the storyline good. Great to read a book where the spelling and grammar are good. Recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I did like it, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes, Mama (Paperback)
Lovely story from Helen Forrester, you are rooting for Alicia from the very start. Without giving too much away, there is a happy ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely romantic story, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes, Mama (Kindle Edition)
Entertaining and easy reading
Enjoyed from start to finish
Would recommend to all ages
Another winner from the author
Would make a lovely gift for someone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes mamma., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes, Mama (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant down to earth book.Fantastic reading material .I could not put it down from beginning to end the only disappointing thing for me was it ending so quickly .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i really enjoyed this book Helen Forrester is a very good author ..., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes, Mama (Paperback)
i really enjoyed this book Helen Forrester is a very good author so you can rely on a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyed it, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes, Mama (Kindle Edition)
Could not put it down but could have read more to see how they got on in their new life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gripping book, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes, Mama (Kindle Edition)
Helen Forrester is a well established author and every book is different and the reader is drawn into the situation she is writing about and you can visualise everything she describes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes, Mama (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book, and all I can say is WOW...I loved it, the characters are very real and you feel for all the Women, to be living in such different times, with the constraints of society seems like another world today. I truly didn't want this book to end, and you are rooting for the main characters to win through...I would love to see a sequel and find out how they are all getting on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yes, Mama
Yes, Mama by Helen Forrester
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews