Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful
I always look forward to new Richard Thompson albums but I was especially eager to get this one as I also love Buddy Miller (who produced and also played on the record). I was not disappointed. From the opening track "Stony Ground", with its great lyrics and superb guitar break (which has a kind of forceful mixed Celtic-North African feel to it) to the final...
Published 16 months ago by GUY JUDGE

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Eternal Troubador
good enough but not as some from 1990s to early 2000's, though still immensely creative and enthusiastic in all he does
Published 15 months ago by r g cowley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
I always look forward to new Richard Thompson albums but I was especially eager to get this one as I also love Buddy Miller (who produced and also played on the record). I was not disappointed. From the opening track "Stony Ground", with its great lyrics and superb guitar break (which has a kind of forceful mixed Celtic-North African feel to it) to the final waltz time "Saving the Good Stuff for You" everything here is brilliant. Even though you can see or hear most of these songs at diverse places on the Web you must get your own copy of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
this has got to be one of the very very best of Richard Thompsons work, every track is great and the guitar work fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RT does it again!, 14 Feb 2013
By 
C. Etherington (Doncaster, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
From first listening, it's obvious that RT hasn't lost the magic. It took several days to get into "Dream Attic", well worth the effort, I assure you, but "Electric" grabbed my attention straight away. From the cheekily funny "Stony Ground", through the ironic "Another Small Thing In Her Favour" to the harsh reality of "The Snow Goose", RT continues to dazzle and amaze. I love this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charged!, 10 Nov 2013
By 
ds "Lagerd" (West Allis, WI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
Having followed Thompson's career since being a teen in the late '70s, I've always found it difficult to rate his albums. I've generally enjoyed his output thru the years but have rarely been blown away by anything. That said, he does have a discography overflowing with one solid record after another. My favs are still his earliest (Human Fly, Hokey Pokey & Bright Lights). Was pleased to learn of his association with Buddy Miller, another artist of whom I've followed since his earlier years (Mark Heard, The Electrics). It seems as though Miller's production imprint does not possess a specific trademark, rather he evaluates each artist's strengths and weaknesses and steers them towards their strengths. And in Thompson's case that means writing extremely literate, melodic songs while injecting those searing guitar solos that we've come to expext. And ELECTRIC gets off to a strong start; 'Stoney Ground' is an uptempo track employing those tried and true Thompson songwriting ingredients while 'Salford Sunday' does the same from a slower, acoustic perspective. "Sally B' (wow, what a guitar solo!) and my favorite 'Treadmill' (I'm on one of those treadmills) with it's funky beat and off-kilter guitar line accompanied by Thompson's scathing lyric continue this album in fine fashion. Unfortunately nearly every thompson record has a song or two that I find myself skipping over due to tedious and repetitive refrains, melodies, etc: In the case of ELECTRIC two such songs, 'My Enemy' and 'Where's Home' fit that bill. Those are the only two blemishes on this record. 'Another Small Thing' is classic, heart-wrenching Thompson and along with the caustic 'Straight and Narrow' right this ship in a hurry. Appropriately, he closes this fine album on a more reflective and folksy manner 'Saving the Good Stuff' reminding us of his multifaceted songwring acumen. Oh, and for a singer in his mid sixties his voice sounds as good as it did 30 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb again....how does this man keep doing it?!, 30 Aug 2013
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
Will not repeat other reviews other than to say BUY THE DELUXE EDITION - bonus tracks are actually a REAL BONUS for a change - some treasures - but then what else would you expect from this long-standing maestro......and it's only a couple of quid more - don't be mean, treat yourself, you know you're worth it! BTW, if you haven't seen RT in concert, you are missing an even bigger treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome performer, 29 April 2013
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
I saw Richard Thompson play in Boston this year and was knocked out by his tremendous performance, I wanted this CD to remind me of a very memorable night when he shared the bill with the equally wonderful Emmylou Harris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like the packaging, like the product..., 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Already own it on MP3 but have a liking of Vinyl (though haven't bought any in years...). Decided to buy this and was 'highly impressed'. Came securely packaged and was 'heavier' than I expected (well it is a 'deluxe pressing'...which I now understand what it means...).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Electric!, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. A. Huggan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (MP3 Download)
Yet again another fine album from Richard Thompson, bringing to life more characters with his songwriting genius. Going by songs and arrangements alone, this would get 5 stars, however I feel that the album has not been mixed/mastered to give the album it's full potential. Some of the tracks are a bit muddy and overcompressed, whereas other tracks sound beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Master, 7 Feb 2014
By 
R. D. GARDINER (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
Richard in great form want to see it live. So many great tracks, great lyrics, out of this world guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Gary Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
The album shows just how good a guitarist Richard Thompson is. Some great songs throughout the album. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Electric
Electric by Richard Thompson
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews