Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
35
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2013
Very impressive... quite probably their most heavy & most technical record yet. It's fast paced and agressive while always keeping the melody. It relates to the early years of 'Seven Ways To Scream Your Name' EP or even 'Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation'.
The new drummer Pat Lundy (former 'Rise To Remain') along with bassist Richard deliver some of the best work the band has ever made, and in adition with guitarrists FFAF deliver the most powerful breakdowns in years.
The huge melodic chorus that are a constant on every Funeral For A Friend album are present, being ''Nails'', ''Spine'' and ''Best Friends And Hospital Beds'' the most representative.
Sounds like a very lively record which will certainly be very welcomed by the audience at a live show.

Heavy, agressive, melodic, technical, and the heart and soul of the band remains. Very good indeed
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
This will no doubt be sacrilege but 'Casually Dressed..' sat on my shelf for years without so much as a dusting off. I appreciated the scene at the time but just didn't get this band for some reason.

Ten-ish years later I thought, these guys are still going, there must be something to them and with the help of a Classic Rock mag review bought 'Welcome Home Armageddon.' Excellent album and grown on me over the last couple of years so Conduit was a no brainer.

What a cracking album. Short, sweet, no-nonsense and with a real punk feel to it. The melody is still there but it doesn't overbear the raw and punky vibe. The whole album has the feel of a debut, it's fresh, enthusiastic, pacey, and does not sound like a band hindered by expectations.

As a result 'Casually Dressed....' has been dusted and the back catalogue bought. If you are not sure where to start with your FFAF journey, start here and work back. It's one of the best mid career revivers I've ever heard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
Just sat through my first play through of the new album. It's very much a back-to-basics approach.
Compared with their last offering Welcome Home Armageddon, Conduit is very much a push towards punchy, high octane songs like Broken Foundation. You can still hear the well-honed melodies that permeate through the majority of the band's work (listen to Elements and Best Friends). But you can hear a large push towards early FFAF, songs like The Art Of American Football spring to mind.
Be prepared to be grabbed by the scruff of the neck and dragged through this at pace. You can feel the band's enthusiasm growing with every song, right up to the fantastic High Castles.

In short;
It's raw, it's energetic, it's refreshing and it's very very good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
A must have for any fan of FFAF. Back to their best!
Although the songs are rather short and the album is only 30 minutes, it just means that the album plays on repeat more often, which means more FFAF.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
having got in to funeral for a friend over 10 years ago this is the album i have been waiting for. When I first came across the band I thought they were really fresh and exciting, as the albums kept coming the more uninterested I found them a little boring. This album brings back the edge, I've always loved the guitars with FFAF but on this album the riffs are excellent with a raw heaviness better than I've heard them for ages. The new drummer also adds to this technically great and powerful. Matt Davies also sounds angry on this record without losing the soulfulness in his voice. The songs are relativley short but this doesn't really bother me as they pack a punch for the most part. Overall I think FFAF are back to being an exciting band with this album and its been worth the wait.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
I had high hopes for Conduit after 2011's Welcome Home Armageddon, which suggested that FFAF were back to their best. It was packed full of awesome riffs and catchy melodies and highlighted some of the bands heaviest and most tuneful songs.

Unfortunately Conduit falls short of expectations. There's plenty of aggression present in all of the songs which will no doubt please many. These 11 songs are probably the closest in sound to Funeral's earliest work, but that isn't necessarily a positive.

The album opens with 'Spine', which is fast paced and features some semi-screamed vocals from Matt. It has promise but is let down by a lack of melody and also feels short lived. In many ways it's a perfect snapshot of the entire album.

The following song, 'Conduit', is a little heavier and much more frustrating. This song could have been excellent if it had a chorus with a killer hook; the type we know FFAF can pull off. You're left waiting and waiting for that sing-along hook that never comes.

Thankfully things pick up, albeit briefly, from this point. 'The Distance' wouldn't feel out of place on Welcome Home Armageddon and provides the chorus that the opening two tracks were lacking. 'Best Friends and Hospital Beds' continues in the same vein with an aggressive verse and melodic chorus. Completing a trio of outstanding tracks, 'Nails' shows a bit more variation. The aggression is still there but the pace is a little slower and the vocals a little bit cleaner.

At this point the album seems promising but unfortunately the next three tracks fall flat. 'Death Comes to Us All' reverts to the formula of the first two tracks and is no more successful. Then comes 'Travelled', which is arguably the lowest point of the album. It features clean vocals in the chorus but it's tuneless, bland and uninspiring. Following on, 'Grey' is punchy but once again is let down by the vocals and absence of melody.

Things do pick up a little towards the end, although not enough to redeem the album. 'Sun-less' is a little more tuneful but would still be considered a weak song on previous albums. 'Elements' is one of the few highlights of the album. The song seems to showcase real emotion that is lacking elsewhere and highlights just how much better FFAF are when they're tuneful.

The final song, 'High Castles', is possibly the strongest song of the lot, which in some ways is disappointing as it was recorded before the departure of Ryan Richards, whose trademark screams as the song draws to a close provide a sense of nostalgia.

While the album has it's high points, the rawer sound, the return of hardcore and punk elements and the harsher vocals seem to have removed more than they've added. At under half an hour in length the album feels short lived which only adds to the sense that something is missing. It's not a bad album, but it does fall short of previous efforts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
When I first listened to the album, I wasn't sure about it and I thought it was a little bit short and lacking the screaming of Ryan on drums. I now feel the opposite way though. I like the fact that it's short. It somehow gives each song more energy and you just power through it and shout your way through the tracks with Matt. It's very different from their last album and probably closer to a more mature Seven Ways to Scream Your Name.

I saw them live the other day in York and the new songs are brilliant live, my favourite being The Distance. Gave myself a sore throat singing along though! Definitely the best FFAF gig I've been to for a while and I personally can't stop listening to the album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Funeral are definatly a band that have risen to the top only to fall back into the shadows again, their debut album 'Casually Dressed..' has been hailed by many as a genre defining album. 'Conduit' is a return to to the form of songs such as '10:45 Amsterdamn Conversations' and 'Escape Artists Never Die'. With Matt and Kris as the only original members left since those days they prove that you can grow up and still be able to express the anger you felt from 10 years prior.

Its been 10 years for the wait, but it's worth every second!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Funeral For A Friend have done it again!
Conduit is a amazing album, and follows on perfectly from Welcome Home Armageddon.
I would recommend this album to any FFAF fan, it blends melodic choruses with hardcore riffs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
Don't get me wrong, the tracks aren't too bad. It's definitely a more raw sounding album with little to no harmonies squeezed in. These songs would go great live and mixed with old classics but falls so short as an album in itself.

The entire album is barely 30minutes and full of punchy, boring 2 minute tracks.

I'm not saying don't buy it, just don't pay a lot of money for 'half' an album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)