Customer Reviews


7 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Fast, Harsh, Evil and Downright Awesome., 25 Jun. 2013
By 
N Tye (London!!!!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After seeing this band perform at the Borderline in January 2013, I was already sold on the album. The use of female vocals, and strings/piano sections in tracks such as 'Eyes Become Black' (one of the best on the album) and 'This Too Shall Pass' are incredible, and add real depth to the album. 'Fragmented Illustrations of Anger' is an all out blast-fest, and should be more correctly titled 'Seething Hateful Rage'. The final track, 'Endless' is a very emotive piece, and pretty much sums up the tone of the album in my opinion.

The guitars are very unique here, with a lot of dissonant, evil sounding noises from Samuel Loynes, and chuggy yet not breakdownish work from Peter Benjamin. And of course, David Gray's insane blast beats and weird yet fitting breakbeats. David is one of my favourite drummers, and you can tell here that he's been practising, especially on a subtle, yet incredibly fast bit in 'Endless'.

Whilst I can understand that people would compare this band to Akercocke (another of my favourite bands), I feel this is rather unfair, as Akercocke are more to the experimental, death metal end of the spectrum, whereas Voices are closer to black metal. As well as this, they are different bands, and should be judged by their own merit, not by the band that some of the members were previously in.

All in all, if you like your metal a bit more complex then the standard formula, or if you just want something heavy, dark yet also emotive and atmospheric, buy this. If you're new to metal, buy this. If you like music in general, buy this. If you don't like music, buy this...

Basically, BUY THIS NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For fans of Akercocke especially, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth every penny, Voices (featuring David Gray and Peter Benjamin) succeed in creating an innovative and groundbreaking album from start to finish. Notable tracks: Fragmented Illustrations of Anger, This Too Shall Pass, Creating the Museum of Rape
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fix for Akercocke fans!, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Human Forest Create A Fuge Of Imaginary Rain (MP3 Download)
I mourned for days when I found out that Akercocke had 'retired', so it came as a lovely surprise to hear some of Akercocke's previous band members continuing to write great music. My only slight issue is that it is too blast-beat heavy - not enough variations in pace and timing for me, but very good nonetheless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tasty, 12 Jun. 2015
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
When akercocke left us the pain was real but voices feature a few lads from the evil icons and while this is grim and manic its less evil and perhaps more special, i love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relentless, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a fan of Akercocke and black metal this is for you.

I'd been looking forward to this album since hearing about it months ago and it does not disappoint.

Support this new band by buying it!

Can't wait for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in wild unhallowed form!, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a huge fan of Akercocke (of whom most of this band were previous members) and Black metal in general, this album ticks all my boxes and has been on heavy rotation since purchase. It's as if they never left, the new vocal style and excellently arranged instrumental parts give this album a unique character, despite David Gray's insanely good drumming (and almost consistent blast beats throughout the entire record), this album isn't quite the bludgeoning juggernaut Akercocke could at times be, which i like intensely.

The songs all have unique character and bring with them the kind of pathos that was always one of my favorite aspects of Akercocke's previous work, though this record is not at all outwardly satanic as their previous work, there is instead a kind of cold fairy tale aspect brought about from the band's London roots.

5 out of 5, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a brutal,brutal album.This album scares you,I kid you not.The emotions that this monolithic piece of genius evokes is truly terrifying.Every listen brings out something different.A true horror masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews