Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 years? Thats a bit much isn't it?
NO. No it is not. Not if this was what he was rustling up (as well as the lil'chidder numans). Good work cocker, you've really put your foot to some backside right here! Absolutely excellent album, the worst track on it would still be probably one of my favourites of all time. I express a particular liking for the tracks "Fold", "In a Dark Place" and "Scanner",...
Published on 15 Mar 2006

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly predictable
Having had to wait nearly 6 years for a new album from Mr Numan, I found Jagged to be a huge let down. There had been a good progression from 1994's Sacrifice to 2000's Pure, but here he dosen't seem to have moved on at all, instead giving us the same industrial/goth/metal stuff he's been peddling for the last 13 years. The main problem is that it just isn't that good...
Published on 7 Jan 2008 by M. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 years? Thats a bit much isn't it?, 15 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Jagged (Audio CD)
NO. No it is not. Not if this was what he was rustling up (as well as the lil'chidder numans). Good work cocker, you've really put your foot to some backside right here! Absolutely excellent album, the worst track on it would still be probably one of my favourites of all time. I express a particular liking for the tracks "Fold", "In a Dark Place" and "Scanner", but it's too hard to pick real favourites, they're all great.
The numan sound changes so much, from the ice-clad, disconjugated synth jiggery-pokery of 25 years ago, down into the shoddy depths of funk and out into the bright, shining new world of kinda industrial, kinda metallic but very dark renaissance. This new album really has some darkness in it, but not to the point of indulgence. It's deep and brooding and then its wailing in your ear with mutant rhythms and scary cellos. I've got to say, this is better than sacrifice, exile and pure by some significant degrees of magnitude and those were spectacularly good albums. So spend your money people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nuuuuuuuuuumaaaaaaaaaaan, 14 Mar 2006
By 
Bob Hammond (St. Leonards on Sea, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jagged (Audio CD)
You mention Gary Numan to the non converted and they reply "Oh its that bloke that did cars and crashed planes innit?" Well they have not listened to his last few albums have they? Its been about five years since 'Pure' album and 'Jagged' has been well worth waiting for. Numan style has changed a huge amount over his 28 year career. The pioneer of synth music, this still features heavyly on this album which is a good thing. Every track twists and turns from soft vocals building to crushing heavy beats with catchy melodies, you just have to sing along. The album opens with 'Pressure' an atmospheric track laying out the blueprint for what is to come. 'Fold' a very old style Numan track with rising synths and traditional vocals stepping back to 'Sacrifice album'. 'In a dark place' Builds on the first two versus to a brilliant corus that will stick in your head for days. 'Haunted' Do you like Rammstein? 'Blind' Who said Numan can't sing? listen to this. This quality continues through to the final track 'Jagged' with its Manson style menace vocals and heavy Nu Metal tones. Unlike most modern albums that have three or four good tracks and the rest just filling in and some you have to eject from the player before the end. 'Jagged' hooks you and you can,t let go, you play it over and over again. Buy it, then see him live!! A masterpiece of musical engineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cementing an icon, 22 Feb 2006
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jagged (Audio CD)
It's a long, long time ago now, but when Gary Numan first appeared on Top Of The Pops with Tubeway Army, we actually sat around the next day at school trying to decide whether or not he was actually a robot or not! Simpler times.
Of course, he was actually an electronic and industrial pioneer, and his touch is to be seen on the recordings of every single industrial act that has followed, whether they care to admit it or not. And that is a problem, not only for Mr Numan, but for every 'legend'. Where do you go next?
There's nothing sadder than an icon trying to reinvent themselves and stay current. Which is why there's a lot to be said for artists not trying - hello Andrew Eldritch! Which may be why "Jagged" is his first studio album in over five years.
But Numan has decided to go down the relevant road by recruiting underground electronic artist DJ Ade Fenton as his co-producer. At least it's a road he (and we) recognise, so ther's no bhangra beats here. What we do get is a very, very dark album which careers between the melancholy, the aggressive and the apocalyptic.
Long time fans are going to love this, but it's not going to win over many new converts. Which is a shame, because with his trademark vocal sneer married to dark beats, some live drums and driving guitars, this is his best work in a decade.
There's even some potential for chart action here with “In A Dark Place”, especially, having enough links to the world of rawk to drag in a few Rammstein / Manson fans along the way. But he hasn't forgotten the synth fans who've stuck with throughout the forgotten years and they will be stroking their Sequential Fugues with icy pleasure when they hear “Blind”.
Lyrically, he's not a happy bunny, but then a happy Gary Numan would be a bit silly, really. However, this is an excellent album, which will cement rather than lessen his reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creeping killer of an album from Gary, 16 Mar 2006
This review is from: Jagged (Audio CD)
Buy this album, sit down quietly and put your headphones on. After Gary's monolithic "Pure" of 5 years ago you might not get this one first listen. I didnt, but you know what? Its a belter.
I dont know whether Gary puts subliminal messages into his music but the more i play it, the more i want it. This was probably one of the hardest albums Gary has ever had to make.
"Pure" was never an easy one to follow as it hits you first play. "Jagged" does not... but beware listener because it'll creep under your skin and worm its way into your psyche. Listen with care this is a killer of an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid effort but not as good as the previous albums (Pure &Exile), 5 April 2010
By 
Joseph Mcmorrow "Joe" (Buckingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jagged (Audio CD)
I really really wanted to rave about this Album, I have been a long standing fan of the much maligned Numan since as early as 1977.

For me it just didn't quite live up to the excellence of the previous 'Pure' Album, full of spiteful, spitting lyrics, vicious avalanches of sound and catchy, insistent rythms. Even the spare and metronomic 'Exile' album, full of drum loops and cyclic repetition got far more airplay on my CD than 'Jagged'.

That Mr. Numan has taken yet another tack and not doled out a version of the same as last time is to be applauded, but for some reason I have not quite pinned down, it kind of missed the mark with me. Maybe the songs were all too 'samey'. Plodding and dirge like, they were like a car engine spinning over and not quite catching.

Anyway, if you like Numan, this is a worthy addition to any collection. It may be on Spotify by now, so cadge a listen and if you like it, do the decent thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly predictable, 7 Jan 2008
By 
M. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jagged (Audio CD)
Having had to wait nearly 6 years for a new album from Mr Numan, I found Jagged to be a huge let down. There had been a good progression from 1994's Sacrifice to 2000's Pure, but here he dosen't seem to have moved on at all, instead giving us the same industrial/goth/metal stuff he's been peddling for the last 13 years. The main problem is that it just isn't that good. Aside from one standout track (Blind) the rest is just a forgettable dirge. I think Numan seems to have got stuck in a bit of a rut, and it really is time he changed his style. He's successfully changed his look/style and sound constantly over the years, but now he dosen't seem to know where to go next. Personally, I'd like to see a return to the more electronic/ futurism of his earlier years which is definaltey his greatest strength. I enjoyed his darker, heavier phase but it's starting to get tiresome and predictable. Time for a new direction Gary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty different I'd say, 16 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Jagged (Audio CD)
Well, I bought the CD and listened to it in the car this morning. My first reaction was that this was more of the same. Then, after listening with my ears rather than my preconceptions,(derived from reviews mostly!) I realised that this is pretty different stuff. You have to keep listening because the songs build and some come right out of left field. People have used words such as anthemic and soaring, and in places they are right. I'd also use intelligent, surprising and in places, bloody genious!
I really, really enjoyed it. I would suggest to those gainsayers that Gary Numan writes for himself. He learnt from trying to please others, and by doing so, does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muscular return to the fore, 13 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Jagged (Audio CD)
Jagged sees Numan once again assaulting the industrial genre with an album of enormous claustrophobic anthems that are certainly hard to ignore. 2000 saw him re-emerge to critical acclaim with the guitar led Manson/NIN-esque Pure and followed in 2003 by the astounding double CD of re-works Hybrid. Jagged is the latest chapter of this re-invention. Is it any good?
Well, it's taken nearly 6 years to come to production and it's not a bad album at all. Hybrid hinted at a more electronic direction as opposed to Pure's gutiar focus and Jagged takes a more electronic slant on the themes raised in Pure. The addition of superb dense production by Ade Fenton and Sulpher with contributions from Andy Gray and NIN's one time drummer, give Numan a real contemporary inventive edge that should see Jagged get deserved critical acclaim.
It's perhaps not as arresting as Pure, but has it's own true merits. Opener Pressure eases you inot the album with expansive Eastern tinged atmospheres and processed in your face guitar riffs. The truly massive Halo, In A Dark Place, Haunted, Melt and Jagged are the high points, by an inch, in a well packaged album. Unlike perhaps all his previous albums, there's the welcome absence of the wishy washy ballad - all the tracks on Jagged are thudding relentless battle ram affairs that pound your speakers mercilessly.
In all, it's a good effort, if a little flawed. Yes, there's the continual presence of that piano motif, the obsession with serial killers and God, but it does work and I'd recommend it.
2006 is supposed to be a busy year for the Numan enterprise, with plenty of music set to be released. If Jagged is the opener, the year promises to be interesting and successful in the Numan camp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best from the old best from the next, 13 Feb 2006
By 
Ingo Weinard "ingo" (köln) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jagged (Audio CD)
After hearing this album, i must say, that Numan takes all his backcatalouge and all his talented ideas from tomorrow together and...zzrrrrrr...there it is---a MASTERPICE of melodrama in Anthemic Chorus. It will take your breath away...! I listen to it arround every hour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a bottle of vintage wine..he just gets better with age!, 4 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Jagged (Audio CD)
Yes, after 5 years of near-silence industrial/synth/rock god Gary Numan is back with a new album - Jagged. Continuing the industrial style of his last album Pure, Numan has drafted in Rob Holliday and Monti from Sulpher (again), NIN's drummer (Numan's first album in 20 odd years to feature real drums) and co-producer Ade Fenton to give the album a totally different feel from Pure.
Numan's style is unique - always has been and hopefully always will be. That's been the appeal for me since the "Tubeway" days. I was going to say "glory days" but maybe these are the glory days for Gary Numan. His music is no longer slated like the commercially successful albums of the late 70's/early 80's were, his last 3 albums have all been critically acclaimed, so he must be doing something right?
The launch gig at The Forum was SOLD OUT weeks ago - that's not bad going seeings how Numan will pretty much just be playing songs from an unheard album. I've got my ticket and I'll be there will the other 2000+ Numanoids!
Stand-out tracks are the excellent Halo, In A Dark Place (the forthcoming single), Blind and Jagged.
So, a Pop album it's not; an Industrial masterpiece?...find out for yourself - buy the album, put the CD in your stereo, or rip it to your iPod, put your headphones on and turn the volume UP. For the next 60 minutes you'll be immersed in a world that only Gary Numan can create. Try it...unless you're too scared?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jagged
Jagged by Gary Numan
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews