Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good small set
My daughter (Age 7) and I (Age 39) are big LOTR Lego fans and have quite a few sets. This is now one of my favourites.
It is one of the cheaper sets and at roughly the same price as "Gandalf Arrives" or "Riddles of the Ring" you get a few more pieces than both of those sets.

On the plus side the Palantir with the Eye of Sauron is a cool feature, as are the...
Published 15 months ago by Bish-10

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor value
I was completely disappointed. This cost £15, the cost of a Lego box in the shops of about 9x5x2 inches. It was to be a birthday present for my 9 year old grandson.
When a package arrived one month after ordering, I thought at first it was merely a sample, it was a small box about 3x4x2 inches. Not at all what I expected from the price and the illustration...
Published 10 months ago by Rosemary Loshak


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good small set, 2 Sep 2013
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 79005: The Wizard Battle (Toy)
My daughter (Age 7) and I (Age 39) are big LOTR Lego fans and have quite a few sets. This is now one of my favourites.
It is one of the cheaper sets and at roughly the same price as "Gandalf Arrives" or "Riddles of the Ring" you get a few more pieces than both of those sets.

On the plus side the Palantir with the Eye of Sauron is a cool feature, as are the lamps and throne (very much in keeping with the interior of Orthanc). The minifigures are both excellent, Saruman has a unique look and Gandalf looks better with hair, rather than the "bald with a hat" look!

I cant think of a negative side to this set (My daughter would say a lack of horses but she just loves those horses!!).

Overall, probably my favourite small LOTR set so far. Now to save up for those bigger sets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Small but beautifully put together., 9 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 79005: The Wizard Battle (Toy)
Good value for money (for Lego). Plenty of, albeit small, pieces but together they make a very playable set. It's all about the wizard battle so there is almost no detail of the room in which it takes place but at this price, it's only to be expected and something that any builder can easily remedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great set!, 14 July 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 79005: The Wizard Battle (Toy)
The Wizard Battle is a great Lord of the Rings set! With 2 mini figures and 113 pieces it is nice and cheap.
Pros:
Saruman-Very niceley detailed. Great new beard piece. Cool staff!

Gandalf-Two facial expressions! Staff!

Palantir-Great printing! Nice feature.

Features-Two great features to hurt either Saruman or Gandalf.

Overall build-Nice and easy build which makes the floor, throne, steps, palantir and lights.

Now for the cons :( :

Nothing!

I recommend this set to any Lotr or Hobbit fan from the ages 5+!

"YOU HAVE ELECTED THE WAY OF KNOWLEDGE TO BUY THIS SET!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little build, 14 Sep 2013
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 79005: The Wizard Battle (Toy)
The magical battle between Saruman the White and Gandalf the Grey occurs in The Fellowship of the Ring when Saruman is revealed as a cohort of the evil Sauron.

The build itself is quite small, only 113 pieces, and comes with 2 wizard minifigures.

- Gandalf the Grey - 2 faced - no cloak - brown staff - has good torso printing - other than a lack of cloak it is the same Gandalf mini figure as you get in other Lord of the Rings sets.

- Saruman the White - 2 faced - white cape - very nice torso printing - black staff - the tricoloured beard is a very nice extra.

The Palantir of Orthanc shows the Eye of Sauron (on a printed piece inside an inverted goldfish bowl).

The black chair that Saruman sits on is very nice with 2 yellow lanterns on black stands, but there has also been thought put into the sitting position of Saruman: there is a gap between the back of the chair and the seat and arms. This means that Saruman's white cloak can be positioned without having to worry about it getting screwed up or damaged by the chair.

There are 2 interactive points on the build - both are positioned behind the very nice black throne that Saruman sits on:

~ there is a plunger that can be used to knock Saruman off his chair; and

~ a wheel that turns the small platform that holds the Palantir of Orthanc. If you attach Gandalf or Saruman to the base plate of the Palantir stand you can send them round and round until they fly off (you may want to watch out for wizard nausea and dizziness).

The build comes with a RRP (as per Lego store website) of 11.99 for 113 pieces makes it a reasonable 10.6 pence per piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The service was excellent and would be happy to purchase again, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 79005: The Wizard Battle (Toy)
Completely met my expectations. The service was excellent and would be happy to purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 79005: The Wizard Battle (Toy)
What can you say about Lego, its one of the best Christmas presents any child of any age could get, hours of fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Wizard Battle, 24 Feb 2014
By 
S. Max. (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 79005: The Wizard Battle (Toy)
My younger grandson collects the Hobbit lego and quickly assembled the pieces. It was expensive for the amount you got.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good little set, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 79005: The Wizard Battle (Toy)
Nice basic set to add to the collection.No problems with this brand. Arrived quickly and well packaged. I recommend very highly, quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 79005: The Wizard Battle (Toy)
best price i found my youngest is very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Lord of the Rings 79005: The Wizard Battle (Toy)
Item as described. Fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews