Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, great fun but not for beginers.
I was first made aware of this product whilst on holiday, and wanted it straight away, but with no easy way to get it home had to wait to order it!

The product is pretty large, and with 1200+ pieces isn't for novices. The instructions are, in they typical Lego fashion, fairly clear and easy to follow - though there were some steps that I had some difficulties...
Published 15 months ago by Robert K

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but should have been better
A generally nice looking kit, but a bit confused in the implementation of the functions.

It's horrendous to actually play with, you have to think two or three steps out ahead before doing things otherwise you end up having to do another string of changes to get back to where you wanted to be.

It'd have been an absolute joy to build and make as a...
Published 1 month ago by Whippy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, great fun but not for beginers., 12 Nov. 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 42008: Service Truck (Toy)
I was first made aware of this product whilst on holiday, and wanted it straight away, but with no easy way to get it home had to wait to order it!

The product is pretty large, and with 1200+ pieces isn't for novices. The instructions are, in they typical Lego fashion, fairly clear and easy to follow - though there were some steps that I had some difficulties in working out where to put pieces (though flicking to the next page usually cleared things up).

This model took me in all 4 hours to build, and I'm in my 30's with a good grasp of reading Lego instructions, so a younger person or inexperienced builder should realistically look at the same or longer to build.

The truck has a mixture of pneumatic and gear driven features, and its fun and educational putting the pieces together and learning how different gears do their various tasks. Firstly, the outriggers are lowered using the geared system, then the lifting arm is extended using the same geared system at the flick of a switch. Once done, the tow rope is wound out using the final geared function. Once done, the switches are changed to engage the pneumatic system and the action moves to the top of the truck. The lift is flipped out with one lever and the tow rope arm done with the other switch. Changing the levers reverses the actions.

The labels on the levers are all colour co-ordinated with switch on the battery box making it super easy to swiftly use the full range of functions on the truck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lego technic 42008 service truck, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 42008: Service Truck (Toy)
the truck is brilliant it has given my grandson
hours and hours of play with it
and kept him quiet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but should have been better, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 42008: Service Truck (Toy)
A generally nice looking kit, but a bit confused in the implementation of the functions.

It's horrendous to actually play with, you have to think two or three steps out ahead before doing things otherwise you end up having to do another string of changes to get back to where you wanted to be.

It'd have been an absolute joy to build and make as a fully pneumatic kit. Linear actuators have their place but pneumatics make the build much more realistic, and would leave room for more realistic features like differentials on the rear axles too.

When the skip lorry is almost half the price and feels more realistic looking with it's bigger wheels, actions that just seem well balanced and simple and intuitive to play with, it does make you realise that Lego got it a bit wrong with this recovery truck.

All in all it's got some nice interesting parts so much is forgiven when it finally gets broken up and goes into the box of parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Right Project, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 42008: Service Truck (Toy)
I purchased this Lego Technic Service Truck for my 9yr old grandson as a birthday present two months ago. He has been building it in his spare time with the able assistance of his dad. I think it is probably a bit advanced for my grandson on his own but with his father's help he is thoroughly enjoying the mechanics involved in the assembly and tells me that it will be completed very soon now. I think he is very pleased with it and of course I am very pleased to have got him the right project to keep him occupied without him getting bored or frustrated. There are lots of little bits and complications with this lego set and it is important to assemble it exactly in accordance with the instructions provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent model, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 42008: Service Truck (Toy)
Well, this is the first Lego model I've built in about 40 years...and it's a great buy. It took a few evenings, and it's important to follow the (very clear) instructions exactly, especially when putting the fiendishly complex transmission system together. That said, it's amazing how many things this truck can do with just one motor. Highly recommended, and cheaper, as far as I can determine, on Amazon than anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 42008: Service Truck (Toy)
Very good item. Bought it for my boyfriend for christmas as he loves trucks. I helped build an took us 7 hours in total! Was fun and is amazing how everythin goes together and works at the end with the moving parts. Would definately recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome project., 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 42008: Service Truck (Toy)
Massive project that I got my son for his 11th birthday. He needed a bit of help in places, as this really is very complicated. HUGE sense of achievement when he had built it though, and deservedly so - in his view, the best thing he has ever made (and he's made a lot of lego over the years (as have I)). I'm actually a bit jealous and want one myself...

Superb value too - motors, pneumatic parts and tons of pieces. Highly recommended for anyone who already has a bit of experience with technical lego / more complicated builds. Probably not something to jump into if it's your first technical project though - 42006 Excavator would probably be a better first big project and a good stepping stone before taking this on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent but not for the faint hearted, 14 Sept. 2014
By 
Andrew (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LEGO Technic 42008: Service Truck (Toy)
I'm about halfway through building this, a little bit each day spreads out the value and you get to appreciate the complexity and brilliance of the design. Lots of impressive features not least that using a complex gearbox you get multiple functions from a single powerful motor.

I went through a technic phase ten years or so back but this is so much more complex and detailed, and I can see myself buying more of these large sets in the future. It does require some care though as there are lots of new parts I haven't seen before and it can be a bit difficult to find the parts if your working from the box rather than spreading everything out on a table.

Highly recommended for budding engineers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased with this kit, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. S. Davies (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 42008: Service Truck (Toy)
Very pleased with this kit, I have given it 5 stars even though there are a distinct lack of differentials and a few other usual LEGO technic funky stuffs. Just because the motorised pneumatics are super cool, it gets the 5! They could be used to so much more effect, but I love the way it introduces pneumatics to a formative mindset! It's a good model that doesn't take too long to build and the instructions are flawless. Hats off to LEGO :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic build., 30 Nov. 2013
By 
Andy L (Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 42008: Service Truck (Toy)
This set is not for the feint hearted. It has 3 instruction booklets and there are a lot of pieces. It will take you several hours to build and pay close attention to the instructions as small mistakes will compound into bigger problems, I found out the hard way and had to take apart big chunks of the model to correct them. All sorted in the end but a bit of a pain at the time.
The technical functions of this truck are excellent, as well as the normal mechanical functions using gears there are pneumatic functions and the pneumatic elements will definitely come in handy for future builds.
To top it off it has power functions too, lego really have crammed a lot into this set.
The truck when completed looks fantastic and I personally think this is one of the best Technic sets in years, not just for functions but for looks too. Overall this is a very satisfying build and very playable.
As for value for money you do get a lot of Lego for your cash with this set, I highly recommend buying it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO Technic 42008: Service Truck
£74.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews