Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A re appraisal...
1987 was a transition year for me. For years I was a massive Iron Maiden fan with the annual ritual of the single release, the album and the second single release being part of the routine of life. Then out of the blue came Queensryche with Rage For Order and then, more importantly, Operation Mindcrime. This earth shattering concept album hit the streets almost at the...
Published 17 months ago by O-mindcrime

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Screeeeeeaaaam for me ... erm ... Birmingham
An Iron Maiden concert from November 1988 during the Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son Tour so naturally that album figures heavily in the set list with 6 songs - Infinite, Seventh, Can I, Evil, Moonchild, Clairvoyant. SSOASS is, in my opinion, Maiden's last great album. The rest of the set is made up of classic Maiden cuts - 'Wasted Years', 'Killers' .... in fact, older Iron...
Published 13 months ago by P.D.Nash


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A re appraisal..., 11 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Maiden England '88 (Audio CD)
1987 was a transition year for me. For years I was a massive Iron Maiden fan with the annual ritual of the single release, the album and the second single release being part of the routine of life. Then out of the blue came Queensryche with Rage For Order and then, more importantly, Operation Mindcrime. This earth shattering concept album hit the streets almost at the same time as Iron Maiden's Seventh Son and the contrast between the two led to this being the last Iron Maiden studio album that I bought. Both were concept albums, but that was the only direct link between them. Mindcrime was all about gritty real - world themes like murder, prostitution, sex, anti-religion (Catholic), seedy US politics whilst Seventh Son was all cartoon religious themes (good, evil, seven deadly sins, the Whore of Babylon, angels, chosen ones and other such childish flim flam) - the concept, like the cover on the album, was all a bit ridiculous. I did manage a last Maiden gig on this tour, but the sight of an eight foot tall eddie wobbling around the stage, which was decked out in plastic iceburgs, sealed the deal for me - it was time to move on and grow up (frankly, Queensryche performing Mindcrime at Nottingham Rock city was one of the best gigs of my life).

Roll on a decade or two and this live album from that tour has finally been released on CD. Conscious that I may have been a bit harsh as an opinionated youngster, I thought I'd buy it and see if I had been wrong about the Seventh Son tracks all this time. The answer is, yes I was (almost). For the record, on the silly side the spoken part of the title track Seventh Son is still ridiculous when intoned with Bruce's privileged public school diction/annunciation and Steve's bass can sound disconcertingly like water running through your radiators or cistern (my wife thought there was something wrong with the car when I was playing this) but apart from this, this live album is an absolute blinder. What hits home most of all is how incredibly tight the band is. There are parts where you feel that even Bruce is struggling to keep up with their breathless gallop (notably on Hallowed Be Thy Name, which must be a nightmare for anybody to sing, let alone the 'air raid siren') - they are literally relentless in attack and this makes this live album an absolute peach (particularly emphasised by the crystal clear production job). Bruce is, nevertheless, on top operatic form and there are some great song choices, with 'Still Life', 'Wasted Years' and a bombastic 'Killers' being refreshing deviations from the usual Maiden 'live' script. The highlight for me is distinctly the sing-along 'Heaven Can Wait', with the ever enthusiastic Maiden crowd in fine fettle, and it's probably only the awful clunky keyboard infused 'Can I play with Myself' that is left wanting. Interestingly, there are no tracks from Powerslave, probably because the band were sick of playing them after the mammoth World Slavery Tour ground to a halt a year or two before.

So to the bloke in the pub in 1987 that I had the argument with about what a load of old tosh Maiden had become with Seventh Son, I apologise - it's still not a patch on Mindcrime (what is, apart from Rage For Order?) but not the tired old train wreck that it sounded at the time. Still, I was right all along about 'Can I Play With Madness' - it was, and remains, truly dreadful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious, 25 Mar. 2013
By 
C. W. Howarth "Lalala" (manchester Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great concert and features some classic 80s tracks that have not been played frequently (if at all) since and is worth buying for old and new maiden fans alike. This tour is great because although has been released abridged before, never has it been presented in such a glorious package. I highly recommend the deluxe gatefold vinyl for its glorious full size artwork, its a beauty to behold. Back to old skool Eddie too!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAIDEN ENGLAND- STUFF OF LEGEND!, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maiden England '88 (Audio CD)
At last a full and proper release for one of the best, most, sought after Maiden concerts,i've had this since the original vhs/cd package was released as part of the 'sound and vision' series,alongside the likes of Marillion/Black Sabbath.

For the first time all the tracks are part of the CD release,now a double disc,the missing encores and tracks only previously available on the video.

Sound quality is improved significantly on this edition,the full potency of Maiden in full flight,i've always believed this tour (and) release are easiliy the equal of 'LIVE AFTER DEATH',finally this edition confirms it.Highlights for me will always be the 'Seventh Son' tracks,here they sound superb while the lesser played tracks such as 'Killers' are a welcome addition.

I cant recommend this high enough, Maiden in all their pomp,worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last, 27 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Maiden England '88 (Audio CD)
As a 15 year old i went to the sunday night of this concert, on a coach down from yorkshire. I fell asleep in english class the following morning and was expecting a right royal telling off when my teacher woke me up. Imagine my shock when i explained id had a late night and she replied that she was there as well, and the jammy cow had even caught a drum stick ( cheers miss dale).
Any way, what an album, what a performance and here's to Download later this year when they are playing most of these tracks again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Screeeeeeaaaam for me ... erm ... Birmingham, 24 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maiden England '88 (Audio CD)
An Iron Maiden concert from November 1988 during the Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son Tour so naturally that album figures heavily in the set list with 6 songs - Infinite, Seventh, Can I, Evil, Moonchild, Clairvoyant. SSOASS is, in my opinion, Maiden's last great album. The rest of the set is made up of classic Maiden cuts - 'Wasted Years', 'Killers' .... in fact, older Iron Maiden fans will have those songs already as they previously appeared on the 12" of 'Infinite Dreams' (live) along with 'Still Life'. A video of this very performance was released as 'Maiden England' way back in 1989. The gig is a mixed bag, the first half barring 'Die With Their Boots On', is largely excellent but unfortunately Bruce's 'air-raid siren' voice starts dying on him during the second half especially during 'Hallowed Be Thy Name'. Apparently, Bruce had the flu which explains why he can't reach those notes. However, musically the album is imperious - Harris's galloping bass, Nico's precise, powerful drumming, Dave and Adrian's complimentary guitars etc. It seems odd that they released this when there was a perfectly good gig from the same tour with virtually the same set-list where Bruce had no vocal problems ... and that was Donington 88', one of the best headline shows at Donington and much better than the later released Donington 92'. I taped Donington 88' off the 'Friday Rock Show' and it was so good I kept it for many years afterwards. It's definitely out there somewhere as part of it was released as Iron Maiden BBC Archives and my old 12 inch of 'The Clairvoyant' (live) has 'The Prisoner' and 'Heaven Can Wait' live at Donington 88'. Anyway, you can't realistically compare Maiden England 88' to 'Live After Death', one of the greatest live albums ever made, but it is an interesting document of the time especially for those that were there. 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maiden England '88 (Audio CD)
I was there at the first UK gig of this tour in 1988, Newport Centre, Wales. This DVD, filmed a few days later in NEC Birmingham, brings it all back. It's filmed from the viewpoint of the audience, close angles, in your face shots; as near as you can get to building a time machine set to take you back to the peak of Maiden's greatness (they've had a few peaks of greatness of course). The video quality in places is reminiscent of the identical 1989 video release, which I watched incessantly at the time, but this doesn't detract. It's nostalgic. The sound is better now with Dolby 5.1 etc. And included are the three signature encore songs which are always played but which were not featured in the 80s VHS. The DVD extras make this double disc release outstanding value. With the set list comprising so many 7th Son tracks which don't often make it into the current live shows, this is a vital purchase for any fan who wants to travel back in time to a front row seat at a pivotal era in the Maiden story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in time..., 29 Mar. 2013
By 
S. A. Hack - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maiden England '88 (Audio CD)
Pure Maiden gold! I remember watching the VHS video to this all those years back. The audio quality is top and the setlist is brilliant. Some will say this is just another Iron Maiden live release and that we have too many already, I don't agree. If you don't want it then just don't buy it. I wish more bands would release live material as it captures a moment in time and in 1988 at the NEC in Birmingham we have here a great look back to how Maiden sounded and the songs played. On the back of Seventh Son of a Seventh Son Iron Maiden had the perfect album to deliver a fantastic show, and they did just that. I had to wait 2 years after this to see them for the first time live in Southampton in 1990. Sadly by this time Adrian Smith had departed and the sound changed. Still a great show but Maiden England 88 is something very special. This band are still going strong and are currently touring a similar setlist to this! Buy with confidence as everything this band releases is top drawer.

Up the irons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl LP, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this to display rather than play. Needs a good quality frame as the 2 picture discs are heavy, so you have to remove them to hang on wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic purchase, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Iron Maiden on a beautiful and historic gig. Fantastic edition in vinyl, the way editions should always be. An absolute must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They just get better and so does their production., 5 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maiden England '88 (Audio CD)
Long Live Kevin Shirley as Maiden's producer! He has taken a great concert and made it sound like it was done yesterday and not back in 1988. The sound is crisp. The Package is brilliant and if you're a Maiden fan it's a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maiden England '88
Maiden England '88 by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews