Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare chunk of musical magic
As is so often said, a criminally under-rated band. This anthology brings together some of the wonderful singles, awesome album tracks and some nice rarities. I only saw them play once (supporting Carter USM I think) and was blown away by the fantastic live sound they had. Someone needs to re-issue the albums and get a tour going...
Published 12 months ago by redandy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the reviews
Do not believe the hype, there are only a couple of tracks worth listening to on this record. The Family Cat almost did great songs but just lacked that last inch of quality in all departments.
Published 1 month ago by Toby le Rhone


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare chunk of musical magic, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Lives Left: The Anthology (Audio CD)
As is so often said, a criminally under-rated band. This anthology brings together some of the wonderful singles, awesome album tracks and some nice rarities. I only saw them play once (supporting Carter USM I think) and was blown away by the fantastic live sound they had. Someone needs to re-issue the albums and get a tour going...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the reviews, 13 July 2014
By 
Toby le Rhone (StaffordshireUK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Lives Left: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Do not believe the hype, there are only a couple of tracks worth listening to on this record. The Family Cat almost did great songs but just lacked that last inch of quality in all departments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Other Bands are Dog*****, 16 Mar 2013
By 
Paul Blaney "blazctid" (Herts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Five Lives Left: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Yes, at last. The Family Cat have a best of. I loved the FCUK and saw them gig a few times. The t-shirts were superb, especially the Tell Em We're Surfin' and the Dog***** one.
I'm hoping for the albums to be reissued with expansion of all the b-sides. I love the b-sides to "Remember What it is that You Love" and the Place With A Name E.P., surprised not to find Push Comes To Shove, Concrete and Pass Away on here so hopefully this if for a planned expanded album reissue.
So, The Family Cat - release a well received single "Tom Verlaine", which garnered lots of praise from the music hacks of the day and is still a top quality song. Then, rush release the mini-album Tell Em We're Surfin' and the press don't take to it. Production was a bit naff (as the band later also criticised) but I for one, along with the other true believers, loved it. Raucous, humerous and great to listen to. Then came the two above mentioned EP's, which again had mixed reactions, but personally I thought were fantastic.
Then, faith was rewarded with the superb brooding "Colour Me Grey" with PJ Harvey debuting on vinyl in the background and the press reaction was good. The full LP, Furthest From The Sun followed and is top quality, press fully back onside. Plenty of tracks from this LP appear here in this collection, none better than With A War although this is a session track rather than the album version.
The 2nd full LP also has plenty of great tunes, "Springing the Atom", "Airplane Gardens" etc. I also love "Amazing Hangover" which was originally a B-side.

The best thing on here for me - I now have "Jesus Christ" on CD, which was released as a limited 7" for xmas 1991 on Clawfist. I long since lost the ability to play vinyl so great to have this again.

All-in-all, well worth a few quid of your cash, you can find it cheaper than on Amazon elsewhere if you shop around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "pussy galore", 11 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. J. A. Gibson "Zombie Slasher" (Newcastle upon tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Five Lives Left: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Like "the brilliant corners" a criminally underated band that just could'nt'get the break that would propel them into the mainstream and success,brilliant live and this anthology shows them to be above a lot of bands of the time who got success,very much like "the longpigs"who came later finely crafted songs that just could not break into the record buyers ears.buy this cd and be educated.10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yep, 27 Feb 2013
By 
boz (florida MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Five Lives Left: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Very excited by this release. The 'Cat were a criminally underrated act and a live band of considerable force.
Never really caught on across the water where I was still based back in the 90s. A short reunion and concert would be fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cat Is Back, 17 Feb 2013
This review is from: Five Lives Left: The Anthology (Audio CD)
At last some Family Cat on CD after all 3 albums were deleted long ago
The title is a nod to the Nick Drake one Five Leaves Left and though not every Cat track is here there are many unissued gems like the Peel Sessions
What is puzzling though is why did it take so long? In the end it seems that Paul Fredericks the voice of the Cat was behind this reissue which is on an unknown label and not the one expected like Cherry Red who seem to issued just about every album from the 80s into the 90s.
Fredericks is the only one to have continued in the music business at this level and was also the voice of Pure Grain which had at least another Cat in the lineup before becoming the voice of Jack Adaptor who you can only get on line and who are not of much interest to me from what I heard on a couple of mp3s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Five Lives Left: The Anthology
Five Lives Left: The Anthology by The Family Cat (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews