Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God Of War Ascension: In-Depth
***Being something of a collector, I've ordered this UK version of the game despite having a good week to get to grips with the US copy which was released earlier as well. Details on the special edition contents are located at the very end***

Since the release of God of War Collection in 2010, its franchise has become my favourite videogame series for a...
Published 16 months ago by Paul McNamee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it was ok game
the god of war we know and love but was interquel and had no massive enemies like titans and bosses were repetetive.
Published 10 months ago by armin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God Of War Ascension: In-Depth, 15 Mar 2013
By 
Paul McNamee "Rambleast Reviews" (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God of War Ascension: Collectors Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
***Being something of a collector, I've ordered this UK version of the game despite having a good week to get to grips with the US copy which was released earlier as well. Details on the special edition contents are located at the very end***

Since the release of God of War Collection in 2010, its franchise has become my favourite videogame series for a dependable blend of boundary-ignorant and frequently ludicrous action, huge scale and superb appropriation of Greek myth for the sake of many, myself included, who'd never have given it a second thought if these slabs of ultraviolent adventure weren't gracing consoles every couple of years. One of the things I love most about God Of War is that there's really nothing under the hood - what you see is what you get. Here's a series without ulterior motive, delusions of poignancy or aspirations beyond its remit of shocking and entertaining on the most exaggerated and visceral levels. I worried a little that this latest entry, which takes the superb PSP offering Chains Of Olympus' place as the earliest chronological chapter in perma-furious protagonist Kratos' story, might have taken cues from an increasingly emotionally evocative gaming scene and saddled the grand exploration and combat with some introspection or even pretension, but I needn't have: this is God Of War as it should be, with even a debuting multiplayer option unable to carry the series far beyond its roots as the premier hack 'n' slash of its generation. For some , I can see how this lack of evolution may be a drawback, but as far as I'm concerned, Santa Monica Studios literally perfected the system with God Of War II, and by definition, you just can't improve on perfection.

Storywise, it adds to the ever-expanding origins of Kratos, briefly seen here in service to Ares before inviting the attentions of the Furies. I've always felt that characters are more compelling when they're on the way to something than when they get there and seeing Kratos as just a man again almost allows for him to feel like an underdog again. As ever, its abuse of the canon of Greek mythology is the sort that would infuriate historians but makes for a rich readymade backdrop of scenery and character to populate with a tried-and-tested blend of platforming, puzzling and combat. These games are not known for character development, but instead as a medium in which ancient characters can be violently dispatched. I know all I need to about Kratos - he's mad, and he's bad. So long as he's furious pretty much all the time, I feel I've got my money's worth. Anything beyond that's just icing on the proverbial cake. Heavy Rain this ain't folks - this is a game to PLAY.

Combat, in particular, has been the subject of a minor revamp, which now allows for more scenery and weapon interaction beyond the typical ramming one enemy into a bunch of others. One section in particular, which I'd rather not name because you'll only dread it in advance, caused me (and evidently a great many more gamers) so much bother that a patch has been released to adjust its difficulty to more reasonable levels. For the most part, though, the progress of upgrade availability is actually better handled here than before. It may take you a little longer to power up, for example, but as a result you'll take the game more seriously and get so much more out of it, and that, after all, is what sequels should really be about.

The game's graphics come across as truly fit for the machine they're run on. God Of War 3 was frequently impressive but felt very much like an extension of the sort of looks the first two games employed because they were PS2 games. There's NO mistaking this for anything but a PS3 game, and a late PS3 game at that. From the clarity of the models and areas to the sheer sense of scale, this is certainly the easiest God Of War on the eyes, not to mention a statement on Sony's part of their machine's capabilities despite its imminent replacement. As a compliment, Tyler "300" Bates' score works perfectly.

New to the series, of course, is the multiplayer option. Though it would take considerable time to get familiar with and really explore, I had a brief go at it (seeing as there was a Trophy available!) and it seems like the established gameplay ports over pretty well. Most appealingly, you don't play as one of the series' characters but as a template you can customise who offers himself to one of the gods of Olympus for the sake of the powers (from one of four classes). The usual modes - deathmatch, capture the flag, etc. - make appearances, as does the concept of upgrading. Notably, the series' refusal to map camera controls to the right stick remains unchanged, which is more of a problem here than in the main game (where it feels like part of the furniture) but overall Santa Monica's transition into this field seems, to me at least, pretty successful. I can see this being the first multiplayer game I can really get behind after years of evasion.

The first two PS2 games, God Of War and God Of War II, are collected as God of War Collection. God of War 3 is available separately and the PSP games Chains Of Olympus and Ghost Of Sparta have been upscaled for PS3 and are collected as God of War Collection: Volume 2. All five are available for download on the Playstation Network. Each of these is essential playing for fans of action on Sony's console, and Ascension can join their ranks without reservation as one of the greatest action games ever made, a more-than-worthy entry in an consistently entertaining series and a triumphant last hurrah on the current generation's machine before the inevitable and already-anticipated God Of War 4 arrives on PS4 in the hopefully not too distant future.

********Collector's Edition********

If you're reading this review for details on the Collector's Edition, I'm happy to oblige, if only to perhaps warn potential buyers that this particular package may not warrant paying nearly double the price of what the game costs. The Steelbook is best described as what one person might find tasteful and classy and another might find plain. It looks better with the plastic slip on, as most do. I hate not being able to see the PS3 and PEGI logos on game boxes. There's also a pass included for download of the game's soundtrack, a dynamic theme and avatars for the console, a multiplayer add-on and access to all future DLC, which I imagine would be a selling point for some, though this will of course be available separately on the Playstation Network and you can pick and choose which updates you'd like from there. Having Bates' soundtrack to download is another nice bonus even though getting it from the PS3 to your choice of music player is more easily said than done. As with the absent plastic slip in Amazon's featured image, the outer box is different as well, and features a window on either side - one for the Steelbook and another for the statue. I've uploaded pictures at the top of the product page for the set's contents so have a look if you're curious.

I guess what most folks will buy it for is said Kratos statue, which presents one of the few opportunities to get decent merchandise beyond the hard-to-find NECA figures from a few years ago and the gorgeous but expensive Play Arts figure from Square Enix. Though the base for the statue is extremely light and feels cheap, the main figure itself is surprisingly heavy and commendably well painted, in comparison to a lot of very poor special edition extras from other games (Arkham Asylum batarang, I'm looking at you!) I pre-ordered this when it was a little over 60, but if I'd paid the 75 it's going for now I'd maybe have have felt cheated. Worth considering if you're not too fussed about the pass for all future DLC. Note also that the standard issue of the game comes with a voucher for a free month on Playstation Plus, which this doesn't. It does, however, include the voucher for playing the demo for Naughty Dog's The Last Of Us in early summer.

If you have any questions about the set, please comment below. I keep an eye on it and I'll be sure to get back to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God of War: Ascension = Masterpiece., 15 Mar 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God of War Ascension: Collectors Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
First of all ignore the critics and anyone giving this less than 4/5... The game is amazing.

The only reason critics are being more negative than usual towards a God of War game is because this game isn't a big deal better than its predecessor like the jumps from 1<2<3 were... that's a moronic reason to criticize this game especially since it's the successor to the most acclaimed and bestselling game in the genre ever so of course it's not going to be MUCH better, it is though just as good and in some areas like graphics, navigation, value-for-money & combat it's even better!

If you're a fan of the past God of War games you will love God of War: Ascension;

- The graphics are the best on consoles by a large margin. The art-style and wide colour palette exemplify the amazing tehnical graphics.
- The gameplay is fast, fun and exciting. Plenty of upgrades, magic, world weapons and an element system keep combat fun and varied.
- The sound is brilliant with an amazing OST by Tyler Bates and an A+ voice cast.
- The story is great and seeing the human side of Kratos is interesting.
- The multiplayer is incredibly fun, it's good enough to be a standalone game.

This collector's edition is must buy for the fans, for an extra just 75 you get an awesome statue, the official soundtrack, DLC season pass for all future DLC for free and a steel-book case for the game. The DLC pass alone will be worth around 20 considering the developers have confirmed a good and steady stream of DLC, the statue + special case + OST are the cherries on top of this delicious cake and make this a must buy!

So yes, if you have a PS3 and you're 18+ you MUST buy this game, if you're a newcomer to the series I also highly recommend trying both HD collections and God of War III, all are such amazing games and can be bought brand new for a very good price nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 18 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: God of War Ascension: Collectors Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Just as GOW3 was one of the best games on ps3 and definetly the best exclusive, so is this one. Great game in every aspect and still manages to amaze even when the console is in its last days. plus, this edition is now amazingly cheap and besides having kratos figure it has a season pass to access all dlcs! dont hesitate to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God of War Ascension: Collectors Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I got this for my boyfriend for his birthday along with the GOW controller, it was the best present ever apparently! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic!, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God of War Ascension: Collectors Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Excelent game for any gamer or collector! a must have, especially uf you are into the God of War series! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another fine entry in the series., 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God of War Ascension: Collectors Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
God of War: Ascension is the newest entry in this epic series where Kratos is back once to destroy everything standing in its path. It stands up to God of War III standards in terms of graphics, sound and gameplay, with some new elements to set it apart from others. Also it includes a multiplayer mode, new to the series, with hours of fun and mayhem with other players. As for this collector's edition, it is packed with a nice PVC Kratos figure, quite detailed and a steelbook including the digital soundtrack and all future DLC available for the multiplayer mode. However, in my humble opinion, the steelbook could be a little prettier (it's pretty dull compared to others) and also it could've come with an artbook not to mention a CD with the soundtrack. Overall is nice but not perfect and I'd recommend it only to fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great deal seeing it goes so cheap now., 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God of War Ascension: Collectors Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I got this for around 30 a while back, and I'm very happy with the purchase, the statue is great, as is the game for my first God of War experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it was ok game, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God of War Ascension: Collectors Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
the god of war we know and love but was interquel and had no massive enemies like titans and bosses were repetetive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Game =), 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God of War Ascension: Collectors Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Awesome Game To Play, Many Hours Of Entertainment. I Was Lucky Enough To Get The Collectors Edition With All The Extra Goodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, for a good price!, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God of War Ascension: Collectors Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
God of war is a great game! You'd have to love the style and if so, you won't be dissapointed by buying this. Of course we have been spoiled with previous God of war games and this game looks a lot like them. Not a lot of improvement over the previous games, that is why reviews have not been that great as we were used to. But all in all, Ascension is a great experience in itself.

And for the price of this special edition, you should not even think about buying the normal version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

God of War Ascension: Collectors Edition (PS3)
God of War Ascension: Collectors Edition (PS3) by Sony Computer Entertainment UK (PlayStation 3)
65.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews