Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic
Bought this for my grandsons 6th birthday. He is an avid Lego fan and this did not disappoint. Easy instructions for him to follow with minimum prompts from adults. Kept him amused for ages.
Published 3 months ago by colin powell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ambush! Protect the gold!
Here we go again for a further run around with Lego Castle theme. Just five sets in total for the theme, which is disappointing, but affordable (especially now they're all being reduced). No doubt Lord Of The Rings and The Hobbit , which mine similar territory, are largely responsible for this low turn out.

Anyway! This entry level set is basically another take...
Published 6 months ago by Simon Hall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 28 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70400: Forest Ambush (Toy)
Bought this for my grandsons 6th birthday. He is an avid Lego fan and this did not disappoint. Easy instructions for him to follow with minimum prompts from adults. Kept him amused for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ambush! Protect the gold!, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Simon Hall (Shipley, West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70400: Forest Ambush (Toy)
Here we go again for a further run around with Lego Castle theme. Just five sets in total for the theme, which is disappointing, but affordable (especially now they're all being reduced). No doubt Lord Of The Rings and The Hobbit , which mine similar territory, are largely responsible for this low turn out.

Anyway! This entry level set is basically another take on take on the old expansion set which previously featured a handful of good and evil knights, or peasants and, on occasion, Robin Hood (sorry, forestmen). So here we have two cheery Lion Knights lumping a chest of jewels and gold back to the keep, along with their faithful hound when they are set upon by two louts from the Dragon Knights side of the fence whom have been hiding behind an apple tree (complete with apple. Cute.).The four minifigures are all great, really nicely detailed with expressive faces (and two each at that - these guys all featuring reversible panic-stricken/ determined faces). I especially like the cackling Dragon Knight with toothy laugh. There's a nice mix of weapons too - from the traditional broad sword and shield and spear to the newer flail w/spiked mace and axe.

The handheld cart is a nice build, but I would have preferred proper handles for this as the single bar means that any minfigure is dragging this about at an angle, which means it'll take them an age to get where they're going as they'll spend most of their time going in circles. The ambush outpost is good fun. As well as a falling tree, crossbow and shooty thing, it also features a bit of shrubbery which you can tilt out the way to reveal the enemy.

It is a good little battle set to much about with, but there's no getting away from the fact that these new Castle sets don't offer the same value as similar priced City, Ninjago or licensed sets. There's no new pieces used or created for the set and whilst the front and back tampographed prints to both the minifigures torso and faces will no doubt add to the cost, I am scratching my head to justify the price. The clue is in the manufacture with components sourced from four different factories in different parts of the world. I am sure from Lego's point of view there is some merit in this kind of set up, with some factories churning out more bespoke parts and whatnot, but it doesn't make it very easy to swallow as a consumer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CHRISTMAS GIFT, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70400: Forest Ambush (Toy)
Bought this for my 7 year old grandson, who is a Lego fanatic. He was quite happy with it, so it did the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70400: Forest Ambush (Toy)
I bought this for my nephew for Christmas and he loved it. Great price too. All in all very Happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good piece, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70400: Forest Ambush (Toy)
A great way to teach kids to build and follow instructions. Can be used by itself or it is great alongside other Lego Castle pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas gift for our grandson, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70400: Forest Ambush (Toy)
His face was a picture when he unrapped his gift, he set about building as soon as he finished opening his other presents. A happy boy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good set, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Jo Davies (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70400: Forest Ambush (Toy)
This is a nice little set, that is easy to put together. As always with Lego, nice little picture instructions on how to put the model together. My 5 year old was able to build it on his own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70400: Forest Ambush (Toy)
good value, BRILLIANT, educational and a great gift for my 4 year old grandaughter to supplement her other lego toys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Jan 2014
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70400: Forest Ambush (Toy)
My son loved this Lego. He was able to build it by himself. Impressed by the number of mini figures that came with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70400: Forest Ambush (Toy)
Quality and best, of course, if bought with other Legos of the same series.... My son loves it to bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO Castle 70400: Forest Ambush
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews