Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good set
Portcullis and drawbridge are great. Enjoyed by 11 year old who particularly likes the catapult and battering ram. Took a while to build and good size for the price.
Published 13 months ago by cavqueen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great model, but too fragile to play with.
It's a fabulous model - great detail and huge fun. BUT, it's very fragile. It is made in 4 sections, and they just do not stay together. Moving the castle from the table to the floor for play needs a very careful adult - not great for children.

I've just spent another £17 on a huge baseplate to build the castle on, which I hope will make it more playable. At...
Published 9 months ago by J. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good set, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70404: King's Castle (Toy)
Portcullis and drawbridge are great. Enjoyed by 11 year old who particularly likes the catapult and battering ram. Took a while to build and good size for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of building and play fun, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70404: King's Castle (Toy)
My son longed for this set for an entire year and finally got it for his 7th birthday last month. It arrived a few days later than expected, so the surprise I planned was not as perfect as I hoped, but all in all within reasonable expectations for the outskirts of Europe where many sellers won't even dispatch their goods.
It took my 7-year old three days to assemble the castle by himself, though he had breaks in the process. The instructions are precise as usual for Lego and only on a few occasions did he need correction in the process. So, in a first place, three full days of excitement, and that's only when the real play started. A month later, he still plays with it most days and has it assembled. The castle is assembled from sections and can also be disassembled as such, so once my son took one of the towers with him when we went on a trip :) We haven't had the castle fall apart when trying to move it, but during the assembly we did have to rebuild a few parts because they hadn't been laid sturdily enough - a child might not be pushing the blocks together firmly and then it can crumble, but that is not an issue about this particular set.
All in all, we're happy customers. A dream come true for one little boy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great design, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70404: King's Castle (Toy)
great design to this castle, its a good size when built and has working portcullis and drawbridge as well as catapults and secret rooms, lovely figures with armour and weapons, very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great model, but too fragile to play with., 30 Jan 2014
By 
J. Brown "robjob3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70404: King's Castle (Toy)
It's a fabulous model - great detail and huge fun. BUT, it's very fragile. It is made in 4 sections, and they just do not stay together. Moving the castle from the table to the floor for play needs a very careful adult - not great for children.

I've just spent another £17 on a huge baseplate to build the castle on, which I hope will make it more playable. At this price, it wouldn't have hurt Lego to include the base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great set to build, great set to play with!, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Martyn Stanley (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70404: King's Castle (Toy)
We bought this set for our little girl as a Christmas present when she was about six and a half. I know this sounds odd, it's perhaps the sort of set you might consider a 'boys' set, but she loves, knights and pirates and Star Wars and things like that. Point in case, she had the Dolphin Cruiser from the Lego Friends Theme and never even opened it! The first thing she built was the Lego Star Wars A-Wing!

The set is really easy to build, it comes with ten bags of parts, all labelled with a number, plus one bag of bases. It comes with a plastic press-out sheet of flags to go on the flag poles, a sticker sheet for putting brick patterns on the walls and some string for the draw-bridge and portcullis operation.

Instructions wise the set comes with three instruction manuals, one large one which covers the main gate and more, and two smaller ones. As you read through the instructions it helpfully tells you when to open the next bag. There are a lot of pieces in this set so assembling it at a later date when the numbered bags are gone will be quite time-consuming.

Construction wise the instructions are easy to follow as you've come to expect from Lego. My daughter needed correcting only very occasionally and for the most part was able to build the set with only minor supervision. The labels were a bit fiddly, so I applied the labels for her. Also when pressing down the large base plates onto the models I had to help, partly because getting all the studs to line up on the lower pieces was not easy and partly due to the amount of pressure required to get a nice tight fit. I also tied the string for the portcullis and the winders for her.

Once the set is built it offers a wealth of play activity, it comes with a functional, well designed catapult on wheels for the black knights to attack the castle, a working drawbridge and portcullis on the gatehouse. A catapult mounted on the tower, a gaol, a throne room, a treasure room with treasure chest full of gold and jewels and a clever push-out wall section for the black knights to break-in or escape from.

Mini Fig wise, you get the King, a knight on a horse, an archer and a soldier for the good guys, and you get the black knight and two of his soldiers, one wielding an axe and the other a morning star for the bad guys. Several of the mini figs have heads with two expressions so you can change their look. The castle can also be 'unplugged' disassembling it into several large pieces, then putting it back together in a different order to make a new castle without rebuilding the whole thing.

She actually loves playing with this even more than she loved building. I had some reservations when choosing it for her, but I'm glad I did - it's a brilliant set.

My only criticism and the reason I couldn't give five stars for durability is that in some respects the set is not that durable, it's possible to move it and lift it up once assembled, but not easy - you have to take care. Her little brother (3 years old) has already accidentally sacked the castle several times!

Also the stickers, they're great, but printed pieces would have been more durable I think. I know the very old sets had printed castle walls. The advantage of the stickers is you can orientate them differently to get a slightly different brick pattern on the pieces if you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks good, poor design, 3 Dec 2013
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70404: King's Castle (Toy)
A few years ago Lego brought out their "Kingdoms" range, which included the best castle they had made for nearly twenty years. They then went and threw all that out of the window so they could sell some 'licensed' theme or other. After that bombed, they returned to home-grown castles.

This one is frankly a disappointment. What is tragic about the set is it could have been great. It looks amazing and has a lot of little details including a throne room for the king, a jail and all the usual castle stuff such as a portcullis, drawbridge, catapult, etc. The problem is with the design. The main model consists of several modular sections which are connected via technic pieces. Try to push one of the round corner 'tower' sections together and it will fall apart in your hand. The fault lies with the 'wall corner' pieces. In the original 80s and 90s castle sets these were shaped so they could be connected to other castle wall pieces along the top and bottom with 2x1 bricks, thus giving them greater stability. Here they are an inferior free-standing and much more flimsy design. No matter what I did they refused to stay put, even when I stuck them down with blu-tac. Therefore the corner towers will start coming apart and falling to pieces.

If real castles were built like this they wouldn't have lasted five minutes. If you're looking for a new Lego Castle then buy the Kingdoms castle. If you already have that then be happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I love this castle!, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70404: King's Castle (Toy)
Bought this for my 8year old boys who are really into knights and castles at the moment, they absolutely love it, as do I!
Lots of great little features and plenty of characters, though we have bought one of the smaller sets to go with it. The only fault with it is that it does not come with a base board, luckily we already had one that is big enough to take the whole castle otherwise I'm sure it would come apart if you tried to move it (like children do!) I would definitely recommend this set to any one but would suggest you get a base board to go with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks nice but really weak construction, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70404: King's Castle (Toy)
We love Lego and this superficially looked good. Unlike most lego kits though the end result is very weak, it falls to pieces with even the slightest movement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 15 Jan 2014
By 
C. Grogan "Gromad" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70404: King's Castle (Toy)
Little boy likes it but it is hard to play with once it is put together. Great instructions as usuall with lego
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Castle 70404: King's Castle (Toy)
Brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO Castle 70404: King's Castle
£72.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews