Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams of Empire
This book, originally published in 1998, has been republished as part of the 50th anniversary celebrations of Doctor Who, and epitomises the Second Doctor story of choice for those celebrations. Justin Richards has written a lot of books, including a lot of Doctor Who novels.

In the canon of Doctor Who, this story is set to occur after The Ice Warriors, and...
Published 21 months ago by Keen Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Two escape routes or we can get a good night’s sleep....
The biggest success of this book is that it, against the odds, succeeds in presenting a highly recognisable Second Doctor with both his surface image of a fool and his sub surface cunning.
This is quite achievement, as the author points out in his introduction, because Troughton’s Doctor’s deeper side was portrayed through his expressive face much more...
Published 8 months ago by P. J. Dunn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams of Empire, 17 April 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book, originally published in 1998, has been republished as part of the 50th anniversary celebrations of Doctor Who, and epitomises the Second Doctor story of choice for those celebrations. Justin Richards has written a lot of books, including a lot of Doctor Who novels.

In the canon of Doctor Who, this story is set to occur after The Ice Warriors, and features the Second Doctor with Jamie and Victoria. The Doctor and his friends land on a prison planet, where the prisoners and the guards have their own routine. But that's all about to change, as the politics of a large and powerful Republic impinge on honour and glory, and ambition and greed come to the fore. But, as with all Doctor Who stories, nothing is ever quite as it seems, and this story has plenty of twists and turns before it all comes to a satisfactory end.

The humour of the Second Doctor is nicely captured in this story, as are the gestures and mannerisms that Patrick Troughton so neatly put into his characterisation. This is a really good Doctor Who story, and one I'm glad I had the chance to catch up on. Totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent Second Doctor Novel Celebrates It's 50th Anniversary, 9 Nov. 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Now this is more like it a great well paced adventure that features The Second Doctor, Jamie & Victoria & is written by the exellent Justin Richards.

This has the flavour of the Patrick Troughton era as the setting is typical Second Doctor which is set on a barren Asteroid of Haddon were it's empire is on the brink of collaspe due to year's of Civil War & political collapse.

Help could come from a Kesar whom could negotiate peace but Kesar has been overthrown in a political voting debate & apart from one small problem that Kesar is imprisoned were his allies plan a rescue attempt while his enemys are attempting to kill him.

The Doctor, Jamie & Victoria are & thrown into the events were the a murder has occured, Political intrigue & Robot assassins which have been dispatched to kill Kesar.

The Doctor has to deal with a political intrigue, A murder, Robot assassins & has a cunning tratior to unmask as the future of Haddon hangs in the balance.

This has plenty of twists & turns to this adventure as writer Justin Richards captures the Second Doctor's mannerisms as well as his compaions character traits of Jamie & Victoria.

This is a fast paced adventure which would make a great audio adaption for Big Finish.

Dreams of Empire has plenty of mystery & intrigue to engage the reader's of Doctor Who & is a welcome addition to these 50th Anniversary books celebrating the Golden Anniversary of Doctor Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams of Empire. One of the best!, 31 May 2013
This book is amazing. I will admit, I found it difficult to get into to start with, but after a couple of chapters, I really found it hard to put down! The Second Doctor is written well and you can really imagine it is him. Jamie and Victoria are likewise written well and given more than enough to do. This book is a good example of the Troughton's, 'base under siege' stories. I wish this had been on Television. This book is amazing and will leave you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric Troughton Who, 15 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
Justin Richards does it again with this atmospheric novel about politics and war. Anyone who has since listened to his Big Finish CD "The Whispers of Terror" will keenly note the parallels. His characterisation of the Doctor is spot on. Jamie and Victoria come off well too and are given a lot ot do. The most powerful aspect of the book is the carefully woven chess imagery which pulls the plot together. Despite the static setting, this is a fast paced Who which I would have loved to have seen on screen as part of the 1967-68 season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Two escape routes or we can get a good night’s sleep...., 1 Jun. 2014
By 
P. J. Dunn "Peter Dunn" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The biggest success of this book is that it, against the odds, succeeds in presenting a highly recognisable Second Doctor with both his surface image of a fool and his sub surface cunning.
This is quite achievement, as the author points out in his introduction, because Troughton’s Doctor’s deeper side was portrayed through his expressive face much more than in novel friendly dialogue.
However the book also succeeds in being equally successful in replicating two the TV show’s most common plot flaws. Firstly the Doctor pretty much works out who the main villain is but decides not to mention it to anyone for a while. Secondly the old chestnut of ignoring the option of getting everyone into the Tardis, and flying off before more bad guys arrive, rears its head here. Indeed it rears several heads which all scream loudly at you. Faced with a communications blackout, and a ship with up to 1048 hostile robots heading their way, but still a whole day away, the protagonists decide to ignore both the Tardis and another (admittedly small) perfectly working ship they have on hand and decide to get a good night’s sleep instead….
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars for the first half, and 4 stars for the second half, 29 Mar. 2014
Cons
• I found this story to be slow and difficult to get into for about the first 70 pages. And the Doctor still running away from guards after Victoria’s capture did not strike me as realistic for him.
• Victoria – never the most independent of the screen companions, she is portrayed as less of a screamer here. But she still doesn’t actually do much except what the Doctor tells her to. Also, Helana Trayx could’ve been developed more as a character.

Pros
• I was able to work out most of the twists in advance, including the identity of the main villain. The trick is to pay attention to how certain characters speak, such as Prion. However, on page 147, I’m not sure that the identity of the expected ‘her’ is ever revealed…
• The VETACs. For a change, the Doctor has to fight against an enemy that can’t be totally stopped. It’s the battle scenes, and how the TARDIS crew and those with them survive that lifts the second half of the book.
• The characterisation of the 2nd Doctor is spot on. Milton Trayx, invented for this novel, is a thoroughly likeable character also.
• The interrogation scene involving Tordoc. This twist did take me by surprise. Well played, Mr Richards!

In summary, a reasonable book. But for those eager to know the answers to the book’s mysteries may find the pacing slow at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dreams of Empire, 5 Dec. 2013
A thoroughly enjoyable romp with the Second Doctor and companions Jamie and Victoria where we get to see what could have happened if Ceaser's crossing of the Rubicon had failed. Very much Rome meets the Terminator with added chess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clever adventure story, 28 Nov. 2013
Troughton's Second Doctor, Jamie and Victoria are probably my favourite trio in the show, and they work very well here. The author has crafted a clever adventure story, very much in the "base under siege" style of mid-era Troughton. The supporting cast is cleverly done, though I initially got a bit lost as to who was who. The battles, adventures and over-arcing plot are well done, and the characterisation and dialogue really makes it feel as if the 2nd Doctor, Jamie and Victoria are there before you.

Negatives? The Doctor's handkerchief seems a bit over-used, I couldn't remember who the revealed character at the end actually was, and the action does drag a bit in the middle. I also felt that it was mainly my already-extant love for this group of characters that made me care what happened to them, rather than how they are portrayed in the book.

But those are minor gripes, and this is a very good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There will be blood, 29 July 2013
By 
Michael Clark (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Dreams of Empire: 50th Anniversary Edition (Kindle Edition)
This was a pretty gritty, second doctor story. Lots of good characterisation and action.

The plot was a novelty blend of I Claudius, The man in the Iron Mask and various space marine movies.

I'm catching up on many of the older Dr Who novels and it was good that this chap warranted a reprint for the 50th anniversary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good doctor, 15 April 2011
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Second Doctor finds himself in that oh so familiar siege situation again but this time the writer manages to pull it off with admirable flare. The Tardis crew are brilliantly brought back to us in a book that is easily the best yet from this era of the show. It just has a rightness to it that makes it a pleasure to read. It's an exciting actioner that manages not to leave its brains at the door. If you haven't read any of these books yet you could do a lot worse than starting with Dreams of Empire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews