Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic from Manchesters finest
A golden nugget of the musical scene of 1991. The debut release of New Order's Bernard Sumner and The Smith's Johnny Marr proved to be a real winner.
Though a side project, the feeling of a supergroup was never faraway with the Pet Shop Boy's Neil Tennant dropping in on 'Getting away with it' and 'The Patience of a Saint'.
I first got my copy of this on...
Published on 3 July 2001

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2013 Edition - Great Album, baffling selection of bonus tracks
22 years after release, and for no particular reason, Bernard Sumner and Johnny Marr's debut is reissued in a new configuration with a slew of additional songs. After a cursory 1994 remastering, this 2013 edition features the original debut LP, and a second CD with a huge host of additional material. After the demise of The Smiths, the suspension of New Order, and Johnny...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. M. A. Reed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars superb of course, 17 Sep 2011
By 
James S. Prichard "texan" (houston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
these songs are a fantastic addition to every other b. sumner song. there is no doubt in my mind that he will continue to contribute to my happiness through his songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent start to the Electronic story..., 3 April 2008
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
It's a great shame that Electronic only released three albums before disappearing from the music scene: I love all of the three albums and would have liked more!

This, their first, is the most keyboard driven of the three: "Raise the Pressure" introduced a few guitar-driven songs and by the time of their last, "Twisted Tenderness" the transition to the guitar as the predominant instrument was complete, resulting in that album having quite a hard rock edge to it.

The songs on "Electronic", however, are all keyboard pop, catchy danceful tunes - happy music - which occasionally, as on "Getting Away With It", has the band sounding a little like the Pet Shop Boys.

Faultless music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Order meets The Smiths in Electroland, 30 Nov 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
Called "the first supergroup of the 90's", perhaps prematurely, the combination of Johnny Marr and Bernard Sumner swings into action with a daunting marriage of enervated guitar and brilliant electronics on their unimaginatively titled debit album. Unsurprisingly, what you get is very much what you would expect - a collaboration between The Smiths and New Order, sans Morrisey's voice. Raw Energy rules on Idiot Country, while Reality leans more to the electrodisco side and the Pet Shop Boys help out on the subdued but intense The Patience Of A Saint. The hit single Get The Message is very catchy; the video is superb. Sumner's limited vocal range may ultimately spoil the broth a bit, but that's a minor criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original release...1991.., 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
Just a quick warning that this edition is the one WITHOUT 'Getting Away With It.....', so if that's the track you're after...buy the 1994 remaster. By the by...Still great, and you hear enough of the missing track on the radio. From other reviewers comments the remaster also appears to be all the better for it. Your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic slice of pop.........., 15 Oct 2006
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
This is one of those albums that you loved first time round, have got dusty in the back of the collection, and then you wonder will you still like it now. Well, this album stands up fantastically well. It shouldn't be surprising, considering the talent on the record (Pet Shop Boys, Johhny Marr, Bernie Sumner).

I disagree that it sounds like a New Order album, I think there are several 'flavours' through the album, but there is definitely no Smiths sound from Marr, though that was the point, wasn' it?

About 80 % of the album is excellent, couple of filler tracks lower its score, but highly recommended album from performers at their peak.

Stand outs - 'Get the Message', 'Patience of a Saint'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new order, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
I bought this album for my wifes son and he loved it! He had it before on tape , but wanted the cd. Best wishes paul cretella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but very similar to New Order, 7 Dec 2002
By 
alexliamw (New Haven, CT) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
Electronic was the coming together of New Order singer Bernard Sumner and Smiths guitarist Jonny Marr. Both are major geniuses in their own right, and by the time this album was put out had written seminal albums for their bands, and I am a real admirer of both, especially Jonny Marr.
Certainly, it is a combination worthy of major excitement. And 'Electronic' is a passable album packed with decent, 80s-referencing dance-pop songs such as 'Get The Message' and 'Reality' which sound like...well, New Order. All the tunes are good, but my quibble with the album is that Jonny Marr's present isn't so well felt. This sounds so much like New Order that if you played me these tracks telling me they were New Order I wouldn't blink an eyelid. And I doubt many others would either.
The Pet Shop Boys appear on 'Patience Of A Saint' and 'Getting Away With It', and add an extra dimension to proceedings, but still this seems to have all come before. Only on the fantastic 'Gangster' do we get a really fantastic track worthy of any of the members of Electronic. Its heartbreaking, insightful and beautiful, and undeniably the album's standout.
I will actually break with the majority of reviewers here and reccomend Electronic's third album, Twisted Tenderness, ahead of this one, as it is the album's where Marr makes his presence felt more, and where the tracks are still New Order-esque, they are of great quality. 'Electronic' is still worth owning, but not as good as most of the work put out by members of the project under their other guises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish Reissue, 8 April 2013
By 
Neil Monaghan "steve_hogarth" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
Just as the title says where are all the b sides and remixes associated with this release ? What we do get is a bunch of edits and mixes of tracks that appeared on later albums. Do yourself a favour and stick with the 1994 remaster and forget this sham of a release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite albums of all time, 16 Mar 2013
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
Truly excellent! Electronic is a very limiting description of this stellar combination of artists. The first of three excellent albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What "Behavior." should have been - Update for the Special Edition, 21 Mar 2013
By 
Autonome (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
The "Special edition" really makes a difference sonically. Where the sound was acidic and a bit blurry before, here it has massive dynamics, scope and transparency: it is like watching an old James Bond movie in HD! For the improvement itself, this new set is worth buying. As for the bonus disc, I do not believe it deserves the slack that was given by many listeners here. The choice of tracks is very good and shows how inspirational Sumner and Marr were. It is also great to get a "complete" Pet Shop Boys-Electronic collaboration with the inclusion of "Disappointed", composed some time after "Patience of a Saint" and "Getting away with it" - and not on the initial album.

Looking back, Bernard Sumner and Johnny Marr did succeed, with "Electronic" what the Pet Shop Boys failed to do with "Behavior.", i.e. a remarkable dance album, with very strong rock and guitar roots, and sophisticated production values. The combination of Johnny Marr's guitar riffs with polished electronic music, great melodic line and a powerful beat would contribute to create one of the best albums of 1991. Difficult to find a bad track in this lot ("Tighten up" maybe...and even then), while the whole album is a resounding success: "Idiot country", the opening track, and the hit "Get the message" both summarise the album and set its agenda firmly. The Pet Shop Boys themselves participated to two great ballads, "Patience of a Saint" and "Getting Away with it", the latter featuring a great strings coda by Ann Dudley. The dynamics on "Gangster" are great. "Soviet" is a beautiful, short instrumental sending the bloated "My October Symphony" to oblivion. "Try all you want" is a great dance track with a great melody while "Some distant memory" benefits from a great Oboe solo by Helen Powell. The LP finishes with a bang thanks to "Feel every beat", a luxurious and fun track with a great keyboard solo as a farewell.
Basically the first album of Electronic is what "Behavior." by the PSBs should have been. "Electronic" remains to this day a great pop album which has resisted the test of time extremely well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa11f5aec)

This product

Electronic
Electronic by Electronic (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews