Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic from Manchesters finest
A golden nugget of the musical scene of 1991. The debut release of New Order's Bernard Sumner and The Smith's Johnny Marr proved to be a real winner.
Though a side project, the feeling of a supergroup was never faraway with the Pet Shop Boy's Neil Tennant dropping in on 'Getting away with it' and 'The Patience of a Saint'.
I first got my copy of this on...
Published on 3 July 2001

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2013 Edition - Great Album, baffling selection of bonus tracks
22 years after release, and for no particular reason, Bernard Sumner and Johnny Marr's debut is reissued in a new configuration with a slew of additional songs. After a cursory 1994 remastering, this 2013 edition features the original debut LP, and a second CD with a huge host of additional material. After the demise of The Smiths, the suspension of New Order, and Johnny...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. M. A. Reed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic from Manchesters finest, 3 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
A golden nugget of the musical scene of 1991. The debut release of New Order's Bernard Sumner and The Smith's Johnny Marr proved to be a real winner.
Though a side project, the feeling of a supergroup was never faraway with the Pet Shop Boy's Neil Tennant dropping in on 'Getting away with it' and 'The Patience of a Saint'.
I first got my copy of this on cassette on the legendary Factory label. And I can still remember the feeling I got when I first heard it. It was one of knowing that at last the music you wanted to hear had been recorded and released, knowing that someone else out there felt the same as you! I remember many times, quite anti-socially, not going out with my friends and staying in and listening to this album again and again!
The opener, 'Idiot Country' sets the scene. Swooshing atmospherics, crunchy electro rhythms and Marr's sterling guitar work all to the fore. Sumner's lyrics were more expressive than usual too, perhaps set free from the tension in the New Order camp.
Altogether a wonderful album, there is no point saying there are any special tracks, they all come as one listening experience.
Go on, recapture the feeling of '91.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest albums of all time, 4 Aug 2005
By 
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
Whether you're a fan of New Order or not, if you have any taste in music there's no way that you could dislike this album. I got it not long after its original release date and I still play it regularly, which is one of an elite group of albums in my vast collection that this happens to. I can't recommend it enough. Perfect analogue synth sounds, classic Johnny Marr guitar playing, better-than-normal vocals from Bernard, and above all great, emotional songwriting. Sadly, it will always remain in New Order's shadow, hugely underrated like many classic albums. BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated classic, 29 Aug 2000
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
I've never understood why this album isn't taken seriously. Well that's a bit of a lie, it's understandable why some people see Electronic as merely an indulgent side project for ageing stars of officially 'The Two Best Bands Of The 80s' (that's New Order and The Smiths, of course). But 'Electronic' is comfortably better than any New Order album, including 'Technique', although the completely contrasting styles of Morrissey and Bernard Sumner make comparison with The Smiths difficult.
Few albums fit together so well and sound so perefectly formed as this. Listen closely and it's clear that a lot of thought and work has gone into making this record, yet part of its greatness is the tight, energetic naturalness of it all. From the first track to the last the music has a spring in its step - at first listen sounding very New Order-esque, then repeated listens bringing out Johnny Marr's guitar, all the while underpinned by a joyous buoyancy. Bernard Sumner has never sounded better, at times speaking (I hesitate to call it rapping) his verses, at times doing his more usual low-key singing thing. The lyrics, as ever, are more impressionistic than narrative. There are no bad tracks, the 2 minute instrumental 'Soviet' being the weakest, though it works well in providing a respite before the exuberance of the brilliant 'Get The Message', one of the best singles of the 90s. Every track is carefully, intricately structured without ever sounding contrived. The real genius of this album, however, lies not only in the singles but also in less immediate tracks like 'Some Distant Memory', whose utterly beautiful oboe-led coda is both one of the best moments on the album and also the perfect lead in to the upbeat finale 'Feel Every Beat'.
I've owned this album for 9 years and still listen to it regularly, which makes it pretty much unique in my record collection, yet I still can't pinpoint why I like it more than any New Order album. It's less raw, perhaps more reflective, yet feels more complete and satisfying. It's certainly the best of the three Electronic albums by light years. I would recommend it to anyone, especially anyone who's listened to and liked New Order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the few CD's in my collection without a duff track!, 11 April 2001
By 
Gabby "Gabby" (Birmingham, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
OK, this CD's been out for years, but I recently went through my whole collection, and can wholeheartedly say that this is one of the few CD's I have where there is not one bad track. I can happily listen to the whole CD from start to finish without skipping a tune. The only one that comes close is New Order's "Technique". I am a rabid Pet Shop Boys fan and even they can not achieve an album without a track I dislike! Obviously it's not going to be to everyone's taste, but if you like New Order, The Smiths or the Pet Shop Boys I would be surprised if you were disappointed with this gem. It's a shame Electronic's second and third albums did not match up to this calibre, although they also contain some cracking songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2013 Edition - Great Album, baffling selection of bonus tracks, 23 April 2013
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
22 years after release, and for no particular reason, Bernard Sumner and Johnny Marr's debut is reissued in a new configuration with a slew of additional songs. After a cursory 1994 remastering, this 2013 edition features the original debut LP, and a second CD with a huge host of additional material. After the demise of The Smiths, the suspension of New Order, and Johnny Marr's temporary five year excursion into The The, Electronic, who on paper seemed like a match made in heaven, were possibly the only 'supergroup' who actually were super. Here Sumners love of electronics, and Marr's wide vista of styles and eclecticism, welded styles in a perfect union. As far as debut records go, even though this was Sumner's eighth, and Marr's sixth full length record, it is confident, assured, utter genius. Aided and abetted by three songs which sees members of Pet Shop Boys onboard as well. Marr's love of funk, choppy dance rhythms, and squalls of guitar, as well as spindly and muscular melodies shine through, whilst Sumner - irking the wrath of Morrissey - added huge slabs of his plaintive, emotionless/emotional vocals, underrated guitar work, and deft production skills. Where the record is dated is only in the occasional outbreaks of 'italian house piano' (that also can be heard of the 1996 followup and New Order's "Republic"). As it stands though, it's a great record, with nary a dull or misplaced moment, though one of two halves as it stood just on the cusp of the entrance into the CD age where you didn't have to flip the vinyl slab over.

Bonus tracks are a scrappy and bizarre selection of oddities from across the bands lifespan. Leftover songs, remixes, and variants from the 1996 and 1999 albums are spread across it with barely any thought for sense. The songs are given largely pointless remix edits, so material from the era that spawned the parent album (remixes of "Gangster", "Get The Message", "Feel Every Beat", "Disappointed", "Lucky Bag") are absent. In their place, four previously unheard remixes of 1996 and 1999 LP tracks are added somewhat pointlessly, and three mediocre instrumental b-sides are bundled in. On the other hand, "Second To None" is one of the best songs either party has ever attached their name to which is bafflingly not on the original album. Whilst the idea of a continuation of the band seems unlikely now, Electronic are a gem in the history of music you would be wise to investigate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eventually ..., 1 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this album in it's original incarnation way back in the eighties - very shortly afterwards it was re-issued to contain the Neil Tennant collaboration 'getting away with it" and remember I was a bit gutted at the time (I wasn't about to buy it again, back in those dark days we in GB had to pay around 14/15 for cd's), now, twenty years or so later I bought this version which contains "getting away with it" AND another Neil Tennat collaboration, "Dissappointed" which was not on the original either, I have now been reliving the whole album with these welcome additions plus the additional cd of remixes etc.. is also a bonus for die-hards, all at great price !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worst reissue job ever?, 18 April 2013
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
I get the feeling that most comments posted so far focus on the original album itself. The label needs to know that their work on this new edition - mainly the bonus disc selection - deserves zero star. The customer is treated like a know-nothing, only granted trivia 2013 edits while removing all the real deal, the bonus material everybody was expecting. And it's not like there wasn't at least 30+ minutes of disc space left on this set...
There is no reason to get this reissue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best version available, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
Remastered by Frank Arkwright, who was also responsible for the excellent Smiths boxset remasters, and the even better sounding Joy Division/New Order compilation 'Total', we now have the best of the 3 available versions of this album. The second CD may appear a bit ropey on paper but listening to it, many of the edits to my knowledge have never been available before.

Lets hope Arkwright gets his hands on New Order's back catalogue which even in its 2008 form could certainly be improved on with his touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Substance, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the 1990s Bernard Sumner and Johnny Marr put out three albums and nine singles as Electronic. This is a 2007 digital-only edition of their debut, containing the 1994 remaster and a bonus "disc" of single tracks. Because most of the singles were reissued at the same time as this, it has to share the quality a bit, but this still contains almost everything that should be here: the two one-off singles with Neil Tennant (Getting Away With It and Disappointed), all the B-sides (Lucky Bag, Free Will, Lean to the Inside and Second to None), and several creative, melodic remixes.

The second disc essentially contains the British Feel Every Beat and Disappointed CDs, plus both versions of Lucky Bag, Free Will and Gangster (FBI Mix). It's nice to have every track from the Disappointed single, which wasn't released on its own. If you get this bundle then you'll have a strong collection in an instant - though two additions are advised: the version of Free Will here is edited, so add the full version from the Get The Message EP; and throw in the sweet 12" version of Feel Every Beat from its separate EP release as well. Other than that, this is action-packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still brilliant, 20 years on, 24 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electronic (Audio CD)
I was reminded recently of Johnny Marr's musicality and brilliant playing by the new album from The Cribs. Which inspired me to revisit this album. Still wonderful, 20 years after its first release. Take late New Order's electro dance groove, mix in Marr's guitar playing, and add great collaborations with Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe. One of my favourite albums from the 90s, no doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Electronic
Electronic by Electronic (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews