Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime agony & beauty - the album of 2013
The great 4AD records have stumbled upon yet another winning act building on traditions from Dead Can Dance through to Blonde Redhead (the latter being the most underrated act in the planet). Is there a genius in the company chair there? The album seems like one long hypnotic 45 minute number about love & love lost & so little point to describe each track but I'd like to...
Published 11 months ago by R.Cooper

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't leave!
One or two standout tracks make the album worth its purchase but overall there's just a little too much similarity
Published 16 months ago by G. Haynes


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime agony & beauty - the album of 2013, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Leave (Audio CD)
The great 4AD records have stumbled upon yet another winning act building on traditions from Dead Can Dance through to Blonde Redhead (the latter being the most underrated act in the planet). Is there a genius in the company chair there? The album seems like one long hypnotic 45 minute number about love & love lost & so little point to describe each track but I'd like to try :o). Opens with 'Winter' which sets the weather for both beauty & desolation. Then 'Smother' and hey they were brave enough to release this as a 7" single. Sounding like XX (or is it XX sounding like Daughter) as Elena Tonra pours her heart out "I want him but we are not right" deep brilliant lyrics & quite spellbinding "all my children can become me" "what a mess I leave to follow" and builds into a climax ;o) 'Youth' could be the best here "'cause most of us are heaving through corrupted lungs" "the lovers that went wrong" with emotion in overload "and you caused it" plus great the way the drums burst into life with powerful beat flourishes. 'Still' is another dramatic ethereal piece...this is not dance music but music that needs to be listened to. 'Lifeforms' spurred on by the guitar arpeggios & haunting vocals is another emotional tour de force "or find the children lost at sea" "you'll always find another womb to grow". Sublime. 'Tomorrow' more desolation via some heavier guitar "don't bring tomorrow because I already know I'll lose you". 'Human' is the most upbeat, energetic & danceable and adds a nice change. 'Touch' with each listen new shades appear - amazing & grabs you & pulls you in "can feel something". 'Amsterdam' is totally mesmerizing. Finally track 'Shallows' is where the title comes from "if you leave, when I go, you'll find me in the shallows" as it slowly builds into a climax with the drums ricocheting, reverb guitars & vocals all seemingly at different rhythms, but it all falls together perfectly & is more emotional overload. Elena's voice really seems as if she's living the agony (understated, honest, humble & pure). The slight fault is that it is not a particularly fun & uplifting ride but nevertheless somehow meshes into a beautiful soundscape which you can place onto repeat as each listen reveals more magic. Yes this album is sublime & the album of 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars everything you'd hoped, 19 Mar 2013
This review is from: If You Leave (Audio CD)
I've been looking forward to this album since the beginning of the year after discovering their previous eps (His Young Heart, and The Wild Youth), as well as the beautiful Smother/Run single which really began to showcase the band's now fuller, more dramatic sound. "If You Leave" certainly doesn't disappoint.
The ten songs here sit so well together it's hard to imagine them presented any other way. The song sequencing, the packaging, and that sound - a beguiling hybrid of Sigur Ros and early Suzanne Vega with a good sprinkling of Cocteau Twins 4AD-ish-ness - all serve to enhance Ellen Tonra's deeply intimate tales of love's ambiguity. And let's not forget her voice! Sultry, vulnerable, sexy, and never 'over-egged'. Perfectly judged with just enough expression to make the songs live. The emotional content of the music comes largely from Igor Haefeli's widescreen guitar motifs whether strummed, picked, or bowed, and percussionist Remi Aguilella's short-lived but powerful drum swells. "Smother" is a good example of this post-post-rock stance - three quarters of the song hang in a sublime suspension of build or fall with just a few bars of intensity at full band volume. Infact the only track here that doesn't make use of quiet/loud dynamics is "Human" which is almost 'pop', atleast by Daughter's standards.
"If You Leave" will take a few listens to get right under your skin, but once it does it's like an addiction. This is a compelling and highly accomplished debut from a band I now desperately want to see onstage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait! Brilliant!, 19 Mar 2013
This review is from: If You Leave (Audio CD)
The first two EP's are excellent, so I eagerly awaited the full length debut, for what seemed like an age. It lived up to all I was hoping for. Brilliant, charming, compelling, ethereal, mellow, wonderfully produced and performed. I absolutely recommend If You Leave, and I'm looking forward to hearing it live next month in Birmingham.
Daughter are getting a bit of love from all around (BBC, music press etc), so next big thing? It seems so and utterly utterly deserved. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising and beautiful, 1 Aug 2013
This review is from: If You Leave (Audio CD)
I am too old for this. Definitely. I first stumbled across Daughter via the two EPs and was instantly smitten. This led to me driving through the snow in January to see them in the intimate surroundings of St Peter's Church Salford where they quite simply blew me away. To say I have been looking forward to this album would be an understatement and at the tender age of 45 that is unsual. Initially I was upset that a couple of my favourites were not deemed album worthy - Candles and Landfill - but then at the same time happy that they confounded this expectation. I grew up on The Cocteau Twins and This Mortal Coil and this puts me in mind of both but again not exactly. The musicianship is superb, the voice haunting, the subjects unviersal. Some may yell 'depressing' but they are wrong. This is just pure, wonderful music. Enraptured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a grower!, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Leave (Audio CD)
I first heard Daughter's track Youth on BBC 6 Music, it was an instant like for me. If you like Florence and The XX then this album will certainly not disappoint you. I believe some production has been done by one member of the XX. Its very chilled with great acoustic guitars. 5 stars from me, spot on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice album but a little bit repetitive, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Leave (Audio CD)
Now a days it is quite difficult to find an spectacular album that fills your expectations.

After listening one of the first hits from Daughter, "Youth, I decided to buy the album because I though the sound that this band creates quite appealed my taste. Unfortunately I was a little bit disappointed after the second hearing because it looks to me like a continuous atmospheric cool sound that it did not end to satisfy me.

Lyrics are nice but it did not definitely touch my soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked, 14 July 2014
This review is from: If You Leave (Audio CD)
This album is well wicked, innit !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, subtle and deep as a blue-pool in winter, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Leave (Audio CD)
An absorbing album that gets deeper on each listening.

Echoes of other great acts like Florence, Goldfrapp and London Grammar, maybe a bit of Enya ... maybe many other masters of the subtle.

Highly recommended if you want a 10 track late evening journey to chill-out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Leave (Audio CD)
brilliant debut album from daughter,this band are goin to be huge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For fans of This Mortal Coil, The Sundays or The Cocteau Twins, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Leave (Audio CD)
Beautiful arranged and crafted songs with a melancholy feel. Ideal for relaxing with this on the stereo, after a hard days work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

If You Leave
If You Leave by Daughter (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews