Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dark humour film.
Great dark humour film from Michael Bay. Good performance from the main three. Good to see another good whalberg film.
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I was really disappointed with this movie
I was really disappointed with this movie. Espically as i am a fan of Wahlberg, and the Rock. What I find even sadder is the film is based on a true story. Really!! There are actually people that stupid?

Wahlberg plays Daniel Lugo a former conman, who works as a personal trainer. At first this is his dream job but now he wants more. Of course he deserves it. He...
Published 1 month ago by K. G. A. Alavi


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I was really disappointed with this movie, 4 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: Pain and Gain (DVD)
I was really disappointed with this movie. Espically as i am a fan of Wahlberg, and the Rock. What I find even sadder is the film is based on a true story. Really!! There are actually people that stupid?

Wahlberg plays Daniel Lugo a former conman, who works as a personal trainer. At first this is his dream job but now he wants more. Of course he deserves it. He is the most ripped and roided up person he knows. Why should he not have everything that belongs to his Ahole, scrawny client. He wants the high life that being most ripped should entitle him to. After a seminar from a motivational speaker, and the help of his brainroided friends he will not let anything or the law stop him from getting what is owed him.

The only positive thing anyone who manages to watch this film is DON'T DOPE, not just because of the roidrage but also it the mess up you man parts. I really did not like this film I did not find it funny or even entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dark humour film., 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great dark humour film from Michael Bay. Good performance from the main three. Good to see another good whalberg film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pain & Gain [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Film was so good but you can't believe its a real story
So pathetic but so messed up a very good film indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Movie, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pain & Gain [DVD] (DVD)
This story is brilliant marvellous actors on the front line there is no way this movie is going to be boring, Action and comedy mixed together what more do you want. Now two trainers want more than they have got and that's the American dream. Somewhere down the track they get caught up with the criminal enterprise that goes astray, Now with that bit of intelligence there can only be a lot of mistakes along the way. I rated this an A grade plus for the fast paced and fresh ideas that come to light in this movie based on what really happened. The action is great and a touch of comedy that will have you tied up in stitches. Time for your feet up popcorn in hand, try to relax in front of the television with a fabulous movie that will have you sitting upright, taking note of everything going on from beginning to end. Highly recommended and no disappointments, now you can see for yourself and be a judge. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy but Great!, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pain & Gain [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I think my heading says it all. Just watch and be amazed by a very unique interpretation of making it in the United States!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'M A DOER,, 5 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pain & Gain [DVD] (DVD)
This is a true story that reads like dumb crook news. Daniel Lugo (Mark Wahlberg) is a muscle headed body builder who is inspired in ironic fashion by unorthodox motivational speaker Johnny Wu (Ken Jeong). With the aid of two other body builders, Paul Doyle (Dwayne Johnson) and Adrian Doorbal (Anthony Mackie) they devise a plan to kidnap and extort money from Colombian businessman Victor Kershaw (Tony Shalhoub).

They fumble their way through the operation and become greedy. It is clear these guys were not bright. The writers created dialouge for these crooks in order to lighten the story and to keep them from looking like complete idiots. Fictional aspects such as making the nurse (Rebel Wilson) look heavy-set with portraying Doorbal as liking those type of women kept the story from becoming dry.

The beginning of the film demonstrates some humor as Danny names fictional characters as his heroes..."There are no shortcuts to the American dream" he proclaims. In spite of the efforts made by the writers, the film somehow loses its hook and charm as you wait for it to end.

Parental Guide: F-bombs, sex, and nudity. Porn star Nikki Benz is one of the unnamed strippers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The three stooges, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pain & Gain [DVD] (DVD)
Based on a true story & set in Miami 1994-5, life long body builder Daniel Lugo (Wahlberg) comes to a crossroads in his life, where he begins to question his lifestyle. As apart from a well toned, ripped body, he doesn't have much else to show for it. As a trainer in a gym, hearing about the success & lifestyle of one of his clients during workouts , Colombian entrepreneur Victor Kershaw (Shalhoub), he begins to want the American dream for himself. Brainwashed by motivational speaker Johnny Wu's (Jeong) mantra, "be a do'er, not a don'ter". But sadly hes dumb as a brick, so decides to take what Victor has, by force. Mayhem ensues.

Overall, the premise of the film looked good in text, exciting & the lead duo are known for enjoyable films, as the Bad Boys-esque DVD cover eludes too, what could go wrong ?! well, most of it really, as the serious material it's based on is taken down an ill advised comedy avenue in hindsight. The heart of the film was just about Mark Wahlberg's (Shooter) dumb body builder masterminding the abduction of Tony Shalhoub (Monk), with the help of a ridiculously OTT performance from Dwane Johnson (Fast & Furious) as a cocaine snorting devout Christian & Anthony Mackie (The Hurt Locker) as an impotent steroid junkie. Who are like the three stooges when getting things done.

The first hour of the film is all about setting up the premise & getting the money, while the 2nd hour is all about they're downfall, where upon in the latter half the introduction of Ed Harris's (The Truman Show) retired cop/PI made the film better. His investigation into them made it more intelligent & interesting with it's more meaningful crime drama injection. The content itself is a bit mixed otherwise, with a range of silly, black & horror comedy, that is mildly amusing in places to be fair. But it is a crime drama at heart after all, and based on grisly true events. Director Micheal Bay brought the film through at a nice pace, albeit it felt too long at 2 hours, with some great cinematography with similar snap to it like his Bad Boys movies. Minus that winning combination infront of screen, in terms of the likable characters & chemistry. But don't get me wrong, the three leads are actors i really like & have enjoyed they're work immensely, but here, they are shoe horned into three very unlikable characters that's painful to watch at times.

In conclusion, Pain & Gain takes a questionable comedy approach to serious real life events, that doesn't naturally mix well. It's only when the film investigates the serious side of it's crime drama roots, that it showed more promise. IMO it would had made for a better straight up crime drama, then a comedy crime drama. Contains strong language & graphic violence. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this film it was funny and had a good storyline as it was based on a true story and had good cast of actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Classic, 20 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pain & Gain [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
One of those 'breath of fresh air' films. Completely different to anything else and to think this is based on a true story it just makes it that bit more crazy. James Cameron directing mark whalberg and Dwayne johnson could on be good but it was GREAT. Probably not everyone's cup of tea, highly recommended by myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars just pain no gain, 12 Sep 2014
This review is from: Pain & Gain [DVD] (DVD)
I think this film is like marmite on toast you like it you don't like it my self I found it boring and strange love true story's but couldn't get into it my be because a American true story that happend in 1995 I couldn't relate to it as I am from the UK and don't rember it happening but some thing like the black panther murders in the UK I can just a example if your a fan of the rock you my like it but not for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pain & Gain [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Pain & Gain [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Michael Bay (Blu-ray - 2013)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews