Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dark humour film.
Great dark humour film from Michael Bay. Good performance from the main three. Good to see another good whalberg film.
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok to have popcorn with
the story is so silly i can't believe it's based on a true events. i wanted to stop watching it half way but my husband wanted to see how it ends. not a great movie. was expecting more.
Published 3 months ago by aon


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dark humour film., 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great dark humour film from Michael Bay. Good performance from the main three. Good to see another good whalberg film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Film was so good but you can't believe its a real story
So pathetic but so messed up a very good film indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok to have popcorn with, 6 April 2014
This review is from: Pain and Gain (DVD)
the story is so silly i can't believe it's based on a true events. i wanted to stop watching it half way but my husband wanted to see how it ends. not a great movie. was expecting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy but Great!, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think my heading says it all. Just watch and be amazed by a very unique interpretation of making it in the United States!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 15 Jan 2014
By 
E. S. Douthwaite "emma" (grimsby) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my partner is a big fan of the gym and body building and pretty much any film staring Dwayne Johnson he loved it I was unsure about giving it a try but I thought I might as well and ended up really enjoying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'M A DOER,, 5 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pain & Gain [DVD] (DVD)
This is a true story that reads like dumb crook news. Daniel Lugo (Mark Wahlberg) is a muscle headed body builder who is inspired in ironic fashion by unorthodox motivational speaker Johnny Wu (Ken Jeong). With the aid of two other body builders, Paul Doyle (Dwayne Johnson) and Adrian Doorbal (Anthony Mackie) they devise a plan to kidnap and extort money from Colombian businessman Victor Kershaw (Tony Shalhoub).

They fumble their way through the operation and become greedy. It is clear these guys were not bright. The writers created dialouge for these crooks in order to lighten the story and to keep them from looking like complete idiots. Fictional aspects such as making the nurse (Rebel Wilson) look heavy-set with portraying Doorbal as liking those type of women kept the story from becoming dry.

The beginning of the film demonstrates some humor as Danny names fictional characters as his heroes..."There are no shortcuts to the American dream" he proclaims. In spite of the efforts made by the writers, the film somehow loses its hook and charm as you wait for it to end.

Parental Guide: F-bombs, sex, and nudity. Porn star Nikki Benz is one of the unnamed strippers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The three stooges, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pain & Gain [DVD] (DVD)
Based on a true story & set in Miami 1994-5, life long body builder Daniel Lugo (Wahlberg) comes to a crossroads in his life, where he begins to question his lifestyle. As apart from a well toned, ripped body, he doesn't have much else to show for it. As a trainer in a gym, hearing about the success & lifestyle of one of his clients during workouts , Colombian entrepreneur Victor Kershaw (Shalhoub), he begins to want the American dream for himself. Brainwashed by motivational speaker Johnny Wu's (Jeong) mantra, "be a do'er, not a don'ter". But sadly hes dumb as a brick, so decides to take what Victor has, by force. Mayhem ensues.

Overall, the premise of the film looked good in text, exciting & the lead duo are known for enjoyable films, as the Bad Boys-esque DVD cover eludes too, what could go wrong ?! well, most of it really, as the serious material it's based on is taken down an ill advised comedy avenue in hindsight. The heart of the film was just about Mark Wahlberg's (Shooter) dumb body builder masterminding the abduction of Tony Shalhoub (Monk), with the help of a ridiculously OTT performance from Dwane Johnson (Fast & Furious) as a cocaine snorting devout Christian & Anthony Mackie (The Hurt Locker) as an impotent steroid junkie. Who are like the three stooges when getting things done.

The first hour of the film is all about setting up the premise & getting the money, while the 2nd hour is all about they're downfall, where upon in the latter half the introduction of Ed Harris's (The Truman Show) retired cop/PI made the film better. His investigation into them made it more intelligent & interesting with it's more meaningful crime drama injection. The content itself is a bit mixed otherwise, with a range of silly, black & horror comedy, that is mildly amusing in places to be fair. But it is a crime drama at heart after all, and based on grisly true events. Director Micheal Bay brought the film through at a nice pace, albeit it felt too long at 2 hours, with some great cinematography with similar snap to it like his Bad Boys movies. Minus that winning combination infront of screen, in terms of the likable characters & chemistry. But don't get me wrong, the three leads are actors i really like & have enjoyed they're work immensely, but here, they are shoe horned into three very unlikable characters that's painful to watch at times.

In conclusion, Pain & Gain takes a questionable comedy approach to serious real life events, that doesn't naturally mix well. It's only when the film investigates the serious side of it's crime drama roots, that it showed more promise. IMO it would had made for a better straight up crime drama, then a comedy crime drama. Contains strong language & graphic violence. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this film it was funny and had a good storyline as it was based on a true story and had good cast of actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Classic, 20 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of those 'breath of fresh air' films. Completely different to anything else and to think this is based on a true story it just makes it that bit more crazy. James Cameron directing mark whalberg and Dwayne johnson could on be good but it was GREAT. Probably not everyone's cup of tea, highly recommended by myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Film, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pain & Gain [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed watching this flick, could not believe it was based on a true story. It was funny - a doer. Hahaha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pain & Gain [DVD]
Pain & Gain [DVD] by Michael Bay (DVD - 2013)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews