Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars526
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2013
Most of us know the story of Hansel & Gretel who escapes the clutches of an evil witch in her gingerbreadhouse by pushing her into the fire. But what happens next?

Apparently they become professional witch hunters and are celebrated as heroes throughout Europe, vanquishing covens all over. When being hired by the mayor of a small town to track down a witch responsible for the abduction of eleven of their children, they stumble upon an evil that may be too powerful even for them...

If you like easy-to-watch action I think you'll like it. To me it felt a bit like Sleepy Hollow and Brothers Grimm, and even A Knights Tale, with the mix of medieval setting and modern-like weapons. Add to this some martial arts fighting between the lead characters and the witches, a troll crushing heads and swinging branches as big as a small tree, you have Hansel & Gretel in a nutshell!

For those of you who likes gore you'll be satisfied without a doubt. Not the splatter-movie amount, thankfully, but enough to make a point. I particularily liked the use of "real" blood and guts and no CGI-blood which seems to have become a trend in many action movies of late. Also the makeup effects were stunning and instead of using computers all the time they used it only when necessary which gave the movie a more gritty feel, in a positive way.

Renner and Arterton both did a good job portraying the two hunters. Peter Stormare convinced as the overzealous and sadistic sheriff, kind of like his role in Brothers Grimm, only evil. Famke Janssen also delivers a solid performance.

The Blu-Ray release was really good and sharp with some grain, which I think was added for a more filmlike look. The Dolby TrueHD soundtrack worked good as well with a lot of use of the surround speakers and a clear dialogue from the center.

Recommended to all who likes to be entertained for an hour and a half with fast-paced, gory, medieval fantasy action!
44 comments|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A very silly but very enjoyable fantasy horror film this sees Hansel and Gretel from the classic fairy tale now grown up many years after their childhood experience with a witch and are now famous witch hunters. Good fun if not taken seriously this is a tongue in cheek very gory and over the top film. Jeremy Renner and Gemma Arteton somehow play it completely straight as Hansel and Gretel while everybody else including Famke Jensson as a witch the pair are after and Peter Stormare as the sherriff of a small town ham it up completely. Make no mistake this is not a film for children or the squeemish this is very adult with blood, guts and beheadings galore as Hansel and Gretel hunt, kill, chop off heads and burn witches with impressive special effects and good action scenes and the ending seems to set up a sequel.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters - violent, gory, anachronistic, funny but with its tongue planted firmly in its cheek, and utilises what is probably the best use of 3D in a movie since Avatar! This certainly ain't no fairy tale.

The critics hated it, I loved it - they really must've suffered a sense of humour bypass when reviewing the movie.
What I really can't understand though, with the amount of gore and violence this movie contains, is how it got a 15 rating?
5 years ago it would've been given an 18 certificate, which the sequel so rightly deserves. Bring it on!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 June 2013
Based loosely on the Grimm fairy tales, the basis of the story of Hansel & Gretel opens with the original tale with the two innocent children played by Cedric Eich (Hansel) & Alea Sophia Boudodimos (Gretel) lost in the woods, coming across a house made of candy & they're contact with a witch, which get's rather heated. Surviving the encounter & learning about they're immunity to magic which put's it's own unique twist on things, we see them become adults & molded into a pair of legendary witch hunting bad asses, Hansel (Renner) & Gretel (Arterton). The main plot see's them come up against a powerful witch, Muriel (Janssen), who they must stop from finishing a ritual which will make all witches immune to fire.

Overall i have to say i came away entertained. The setting was perfect, with a very dark, Grimm, Gothic & eerie setting/backdrop that helped make the idea of witches & beasts in this reality, believable. The action side of things is a combination of Underworld/Blade/The Matrix/Solomon Kane & is ever present as the film jumps to set piece, to set piece with the odd bit of side story breaking thing's up & combining together towards the finale to bring some closure. Hansel & Gretel clad in sleek leather outfits believable to the era, while wielding an array of steampunk style weapons. Aren't shy about blood & gore, as we see an array of decapitations, limbs pulled apart & blood splattered generously. The makeup for the witches & CGI effects were excellent to accompany everything as well. The story itself had quite a few interesting side's to it besides the main plot. Such as romance, friendship, fans, jealously & delving into the back story of Hansel & Gretel's origins.

The cast were all pretty much spot on with what they had to work with. Hansel played by Jeremy Renner (The Hurt Locker) was quite reserved overall, a been there done that type who is hard to excite & find's his work mundane. To the other extent was Gretel played by Brit Gemma Arterton (Prince of Persia) who donned a very believable Amercian accent, who loved her job, very energetic, limber & quick with the quips when putting down the baddies. The scene stealer however IMO was Famke Janssen (Taken) who deliciously played the menacing & devious Muriel, with a combination of over the top & serious acting that you could see she was relishing every moment of it, and as a result was mesmerizing to watch in her scenes. The support cast was made up of a variety of lesser known European players for the most part, with the exception of the well traveled Peter Stormare (Lockout) who seems to be in everything recently, giving another assured, strong authoritative role where he butt's head's with the lead duo.

In conclusion, Hansel & Gretel is a good piece of over the top fantasy action entertainment, that doesn't take itself too seriously so you shouldn't either. Literally races through it's 90 minute run time. Recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Although they've been watered down over the years, the fairy tales of the Brothers Grimm actually started out as quite dark and gruesome pieces of work. Hansel and Gretel, after all, involves two children turning the tables on a nasty old lady by burning her alive in her oven.

What happens next in the story may nowadays be considered suitable for kids. What happens next in this film version of it most definitely isn't.

Hansel and Gretel Witch Hunters starts with the familiar opening. Then fast forwards to years later and shows us the siblings all grown up. And getting their own back on witches by having become bounty hunters who specialise in dealing with them.

Both have a tough no nonsense attitude. A reputation that precedes them. Weaponry that doesn't quite fit the time period. And American accents.

But when hired to deal with a witch who has taken children from a small town, they find there's a bit more to this job than meets the eye...

Horror meets Steampunk [something set centuries back involving fantastical technology in the style of the time. Like something written by Jules Vern] in a twisted take on the original tale. This tries to mix genres and succeeds at doing that pretty well. Horror fans will not be disappointed with the downright nasty witches. And the gory moments. The period setting and the more modern pop culture parodies - such as the duo having an admirer and being the subject of newspaper reports - go together quite well. All the steampunk stuff is pretty inspired also.

The two leads are pretty good. Jeremy Renner's character does remain stoic throughout but he does a good job of making him a tough action hero. Gemma Arterton does a decent American accent, and gets some good character development also.

It's an odd film directing wise though, as it's rather choppily edited. And you do wonder if it's been assembled from a far longer cut. It does tend to jump between scenes somewhat abruptly, with characters getting from place to place quickly and with no explanation.

So whilst it doesn't quite work all the time, when it does, it's pretty good. At being what it sets out to be. A fun twisted horror romp. If that's the kind of thing you're looking for, then this will more than suffice. And provides some pretty decent escapism.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English, Dutch.

There are no trailers on the disc and it will go straight into the menu once you load it up.

The only extra is an eight minute long featurette which primarily looks at how the witches and some of the set pieces in the film were created. As with most featurettes on dvds these days, it's short but quite decent viewing.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Most people know the story of Hansel and Gretel and the witch. This film takes that and follows on with their lives as witch hunters.
The story....such as it is, revolves around them fighting a witch stronger than they have faced before and all the....shenanigans surrounding it.
This isn't a bad film at all. The story, such as it is, will not tax the smallest of minds or concentration spans as it flits along at a reasonably quick pace. The acting is as a film of this nature suggests and the high special effects budget looks quite good. Even the 3d isn't too bad.
Make no mistake though, this is most definitely only for people wanting a film to vegetate to and definitely has replay value as it really isn't anything memorable.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I enjoyed the film. Yes like most action films film these days there is not a great plot, the acting is ok anyone with half a brain can predict where the story is headed, but as an action story tail it works. This is not really a Grimm version of the fairy tail because the story I always thought was dark enough, this is more of a what happens next.

After being left in the wood by their father, Hansel and Gretel find a house made out of gingerbread and sweets. Caputred by the witch who lives there, she decided to fatten them up to make a bigger meal out of them. During the showdown with the witch the siblings discover magic does not work on them. Fueled by their trauma they make it their lifes mission to hunt down and kill all witches. Of course while the are doing this they might as well make some money at it so the work as bounty hunters. I have to say they do really earn their pay. Even though magic does not work on them the witches superhuman strength and agility do pose problems for the pair. They usually end up on the wrong side of a brutal beatdown. Their ace in the hole is technology. Whilst people are using wood fires and possible pistols as fire arms, H & G are using electric taisers, machine guns/crossbows, exploding bullets and grenades. It is best not to try to figure out how they are getting their hands no these and just watch the film.

I would have rated this film 3 1/2 stars, but I think it deserved a round up as it kept me entertained, mainly through a brutal fight scene.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
I bought and watched the 3D version of this film.

The story was good (we all know it) with some real humour in it and moved along quite nicely. A very enjoyable and amusing film with very good effects throughout and a nice twist on the original story.

The 3D effects were stunning, the best I have yet seen with any 3D film I own. I knew I was in for something special when, during the opening credits, a fire arrow appeared to shoot out of the screen and disappear over my left shoulder! And so it carried on with bits and pieces "flying" out of the screen at regular intervals. Very clever use of 3D imagery to what was already a very enjoyable film. Cannot but highly recommend.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
I really couldn't get into this one too much,as much as I tried,i just couldn't feel much for the whole thing.
It is basically Hansel and Gretel as grown ups and hunting witches,whilst trying to figure out the truth of why their parents left them years ago,causing them to wind up in that house with that witch.
The story interested me at first,but soon my mind was wandering,however the scenes of gore were entertaining enough and there's quite a few of them,certainly near the end. The main characters had me wishing for their personalities to come through a little more,which in my opinion they never did. The witches are sinister enough but left me thinking they looked like rejects from a cradle of filth auditon for extra members.
For me,this was a film with some great moments wasted on a slightly dull story. It's not a complete waste of time and I might watch it again in some years to come,but I won't be rushing out to buy it.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
Conceptually this film is really quite good, and it has pretty good production values. What the film really needed was the kind of chemistry Gemma Arterton had with Jake Gyllenhaal in Prince of Persia. I am not convinced with Jeremy Renner as a versatile actor - he was great in Hurt Locker, but overly serious and uncharismatic in most else he's starred in. The central pairing of Arterton and Renner really lacked chemistry, and as supposedly seasoned witch hunters they looked decidedly inept in most of the action sequences. I was expecting more of a Matrix dynamic - with brother and sister working in tandem - spring-boarding off each other etc. but most of the film they end up split up and fighting in isolation. There was so much promise here - and it could have been a far better film with some genuine chemistry and more interaction of the two leads, as well as more of an injection of humour - which made Avengers Assemble so enjoyable. This should be treated as a super-hero type film, but the heroes are a little too inept for seasoned professionals to really carry this off. As for the 3D this does not really add much - it's most evident actually in the title sequences, and not really up with Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter which is far superior in a similar category. An OK popcorn movie nonetheless ...
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.