Customer Reviews


387 Reviews
5 star:
 (212)
4 star:
 (99)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This fairy tale is not for kids
A very silly but very enjoyable fantasy horror film this sees Hansel and Gretel from the classic fairy tale now grown up many years after their childhood experience with a witch and are now famous witch hunters. Good fun if not taken seriously this is a tongue in cheek very gory and over the top film. Jeremy Renner and Gemma Arteton somehow play it completely straight as...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The definition of a junk food film
Most people know the story of Hansel and Gretel and the witch. This film takes that and follows on with their lives as witch hunters.
The story....such as it is, revolves around them fighting a witch stronger than they have faced before and all the....shenanigans surrounding it.
This isn't a bad film at all. The story, such as it is, will not tax the smallest of...
Published 24 months ago by Cabbages


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This fairy tale is not for kids, 27 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A very silly but very enjoyable fantasy horror film this sees Hansel and Gretel from the classic fairy tale now grown up many years after their childhood experience with a witch and are now famous witch hunters. Good fun if not taken seriously this is a tongue in cheek very gory and over the top film. Jeremy Renner and Gemma Arteton somehow play it completely straight as Hansel and Gretel while everybody else including Famke Jensson as a witch the pair are after and Peter Stormare as the sherriff of a small town ham it up completely. Make no mistake this is not a film for children or the squeemish this is very adult with blood, guts and beheadings galore as Hansel and Gretel hunt, kill, chop off heads and burn witches with impressive special effects and good action scenes and the ending seems to set up a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than average fantasy action., 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most of us know the story of Hansel & Gretel who escapes the clutches of an evil witch in her gingerbreadhouse by pushing her into the fire. But what happens next?

Apparently they become professional witch hunters and are celebrated as heroes throughout Europe, vanquishing covens all over. When being hired by the mayor of a small town to track down a witch responsible for the abduction of eleven of their children, they stumble upon an evil that may be too powerful even for them...

If you like easy-to-watch action I think you'll like it. To me it felt a bit like Sleepy Hollow and Brothers Grimm, and even A Knights Tale, with the mix of medieval setting and modern-like weapons. Add to this some martial arts fighting between the lead characters and the witches, a troll crushing heads and swinging branches as big as a small tree, you have Hansel & Gretel in a nutshell!

For those of you who likes gore you'll be satisfied without a doubt. Not the splatter-movie amount, thankfully, but enough to make a point. I particularily liked the use of "real" blood and guts and no CGI-blood which seems to have become a trend in many action movies of late. Also the makeup effects were stunning and instead of using computers all the time they used it only when necessary which gave the movie a more gritty feel, in a positive way.

Renner and Arterton both did a good job portraying the two hunters. Peter Stormare convinced as the overzealous and sadistic sheriff, kind of like his role in Brothers Grimm, only evil. Famke Janssen also delivers a solid performance.

The Blu-Ray release was really good and sharp with some grain, which I think was added for a more filmlike look. The Dolby TrueHD soundtrack worked good as well with a lot of use of the surround speakers and a clear dialogue from the center.

Recommended to all who likes to be entertained for an hour and a half with fast-paced, gory, medieval fantasy action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Origianal take on an old Classic - Can't wait for the sequel, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters - violent, gory, anachronistic, funny but with its tongue planted firmly in its cheek, and utilises what is probably the best use of 3D in a movie since Avatar! This certainly ain't no fairy tale.

The critics hated it, I loved it - they really must've suffered a sense of humour bypass when reviewing the movie.
What I really can't understand though, with the amount of gore and violence this movie contains, is how it got a 15 rating?
5 years ago it would've been given an 18 certificate, which the sequel so rightly deserves. Bring it on!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NEVER WALK INTO A HOUSE MADE OF CANDY, 22 April 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters [DVD] (DVD)
Of the three recent H&G films, this one is certainly the best. I enjoyed the film up until I understood what was happening, and at that point the film makers couldn't bring it home. The movie looked like it was shot on the same set of "Red Riding Hood." It had medieval gadgetry including a fully automatic spear tip thrower. I felt like this was a Riding Hood companion film, just not as good in spite of Gemma's cleavage.

As famous witch hunters, H&G have their own groupies.They are hired by the mayor because of a rash of child disappearances, which we quickly find out is for a special ceremony. The dialouge was so-so. I couldn't help think of a line from LOTR when Hansel says, "Evil is upon you if you like it or not." Indeed much of the script feels like it is borrowed and written for tweens. The witches in this film are very powerful. They travel through the woods at speeds which look like "Twilight" vampires. A film for teens.

Parental Guide: F-bombs (at least 2 by Gemma Arterton) No sex. Nudity (Pihla Viitala) 3 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The definition of a junk food film, 28 April 2013
Most people know the story of Hansel and Gretel and the witch. This film takes that and follows on with their lives as witch hunters.
The story....such as it is, revolves around them fighting a witch stronger than they have faced before and all the....shenanigans surrounding it.
This isn't a bad film at all. The story, such as it is, will not tax the smallest of minds or concentration spans as it flits along at a reasonably quick pace. The acting is as a film of this nature suggests and the high special effects budget looks quite good. Even the 3d isn't too bad.
Make no mistake though, this is most definitely only for people wanting a film to vegetate to and definitely has replay value as it really isn't anything memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GREAT GORE,BUT A BIT DULL., 14 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters [DVD] (DVD)
I really couldn't get into this one too much,as much as I tried,i just couldn't feel much for the whole thing.
It is basically Hansel and Gretel as grown ups and hunting witches,whilst trying to figure out the truth of why their parents left them years ago,causing them to wind up in that house with that witch.
The story interested me at first,but soon my mind was wandering,however the scenes of gore were entertaining enough and there's quite a few of them,certainly near the end. The main characters had me wishing for their personalities to come through a little more,which in my opinion they never did. The witches are sinister enough but left me thinking they looked like rejects from a cradle of filth auditon for extra members.
For me,this was a film with some great moments wasted on a slightly dull story. It's not a complete waste of time and I might watch it again in some years to come,but I won't be rushing out to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't take it too seriously, then it's ok., 30 Mar. 2015
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters [DVD] (DVD)
If you don't take this movie too seriously, you may enjoy it. As it's starting point, it has taken the traditional fairy tale about Hansel and Gretel, and then tried to explain what happened to the children once they managed to escape the witch's oven.

The short answer to that question is that they go on to become witch hunters. A local mayor of one town has employed their services, as children are disappearing. So, off they go to track down the missing children and kill the witches that have undoubtedly got them hostage somewhere. Along the way, there is obviously a lot of fighting, use of CGI special effects and quite a few terrible one-liners.

As an action horror/ fantasy film goes, HANSEL AND GRETEL is OK. It won't completely blow you off your feet but it isn't the worst film I've seen either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find witch, kill witch, make friends, kill more witches., 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is not intellectual dynamite. It is, however the type of film that is fun and entertaining to watch on a Saturday night and one that you'll watch again and again. The film making and acting really are flawless for this style of movie, with visual effects adding to the whole gloriously gory mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic 3D effetcs., 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought and watched the 3D version of this film.

The story was good (we all know it) with some real humour in it and moved along quite nicely. A very enjoyable and amusing film with very good effects throughout and a nice twist on the original story.

The 3D effects were stunning, the best I have yet seen with any 3D film I own. I knew I was in for something special when, during the opening credits, a fire arrow appeared to shoot out of the screen and disappear over my left shoulder! And so it carried on with bits and pieces "flying" out of the screen at regular intervals. Very clever use of 3D imagery to what was already a very enjoyable film. Cannot but highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Famke Janssen steals the show, 30 Jun. 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters [DVD] (DVD)
Based loosely on the Grimm fairy tales, the basis of the story of Hansel & Gretel opens with the original tale with the two innocent children played by Cedric Eich (Hansel) & Alea Sophia Boudodimos (Gretel) lost in the woods, coming across a house made of candy & they're contact with a witch, which get's rather heated. Surviving the encounter & learning about they're immunity to magic which put's it's own unique twist on things, we see them become adults & molded into a pair of legendary witch hunting bad asses, Hansel (Renner) & Gretel (Arterton). The main plot see's them come up against a powerful witch, Muriel (Janssen), who they must stop from finishing a ritual which will make all witches immune to fire.

Overall i have to say i came away entertained. The setting was perfect, with a very dark, Grimm, Gothic & eerie setting/backdrop that helped make the idea of witches & beasts in this reality, believable. The action side of things is a combination of Underworld/Blade/The Matrix/Solomon Kane & is ever present as the film jumps to set piece, to set piece with the odd bit of side story breaking thing's up & combining together towards the finale to bring some closure. Hansel & Gretel clad in sleek leather outfits believable to the era, while wielding an array of steampunk style weapons. Aren't shy about blood & gore, as we see an array of decapitations, limbs pulled apart & blood splattered generously. The makeup for the witches & CGI effects were excellent to accompany everything as well. The story itself had quite a few interesting side's to it besides the main plot. Such as romance, friendship, fans, jealously & delving into the back story of Hansel & Gretel's origins.

The cast were all pretty much spot on with what they had to work with. Hansel played by Jeremy Renner (The Hurt Locker) was quite reserved overall, a been there done that type who is hard to excite & find's his work mundane. To the other extent was Gretel played by Brit Gemma Arterton (Prince of Persia) who donned a very believable Amercian accent, who loved her job, very energetic, limber & quick with the quips when putting down the baddies. The scene stealer however IMO was Famke Janssen (Taken) who deliciously played the menacing & devious Muriel, with a combination of over the top & serious acting that you could see she was relishing every moment of it, and as a result was mesmerizing to watch in her scenes. The support cast was made up of a variety of lesser known European players for the most part, with the exception of the well traveled Peter Stormare (Lockout) who seems to be in everything recently, giving another assured, strong authoritative role where he butt's head's with the lead duo.

In conclusion, Hansel & Gretel is a good piece of over the top fantasy action entertainment, that doesn't take itself too seriously so you shouldn't either. Literally races through it's 90 minute run time. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters [DVD]
Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters [DVD] by Tommy Wirkola (DVD - 2013)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews