Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome action movie
Love this film; great special effects and fight scenes a bit of humour and buckets of ninjas!
I've been into G.I. Joe since I was a kid and it was called "Action Force" in the UK and the films really build on the nostalgia with a healthy dose of action movie goodness.
Definitely succeeds on its own terms though don't expect much in the way of deep...
Published 10 months ago by A. Robinson

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read before you buy - for your enjoyments sake!
If your reading this then you might just have made a lucky escape, why the drama you ask it's just this don't buy this version of the movie. In all honesty you need to get the Blue-ray extended addition, "Why?" because this version is a chopped up or chopped out hatchet job. I was lucky enough to see the Extended version first at my friends house not knowing that what it...
Published 11 months ago by Patrick Bodenham


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read before you buy - for your enjoyments sake!, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G.I. Joe: Retaliation [DVD] (DVD)
If your reading this then you might just have made a lucky escape, why the drama you ask it's just this don't buy this version of the movie. In all honesty you need to get the Blue-ray extended addition, "Why?" because this version is a chopped up or chopped out hatchet job. I was lucky enough to see the Extended version first at my friends house not knowing that what it was, when I bought this one I was like "WTF! Where's all the rest of the movie and the good bits!?!"

Trust me when I say it's well worth the few extra shekels. Directors cuts are usually always better.

This version is only worth 3 stars, the extended version gives it the full 5 stars in my opinion.
A shame they don't have a extended version on regular DvD but meh you can't have everything.

As for the movie itself, if you liked GI Joe as a kid you'll love this movie, if you love action movies then you'll love this, it takes the mistakes made by the first one and fixes them all very nicely.
I'm now looking forward to the next one, if they keep it in the same vein and style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome action movie, 6 Sep 2013
By 
A. Robinson (Telford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this film; great special effects and fight scenes a bit of humour and buckets of ninjas!
I've been into G.I. Joe since I was a kid and it was called "Action Force" in the UK and the films really build on the nostalgia with a healthy dose of action movie goodness.
Definitely succeeds on its own terms though don't expect much in the way of deep insight or character development; that said it's a quality cast who really commit to the film and is beautifully put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Movie, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. N. J. Woodall "NJW" (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pure escapism... we've waited so long for this to come out after the last move.
Loved it!
Now waiting for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again well worth the money
Amazon are doing what it does to keep it on top
it's the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first summer blockbuster of 2013!, 24 July 2013
By 
Howard Watson (Margate,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: G.I. Joe: Retaliation [DVD] (DVD)
This is a stunning,visual feast of wall to wall action.Vastly superior to the first film and highly engaging.
I saw this in 3D and it was easily one of the best 3D films I had seen.
If you like action movies with great set-pieces,then this is for you.Easily one of Dwayne Johnsons best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G.I. Joe: Retaliation [DVD] (DVD)
i got this yesterday and have just watched this one was fantastic it has finally gone back to being a proper movie unlike the first one which was awful but after seeing this one i was very impressed this is for anyone who enjoys action films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better In Extended Action Cut, 29 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WARNING REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

Positive.
1)Extended cut adds 17 minutes of unseen back into the movie & ups the ante in the action department which are a little more violent than it's theatrical cut.
2)Ray Park as Snake Eyes always good..
3)Dwayne Johnson ups the ante & firepower in this movie as Roadblock.

Negative.
1)Non returners Sienna Miller, Rachel Nichols,Joseph Gordon-Lovett,Christopher Eccleston, Dennis Quaid, Marlon Wayans, Why?
2)Channing Tatums extended cameo & apparent pointless death messes up the plot of the original somewhat.
3)Bruce Willis phoning in his performances again.

Blu Ray Info.
Running time 123 minutes approx, Deleted scenes,G.I.Joe declassified documentary.

Trivia.
1)Paramount stated that most of the new cast in this sequel is they wanted to do a mini reboot but not alienate fan's of the original, I say they didn't succed very well.
2)Rumours of Channing Tatums character demise maybe a decoy as it's rumoured he is returning in the third G.I.Joe movie.
3)Jon Chu has hinted he wants Channing Tatum in his Masters of the Universe reboot as He-Man Noooooooooooooooooooooooo!
4)Destro was writen out of the sequel as Christopher Eccleston refused to play the character again, No surprise there then, He never baths in the same water twice apparently.
5)Cobra Commander was not played by Joseph Gordon-Lovett this time around & is played by Luke Bracey.
6)Adrianne Palicki filmed a pilot for a potential Wonder Woman tv series as Diana Prince/Wonder Woman but it was never picked up as a series.

Review.
As sequels go it's not the best I've seen nor the worst & if i was reviewing this on it's theatrical cut it would get a 2*star rating.

But as this is the extended cut, Adding extra uncensored violence & more action i given it a extra star as the action is now more fluid,Harder in tone & less choppy than it's theatrical release.

Channing Tatum Duke character leads the Joe's on a mission with best mate Roadblock but he & most of the team of Joe's are killed in a surprise attack upon then.

The surviving Joe's are deemed by the President of the United State's as traitors but remember the real President was kidnapped in the first movie & this is a decoy acting as the President real name Zartan who works as Cobra.

The Cobra Commander is freed by Storm Shadow & Cobra Commander kills Destro for his failures in the previous movie & escapes.

The Remaining Joe's seek out the original General Joe Joseph Colton (Bruce Willis) whp aids the Joes in stopping Cobra from holding the United Nation's to randsom & stopping them from unleashing a full out Nuclear War upon the world.

While Storm Shadow learns that he wasn't his ninja master's killer after all it was Zartan, Knowing this Storm Shadow switches sides aiding the Joe's on there mission.

The finale sees the Joes taking on Cobra in a all no holds barred battle were unfortunately Cobra Commander gets away but many Cobra villians meet there demise with original Joe General Joseph shooting the fake president Zartan.

The end sees Joseph Colton return to the Joe's & all of the Joe's are awarded medals as the gun slaute fires in respect to there fallen comrades & there leader Duke.

This movie has some great moments of action & the extended cut is more violent especially the fights between Roadblock & Firefly.

Snake Eye's seemed underused in the theatrical version but gets invoved more in the action in the extended cut.

It's not all good though, Having Channing Tatums character Duke killed within 20 minutes is more annoying than shocking as the original movie set up event's that didn't pay off in this movie at all, Although Tatum is rumoured to be in the third movie.

Bruce Willis gives a lacklustre performance as General Joseph Colton, It seem Mr Willis is only after the pay cheque nowadays.

Dwayne Johnson is very good as Roadblock handling the action with ease & is the only worthy addition to the franchise.

All in all a slightly above average sequel to a very good original, If you buy this buy Blu Ray version for the superior Extended cut.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good escapism, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G.I. Joe: Retaliation [DVD] (DVD)
Not to be take too seriously, this sequel is easy watching adventure with good special effects - enjoyable escapist tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'ENTERTAINING WATCH', 27 Aug 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the 'G.I Joe' special unit are set-up by 'Zartan' posing as the President,
the discredited unit are slaughtered......however a handful survive the
attack.......the survivors have a score to settle.
'Cobra' want World-domination, only the surviving G.I. team with a little
help from their 'Martial-art' associates including 'Snake Eyes' and 'Storm
Shadow' have a chance of stopping the cleverly crafted plot.
'Dwayne Johnson' ( the Rock ) again showing his prowess as an action-hero
along with all-time favourite 'Bruce Willis' along for the ride.
with terrific fire-fights and impressive Martial-Art sequences on board
giving viewers a fast moving and electrifying action movie to enjoy.
the film is 'escapism' on a grand-scale.......so much better than the
first offering in my view..........thoroughly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOU LOVE MY PANTIES, 22 April 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a fun popcorn action film with loads of action, great banter, and a ridiculous plot. Fifteen minutes into the film the G.I. Joes are enemies of the world and the president is an imposter. The Joes must rekindle old alliances and friendships to save the world from the evil-doers.

The film incorporates advances in science, miniature drones, and nanotechnology to the extreme. Bruce Willis is added to the mix and James Carvel plays himself in a cameo. The most incredible scene is the mountain fighting which happens about midway. The film appears to be designed for an action game, one in which my character would die in the first 20 minutes. Worth a view on the big screen if all you crave is action.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Plenty of killing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

G.I. Joe: Retaliation [DVD]
G.I. Joe: Retaliation [DVD] by Jon M. Chu (DVD - 2013)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews