Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential?
There are a frankly ridiculous number of introductory compilations that look to tell the story of the strange world of the Northern Soul movement. Therefore, it is something of a difficulty for each one to differentiate itself from the rest of the pack.

This basically-presented 40 song set looks to do it by pairing a 55 minute DVD with its double CD. But the...
Published 21 months ago by S Bailey

versus
47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars read the sleeve notes !
I am always cautios of the "bestway label" products as they are very often a re-recorded shadow of the original tracks with little or no quality to them. I fell foul of a similar cd of northern stompers which did nothing for me as there was only 3 original tracks that had not been re-cut. This is how to give a bad name to northern soul to someone new to the music.
If...
Published on 14 Jan. 2005 by J. C. Lott


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars read the sleeve notes !, 14 Jan. 2005
By 
J. C. Lott "jerryL" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Northern Soul Mix (Audio CD)
I am always cautios of the "bestway label" products as they are very often a re-recorded shadow of the original tracks with little or no quality to them. I fell foul of a similar cd of northern stompers which did nothing for me as there was only 3 original tracks that had not been re-cut. This is how to give a bad name to northern soul to someone new to the music.
If you are considering this cd , dont bother there are far superior cd compilations to be had, and make sure that the tracks are NOT re-recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential?, 2 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Essentials (Audio CD)
There are a frankly ridiculous number of introductory compilations that look to tell the story of the strange world of the Northern Soul movement. Therefore, it is something of a difficulty for each one to differentiate itself from the rest of the pack.

This basically-presented 40 song set looks to do it by pairing a 55 minute DVD with its double CD. But the quality of the material chosen for that enterprise isn't of the highest standard. It begins with an underwhelming, low-budget 15 minute short film, 2003's Function At The Junction that tries to encapsulate a night out on the Northern Soul scene. The choreography and music far outshine the unrealistic narrative and setting, and forgettable acting here. That is followed by a relatively slow-paced 40-minute documentary called Way Of The Crowd, which looks to trace the growth and development of the northern soul scene through the format of talking heads. It has some interesting comments from DJs like Keb Darge and Russ Winstanley, and artists such as Bobby Hutton and Geno Washington, but it does veer dangerously close to hagiography at times, and doesn't feature much archival footage either.

Thankfully, Northern Soul is blessed with plenty of superlative soul sounds, including: Jamo Thomas's 'I Spy (For The FBI)'; Dobie Gray's 'Out On The Floor', and Betty Everett & Jerry Butler's 'Getting Mighty Crowded'. But such songs do tend to repeatedly feature on similarly-themed compilations. (Indeed, all selections here can be found on another Union Square Music release: the descriptively-titled 50 song Stompers, Floaters, and Floorshakers, a relatively enjoyable double CD from 2011). On only a couple of occasions in the 100 minutes of music - such as the duo Joe & Mack's obscure 'Don't You Worry' on CD2 - does quality control noticeably waiver.

Unfortunately, the budget-priced Northern Soul doesn't quite match up to its hubristic subtitle (The Essential Collection).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy for the DVD alone, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Essentials (Audio CD)
This was reviewed in the September/Octobers issue of Scootering mag...and I'm glad I took the time to read that review. A lot of tracks appear on other compilations, but there are some newbies (to me), but the DVD is worth the cost on its own. I've seen (got somewhere) the short clip "Function at the Junction" before, for me the interviews with the Wigan Casino regulars stand out. Buy it, go on, you know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Northern, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Essentials (Audio CD)
Excellent CD, brought back lot's of memories. Strange but you just want to get up & do a "Back Flip"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Priceless, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Essentials (Audio CD)
The music on the CD was (in my humble opinion) is very good for the money and brought back quite a few memories. The thing that drew me to this album is the photo on the front cover, imagine my surprise to find my picture on the cover of the album. It was taken at a Wigan Casino in 1975, so for me this album is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Soul CD for the wife, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Essentials (Audio CD)
My wife loves this CD - some new some old stuff on here. She says some of the tune on here are not known to her but thats a good thing in my book, broaden her Northern Soul horizons - me thinks. Keep the Faith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Essentials (Audio CD)
some good tracks but i would have liked to see the list first but great price for the tracks thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars northern soul cd, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Essentials (Audio CD)
what a great cd the choice of tracks were superb hav recommended this cd to many of my fellow soul mates
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obscure., 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul - The Essentials (Audio CD)
Lot of old and obscure stuff on this. One or two classic tunes and I am well pleased.

This is unmissable for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul (Audio CD)
This is truly horrible. The tracks are 80s remakes with all the horrid production values that you'd expect from the decade that taste forgot. What a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Northern Soul - The Essentials
Northern Soul - The Essentials by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews