Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb bit of kit
As a digital radio neophyte, i was pretty ignorant about what to look for. But this does everything I could possibly have wanted. It is intuitive and easy to use, and with an iPod dock, it is the perfect bedside alarm clock (though obviously not restricted to there!).
- There are only 10 preset station slots, but I can't imagine many people would ever need more than...
Published 21 months ago by Mark Meynell

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compact and stylish, but nothing special
This is a pretty decent DAB radiom, but its also very compact - far more so than the product photo would imply.

Cosmetically the Radio is very nice. The Size of the radio may make it handy for people who have limited space - making it ideal on a window sill or a bookcase, but its also vey well built and quite sturdy. It's already had a slight "fall" and it...
Published 20 months ago by D. Richards


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb bit of kit, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Mark Meynell "quaesitor" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Argon Digital Radio with iPod Dock - High Gloss (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a digital radio neophyte, i was pretty ignorant about what to look for. But this does everything I could possibly have wanted. It is intuitive and easy to use, and with an iPod dock, it is the perfect bedside alarm clock (though obviously not restricted to there!).
- There are only 10 preset station slots, but I can't imagine many people would ever need more than that.
- The sound and reception are clear, and volume levels ideal (most people won't need to be blasted first thing in the morning unless they sleep particularly deeply).
- The aesthetic is great - nice and shiny, black and glossy. The screen could have been a little larger and clearer, but that's only a quibble.
All in all, this is a superb bit of kit. HIGHLY recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compact and stylish, but nothing special, 24 April 2013
By 
D. Richards (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Argon Digital Radio with iPod Dock - High Gloss (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a pretty decent DAB radiom, but its also very compact - far more so than the product photo would imply.

Cosmetically the Radio is very nice. The Size of the radio may make it handy for people who have limited space - making it ideal on a window sill or a bookcase, but its also vey well built and quite sturdy. It's already had a slight "fall" and it still works perfectly. However, the outer casing has a "high gloss" effect which does make it prone to scratching. The display is bright and blue when its in use,, making it very clear to read the display, and the ipod dock is very accessable at the top of the unit.It can be docked with pretty much any ipod and iphone (including the 4s) It also has an extendable ariel at the rear to boot signal perfomance.

Performance wise, this radio is not really worth the price tag. The sound quality is ok - not great - and it comes from only one speaker at the front. While the DAB signal delivers clear broadcasts, the sound from the radio was "tinny" and lacked bass and "warmth" (for want of a better word!). The same was true for music played through the ipod. The volume on the system is good, but the accessibilty to the menu is very fiddly and it does not allow any "shortcuts" to saved stations or playlists.

As with most radios it comes with a timer, and can store 10 stations, but to access these stations is a bit of a pain as you need to "go in" to the main menu each time, and then access EACH preset station, which sort of negates the purpose of having presets to speed up tuning in!.

All in all this is an OK DAB radio with a "handy function" of an ipod dock - there are far better DAB radios on the market with far better sound quality than this product, especially for the price asked for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous radio and ipod dock, 29 Mar 2013
By 
A Raven "Raven" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Argon Digital Radio with iPod Dock - High Gloss (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a fabulous little radio and iPod dock. I am a compete beginner when it comes to digital radios but this one presses all the buttons for us novices. It came out of the box, was plugged in and switched on after which it did a rapid scan finding me 84 radio stations. In next to no time I was listening to the music of my choice.
The variety of radio stations found was very good, it included all the mainstream BBC stations, plus the digital Absolute stations which are named for the era they play (Absolute 80s, Absolute 90s)....being a child of the 80s and 90s I was able to listen and reminisce, for you younger folk it has the 00's too.
The sound is good in my opinion, I have an Aves Bluetooth speaker with which to compare....the sound quality for both items is very good considering the price. My parents have a BOSE docking station and they say they cannot tell the difference between the sound from that and the sound from this radio! I am aware that others have rated the sound negatively but I can only go by my own experience and it sounds pretty good to me.
Finally the look is good, a nice high gloss finish which means it blends in nicely wherever it is put....currently looking very good in my kitchen.
All in all a lovely radio and I would recommend it to anyone, especially a novice who wants a radio they can turn on and learn to use very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small Box, Big Sound, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Many Beans (York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Argon Digital Radio with iPod Dock - High Gloss (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First thoughts were:

- I don't like the rubber pad-style controls, because you have to use two hands to use then
- I especially don't like hard to press "up/down" buttons for volume - OK on a pocket radio, not good here
- So in all, the controls could be better

This has a similar menu and controls to the Aves (quite nifty) pocket radio, with a few changes to allow use with iPods and provide an Alarm function. But what works well on a pocket radio doesn't work so well on a portable. Controls are OK - they're not as bad as some of the worst Philips devices I've come across, but not wonderful. No equalizer, no bass / treble controls, not much extra beyong the core functions. So, this was going to be three stars... but:

I've just been comparing this to my Pure One radio. Whilst smaller, this is a bit deeper, and if you look at the back you'll find a bass port for the speaker. I tried turning up the volume, and was quite impressed! If you think of this as an external speaker for your iPod with a digital radio built in, it makes a lot of sense. I can only speak for myself - other reviewers have found the sound "tinny", and they might have better ears than mine - but to my ears, the sound is pretty good, and definitely warmer and deeper than the Pure Radio. I'm quite impressed. So - definitely an extra star if you'll use to listen to music. Five stars for anyone whose iPod includes AC/DC's "Back In Black" and plays it a lot. It matches the color, and sounds great played loud!

Not a bad bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for all of your radio listening needs., 26 Mar 2013
By 
Karen Baxter (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Argon Digital Radio with iPod Dock - High Gloss (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The 'Argon Digital Radio with iPod Dock' does everything you would expect it to do ... superbly!

The radio looks good (it is a sleek and glossy black design) and sits neatly on any shelf or bedside table. It is very easy to use the iPod/iPhone dock and works perfectly as such. The digital radio itself stores up to 20 preset stations which is enough for most people, scanning and tuning at a touch of a button, viewing the LCD screen which is backlit gives you the information you require regarding stations, tuning, alarms set etc. You will find an antenna at the back of the unit which you pull up to use and finally there is a headphone socket (which I have used to listed to Radio 4 Extra plays ect.)

The alarm system has a snooze button which is great for those extra 5 minutes as long as you remember not to 'keep' hitting the snooze multiple times (which I have a habit of doing)

Sound quality is very good indeed, not too basey or to trebley (if they are actually words?) also volume control is easy and reception is excellent giving you many digital radio stations to listen to.

So to sum up ... a quality radio for all of your radio listening needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bar has been raised, 28 Feb 2013
This review is from: Argon Digital Radio with iPod Dock - High Gloss (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a fantastic DAB digital radio.

It's black gloss piano finish means it looks really good, and very high-end quality (without the high end price). This is very important because so many DAB digital radios look old and overly retro.

It is so very easy to set up, plug it in, switch it on, and press the 'scan' button... It will find all the stations it can, and set its own time on its clock. That's all you need to do. Flick through the channels, hold 'preset' to set your favourite channels to the preset list, and your done.

You can also set sleep and wake up timers, so you can use it as an alarm clock! Brilliant.

The sounds quality is great, you can turn it up very loud without any degradation of sound. It is capable of receiving FM if need be, though I can't imagine why you'd need that.

There are a few little issues; it proudly advertises its compatibility with iPhone and iPod... It's important to mention that this is old generations, not the new Lightning dock for the iPhone 5. Further, the buttons on the front are not back-lit, thus it can be difficult to see the buttons at night, or if you've just woken up.

I fully recommend this, it really does set a hi standard for DAB radios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product for the price, 25 Mar 2013
By 
J.R.Hartley (NW England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Argon Digital Radio with iPod Dock - High Gloss (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really like this and found it very, very easy to use and the sound quality (for its size) is excellent. There's no rumble with bass and it doesn't sound tinny either. The glossy black finish looks great, until you touch it and leave a fingerprint, but I was less keen on the spongy runner buttons on the front as I sometimes had to press them twice to make sure I had pressed properly. It's a minor gripe, I know. The docking set up is for pre-iPhone5 interface so while it works with my ipod, it won't let me play music from my phone so it will have limited connectivity over time. Digital Radio signal was good and clear as you could wish for. Lovely product for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Benson (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Argon Digital Radio with iPod Dock - High Gloss (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I didn't know much about this make before purchase but essentially this radio replaced a PURE model in my kitchen. As far as digital radios go it seems pretty standard, working much the same as all digital radios. What sets this apart is the iPod dock. Essentially this has given me more music choice when I'm in the kitchen completing tasks. Often small models such as this lack on sound quality when it comes to volume. Not the case here though. It goes perfectly loud enough without losing sound quality. Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Kirsty at the Overflowing Library (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Argon Digital Radio with iPod Dock - High Gloss (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm not in the least bit techy so don't expect this review to be.

as a radio it is fab. You turn it on and it autotunes itself picking up all the stations it can find. Once it has found them it displays the name of the station along with the song the station is playing and the reception is perfect. No more crackly radio for me!

As an Ipod dock it is fab. We use my iPhone, an iPod Touch and one of the old iPod nanos (the one with the wheel to select tunes) in it and they all work brilliantly with the added bonus the device charges up on the dock too.

It even displays the correct date and time too.

very simple to use even for a non techy person like me. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great radio, but rather odd looking, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Ioannis Glinavos (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Argon Digital Radio with iPod Dock - High Gloss (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When I got this out of the box I was dissapointed. What they call bizzarely 'glossy piano finish', or something like that, looks like shiny cheap plastic. The buttons as well look rather cheap, and the whole thing is quite bulky. This certainly does not look or feel like a quality product, it is ludicrous to have its RRP at £120. On the other hand, once plugged in it works. The menus are ok and you can quickly find your prefered stations on FM and DAB. The audio quality (which is what matters) is very good. I do not have an Iphone so I cannot comment on the docking facility. I am happy with this and lets face it, even though the TV has DAB Radio, no-one listens to the radio from the TV. I would recommend this if the cost were up to £50, but for its current price you can get better products from known brands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews