Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simples!
Aves Aqua Bluetooth Portable Speaker
A great little speaker ideally for one room in your house!
Setting up was straight forward, once fully charged by mains will last 5-6 hour playback, also found USB charging useful. The Bluetooth connection was very simple and managed to play my playlist on my phone through speaker in a couple of minutes as the instructions...
Published 17 months ago by Nozza

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate but not exceptional
First of all, the basic build quality looks good and the unit comes with a soft carry pouch, mains charging unit and a USB cable that also can charge the unit. Battery life is okay, I managed to get about 6 hours with modest output.

Designed as a Bluetooth paired external speaker, the unit has adequate sound quality for the size and price point. Bluetooth...
Published 17 months ago by Cheshire Cat


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate but not exceptional, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Cheshire Cat (Warrington, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AVES Aqua Portable Bluetooth Speaker w/ Noise-reduction Mic Handsfree Phone Kit in Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First of all, the basic build quality looks good and the unit comes with a soft carry pouch, mains charging unit and a USB cable that also can charge the unit. Battery life is okay, I managed to get about 6 hours with modest output.

Designed as a Bluetooth paired external speaker, the unit has adequate sound quality for the size and price point. Bluetooth pairing was easy with an iPad 3, iPhone 4S and iPhone 5 running IoS6.

Controls can be a tad frustrating with either over or under sensitive touch control and I think a second generation model would benefit from a rethink and a more intuitive interface.

Overall,an adequate package but not outstanding and I would suggest careful review of all available products as any choice is a compromise in one way or another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simples!, 19 Mar 2013
This review is from: AVES Aqua Portable Bluetooth Speaker w/ Noise-reduction Mic Handsfree Phone Kit in Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Aves Aqua Bluetooth Portable Speaker
A great little speaker ideally for one room in your house!
Setting up was straight forward, once fully charged by mains will last 5-6 hour playback, also found USB charging useful. The Bluetooth connection was very simple and managed to play my playlist on my phone through speaker in a couple of minutes as the instructions are really clear.
The sound quality is pretty decent for a little speaker and having no wires attached allows the product to be extremely portable. Additionally you have the option of the aux-in so you can connect devices with a basic audio cable, useful for devices without Bluetooth.
The buttons on the front I found to be quite sensitive which can be a little irritating at times. All in all this is a great little gadget, great addition to our house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, once initially set up, 20 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: AVES Aqua Portable Bluetooth Speaker w/ Noise-reduction Mic Handsfree Phone Kit in Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This speaker takes a while to initially pair up with your device, but once it is set up it is easy to use every time, and perfect for day to day use.

The reason for the difficulty in pairing, I found, was that the buttons on the front are not not clearly defined- just a picture on the speaker that activates by touch. It is therefore tricky to set it up on first use, until you get used to it. Because the buttons are close together and it is not always to see them, since they are low down on the device, this can be a cause of difficulty and is something you have to become familiar with. It appears on my phone (Galaxy S3) as 'Aves Aqua', so was really easy to find on Bluetooth. Once it has been set up once it will also auto connect when both devices are turned on.

A good feature on it is the fact that if a phone call comes through, the music stops and the call will play through the speaker. An inbuilt microphone means you can also take calls on speakerphone through it.

The signal carries through walls easily, so it can be used near the shower, for example, whilst leaving your phone in another room, properly out of the way of the water and steam. It has a good range for a Bluetooth speaker- I have had no problems at all in this area.

The controls are also good, volume can be increased easily, and well, with good sound quality. It is also easy to stop the music if you want to.

If you don't have Bluetooth activated or available, you can connect the speaker via a cable. A charging cable is supplied with the device and this is easy to use. Once charged it has a fairly good battery life if you want to take it out on travels with you in the car or on day trips. It has an on and off switch on the back of the device too, to make sure no power is being wasted when you don't want to use it.

Overall, it has a nice range of features and does the job well. It takes a bit of patience at first, but once the set up process is finished it is easy from there on out, so worth the slight hassle if you want a nice small speaker that you can use on the go or around the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light & portable; ok sound, 7 Mar 2013
By 
maximus (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AVES Aqua Portable Bluetooth Speaker w/ Noise-reduction Mic Handsfree Phone Kit in Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A good value Bluetooth portable speaker, it has a good stereo sound, a bit light on the bass but that us as expected for the size and price, but the up side is that there is very little distortion. You have to put it up to max volume before it gets uncomfortable and tinny. The Bluetooth connection is fairly smooth and I took the iPad to the other end of the flat, and it was still connecting and music streaming nicely without gaps. So unlike most Bluetooth speakers, the range on this is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable sound but some quirky features, 4 Mar 2013
By 
L Williams "les-williams" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AVES Aqua Portable Bluetooth Speaker w/ Noise-reduction Mic Handsfree Phone Kit in Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 2:14 Mins

The glossy black unit is supplied with a mains charger, a USB charging cable, a carrying pouch and an instruction manual. It isn't supplied with an audio cable although it has an audio input at the rear.
There is an on-off switch on the rear and touch controls on the front, the touch controls are only for the Bluetooth function although the manual does not make this clear.
When using the audio input it is only necessary to switch on at the rear, the touch controls have no function and you cannot alter the volume other than with the input device.
The Bluetooth is switched on with the touch on-off control at the front and pairing was straightforward with the speaker appearing as an Aves Aqua headset. The touch controls for volume are now active. The on-off touch switch also functions as a pause and repeat song switch but it is tricky to operate without accidentally switching the Bluetooth off, it is also very easy to accidentally touch it when moving the speaker when it is lying flat.
When paired with a phone you can answer a call with the speaker by touching the phone symbol, this was tricky until I realised that the speaker could be stood upright and then the controls were on the top, much more logical; no mention of that in the manual. This function worked well. I've tried to show answering a call in the video, the ringing sound is my mobile, the speaker mutes the music and makes a soft beep noise for an incoming call.
Sound quality was reasonable, very little bass, but better than the laptop and phone I paired it with.
Battery life is specified as better than 6 hours, after 10 hours I still don't have the low battery LED on, although it probably depends on the volume setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nifty Little Speaker, 31 Mar 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AVES Aqua Portable Bluetooth Speaker w/ Noise-reduction Mic Handsfree Phone Kit in Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The speaker is exactly the size of a chip shop pie. It is on the border of portability; it won't fit in a some coat pockets but it will happily fit in a bag or rucksack. For a device the size of a pie, it's LOUD. No issues with volume. Sure, it's a little "boxy" sounding, but it seems to be powered by 2 x mini 1.5inch(ish) drivers which are angled outwards. This does / should give you a stereo image, so that's a plus point. I did not really notice any sort of stereo image, hence the "should". Generally sound quality doesn't disappoint if compared to similar sized devices.

The set up is quite easy. The instructions are sufficient, just about, to allow you to set up the system. Most of it is standard bluetooth protocol so if you have ever used a headset, headphones, etc, it's similar. However it does feel a bit awkward as you must:

1) turn the power on
2) turn the power on again using the touch sensitive buttons
3) set pair mode by holding the dial button for a few seconds
4) pair, which is done without a pin (usually)

The speaker works well with Android devices. Worked first time, every time. But it does seem to auto pair with the last android it was connected to. Of the two android phones, playback went from almost flawless, to flawless. On one device, an asus transformer TF201, playback DID seem to become choppy at edge of range, and oddly, music seemed to slow down and speed up. However on a galaxy note 2, none of this happened at all. I suspect therefore that this is a range/signal strength issue so would recommend keeping the device within a few metres, closer if you have problems. Surprisingly - lip sync was excellent, i.e. well within 0.5 seconds, both on PC/iplayer and pc/media player on android/iplayer and android/media players AND android/plex. I'm sure as you go out of range, this would lag and lip sync/video sync would suffer. So again, keep it close.

It was somewhat more fussy with Windows 8. Had to try a few times to get it working. However, windows 8 is generally a pain with bluetooth, so this should not put you off. It's mostly driver related. But, you should bear in mind if you plan to use with a windows 8 laptop.

Reliability seems good, no random disconnects, and can recover well from dropped data due to range issues. Other than the windows 8 issues, no other reliability issues experienced.

Battery life is Good, exactly as stated, estimated at around 6 hours. Charges quickly too, with a positive light indication (green solid) on being fully charged. These little things do make a difference. Comes with USB and Mains charger, which is another plus as many of these devices just come with USB, annoyingly.

Criticisms:
- an earphone socket would make this device a LOT more useful.
- the touch buttons are in the wrong place, whenever you pick the device up, you turn it off by accident, which can be a major pain.
- the on button should initiate pair mode, you shouldn't have to press and hold the touch on button too

Overall, a very useful, reliable portable speaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AVES Aqua Portable Bluetooth Speaker w/ Noise-reduction Mic Handsfree Phone Kit in Black (Electronics)
This is certainly an extremely portable device and absolutely perfect for holidays! You couldn't wish to find a more compact unit. First impressions are that this is a well made product and it charged up in approximately two hours. You are unable to run it from the mains and the supplied power cable is purely for charging the lithium battery which gives a reported six hours of use.

I have an iPhone and it 'found' the speaker unit immediately. Pairing was automatic and took around twenty seconds. I had worried that there might have been some 'issues' with the bluetooth pairing but I needn't have! All excellent so far so what does it sound like? Well I have to say it is far better than I expected. I hate bright treble and thankfully this unit has a nice mellow sound. Phew! What about bass? Well of course you cannot expect a device this small to provide subterranean bass and it doesn't. The bass is there though, adding a richness to the sound. It absolutely sounds miles better than playing directly through the iPhone speakers!

So to conclude my review, this is a cracking piece of kit. It is well built, the all important Bluetooth element of functionality performs perfectly and the sound is great! I especially like the small form factor, it really is a small speaker that can be placed almost anywhere with no wires or plugs to worry about. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying design, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Straightforward (Twickenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AVES Aqua Portable Bluetooth Speaker w/ Noise-reduction Mic Handsfree Phone Kit in Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are a few things about this speaker that I'm not so keen on:

1) The sound is loud, but cymbals sound 'splashy', and bass sounds strained.

2) I wasn't able to connect via bluetooth while the speaker charged

3) The touch-sensitive controls: I spent a lot of time wondering if I'd managed to turn it on or not, and I still haven't worked out how to take a phone call and use the integrated microphone.

I'm giving it 3 stars because, when all is said and done, it doesn't need any leads. That on its own has to be worth liking. Although this claims to be a British design, it looks and feels very much like yet another generic Chinese product: made on the cheap, sold with a huge profit margin.

Edit 14/03/13: I have various items with bluetooth functionality, and every one of them feels cheap. They either have to pay a huge licencing fee or they're just taking advantage of a relatively new piece of technology (which can't be expensive to produce) and whacking up the retail price while the demand for the latest thing is at a high. At the time of writing, these products are too expensive for the quality levels they are made at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I found pairing up very temperamental and frustrating., 4 Mar 2013
By 
Tellboy (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AVES Aqua Portable Bluetooth Speaker w/ Noise-reduction Mic Handsfree Phone Kit in Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I never seem to have an instant connection with any Bluetooth devices apart from one at the end of this review.
I think you need the skill of a bomb disposal officer combined with the patience of Job.
This Bluetooth Speaker proved more difficult than necessary due to the duplication of on/off switches, the sloping front where the touch buttons are situated and seeming to have to wet my fingers to get them to respond. it that why it is called Aqua ?
The instructions are not very well sequenced in the manual.
You need to switch on at the back, hold the touch power button at the front until it lights up the bluetooth LED and then fairly quickly touch but hold the front phone symbol button to get the blue and red flashing LED's then quickly switch on Bluetooth on the transmitting device my iPod which does list aves Aqua it but then needs tapping to start pairing.
Sometimes if I was quick enough it worked first time but more often than not needed repeating and cancelling on the iPod and then on occasions dropped out during use.
If the pairing up wasn't so tricky I would happily give it 5 stars as the quality of sound is fairly good.
The odd thing about is that I have a Aves Mercury music receiver and with that I just switch it on and it pairs up without going through any of the above routine. Just switch it on and that is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packs a punch, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AVES Aqua Portable Bluetooth Speaker w/ Noise-reduction Mic Handsfree Phone Kit in Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A very nice looking mini speaker. Comes with a USB lead for charging up via laptop, a 3 Pin mains to USB, for charging up via the wall socket. The plug is a nice addition to if you have other gear that charges via USB, like Kindle or PS Vita!
It also comes with a cloth carry pouch. What it doesn't come with is a 3.5 jack lead, which you will need if you don't have bluetooth on your device/laptop.
I wanted this for laptop/older iPod so I had to order a lead. They can be had for 1 on auction sites delivered so it's not the end of the world.
So, once I'm connected by jack lead for sound and USB for power how does it perform?
It packs a big wallop for a fit in your hand size speaker. There's no bells and whistles, no effects to add or bass to modify, it's just plug and play, but it does a great job of expanding the sound to fill a large sized living room.
So, if you just need to add sound for a presentation or small exercise class this could be a very attractive light weight small sized solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews