Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silence is Golden...
If you subscribe to your phone provider's caller ID service, then you more than likely wish to choose whether or not to answer your phone, dependant upon who it is that is calling you.
And if you are reading this review, chances are your phone keeps ringing from uninvited callers when you have no intention of answering.

So the question you probably want...
Published 9 months ago by Stvtech

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars May as well direct all calls to answer phone
There is a huge delay in calling your phone with the call blocker attached and you phone actually ringing - my landline only rings about 4 times then goes to answer phone.
Attach it then call you number from a mobile, listen to the mobile it indicates that your landline is ring for about 20 seconds - but your landline is in fact not ringing.
By the time a call...
Published 4 months ago by stephen lowery


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silence is Golden..., 15 Mar 2014
By 
Stvtech (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro Call for blocking nuisance phone calls (Electronics)
If you subscribe to your phone provider's caller ID service, then you more than likely wish to choose whether or not to answer your phone, dependant upon who it is that is calling you.
And if you are reading this review, chances are your phone keeps ringing from uninvited callers when you have no intention of answering.

So the question you probably want answered is, "Does this contraption stop the darn phone from ringing persistently until that unwanted caller gives up and hangs up ?"

The answer, quite simply, is yes. (as long as you do subscribe to a caller ID service, that is).

This box of tricks is a generic chinese unit, that is available with a number of different 'brands' stamped on it.
Mine was 'Pro-call' branded, but the unit is also available with other names printed on it, such as T-Blox or Call saint. It does not require batteries, and is not to be confused with units of identical appearance that are available dirt cheap on a certain auction site which simply do caller ID and will not block calls.

The unit sits between your phone line and telephone, but if your telephone does not have an RJ11 style plug (a small transparent plastic plug with two contacts) for the line cord to plug into, then you're out of luck and will be unable to connect it. As a general rule, if you can unplug the cord that goes to your wall socket from the phone itself as well as the wall, you'll be OK.

It works by reading the Caller ID information, comparing it to a list of numbers held within it's blacklist memory, and if the number is blacklisted it simply answers the call and immediately hangs up again, without ever ringing your phone. The caller ID info is still passed to your phone however, so if you are using a cordless DECT phone for example, you'll know there has been a call without having to check the unit.
No clall blocker actually stops callers from calling you, they just stop your phone from ringing, and the caller will hear ringing tone at their end until the unit has answered and hung up.

You can block numbers by pressing the Blacklist button as they are displayed as an incoming call, or you can review a list of received calls and block them in the same way.

Blocking area codes is a bit more complicated, and requires you to press a few buttons on both your telephone, and the unit, but you can block say all numbers beginning 0845 which will still let 0800 numbers through, or all numbers beginning with 08 which will block everything starting 08.
You cannot add exceptions however, so if your bank calls you on an 0845 number for example, it wouldn't be a good idea to block all 08 numbers.
Blocking outgoing numbers is also possible, and you can for example block all '07' (mobile numbers) from being dialled which might be very useful.

The unit can also block all withheld and 'out of Area' calls if programmed to do so, but this is a single function that blocks all calls without a calling number, so will block withelds as well as as possible friends calling from abroad.

All in all, a great little unit, which does the job I bought it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I particularly like the call log on the screen which other stoppers ..., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro Call for blocking nuisance phone calls (Electronics)
Purchased for my elderly mother who was getting calls. Instructions could be clearer but i managed to fit and stop those calls. Early days but it has stopped over 6 calls in 2 days! I particularly like the call log on the screen which other stoppers dont have. My mother also has a 'care call' system fittted and this unit has not upset that nor has that interfered with the unit. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, little, & inexpensive option to block those nuisance or unwanted calls!, 1 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. Clive Norman (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro Call for blocking nuisance phone calls (Electronics)
Although it was a little challenging to set up to use with an wireless phone (the instructions create for a none wireless I believe) I am exceptional pleased that it does the job it was intended perfectly! I like the Caller Identity display and was I had set it up it's just a matter of running through the calls received and pressing the blacklist button until "saved" appears on the screen to block any number you wish to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nuisance calls blocked, 5 Feb 2014
This review is from: Pro Call for blocking nuisance phone calls (Electronics)
This call blocker is very easy to use and a good price. It has stopped all the nuisance calls. My life is very peaceful now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to set up. Does what it says., 26 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro Call for blocking nuisance phone calls (Electronics)
The only reason for limiting this to 4 stars is that when I received the unit (before the estimated delivery date) I tried to connect it to our main 'phone point but couldn't get it to work - it seemed to be getting no power. I was trying to connect it to the phone attached to our BT Infinity connection, so I rang them and checked and they said that such units would not work connected that way. Fortunately, we have another 'phone point so I attached the unit to that and it works well. It was easy to set up and is easy to monitor and modify. Just what we were after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pro call - a low cost solution, 21 Jun 2014
By 
C. D. Knapp (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro Call for blocking nuisance phone calls (Electronics)
I have been getting a lot of PPI calls and this unit has stopped them all. Easy(ish) to configure, I chose to block witheld number calls, calls that started with 08 and a small list of national numbers and it works perfectly. All I hear now is a single ring on one phone in the house and the blocked calls are blocked. The DECT phones I have do not even ring. Normal calls ring as normal and you have the option with a single button push to block any call that does get through to you (in my case if not witheld or staring with 08) - recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bees Knees, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro Call for blocking nuisance phone calls (Electronics)
Absolutely brilliant. I was getting 20 - 30 nuisance calls a day. I was getting headaches.
And for a few quid outlay they have stopped completely.
It definitely works with BT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars May as well direct all calls to answer phone, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro Call for blocking nuisance phone calls (Electronics)
There is a huge delay in calling your phone with the call blocker attached and you phone actually ringing - my landline only rings about 4 times then goes to answer phone.
Attach it then call you number from a mobile, listen to the mobile it indicates that your landline is ring for about 20 seconds - but your landline is in fact not ringing.
By the time a call singing is ringin on your landline you have about 10 seconds to answer it - before it goes to answer phone.
This means 90% of you unblocked calls will all go to answer phone unless you are quick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars NOT ASSOCIATED WITH CALL GUARDIAN HOMECARE SOFTWARE, 4 Dec 2014
This review is from: Pro Call for blocking nuisance phone calls (Electronics)
This product and any derivatives of are in no way associated with a software product called Call Guardian which is specialist computer software for the care industry. Some vendors of these or similar devices are supplying contact details of Call Guardian software for support queries/ refunds for these devices when they fail.

We are getting people ring us who are not happy with the device but we are unable to help them.

Please be advised that some of these products and the companies which supply them are un-regulated and highly suspect.

Amanda Lince/ Mark Lince Directors of Amman Partners Ltd makers of Call Guardian Software for the care industry [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the best thing ive bought all those annoying calls are now ..., 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro Call for blocking nuisance phone calls (Electronics)
this is the best thing ive bought all those annoying calls are now blocked every one should buy one and put them callers out of a job .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews