Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monster M*A*S*H book 1
With war raging between the old gods and the new gods humanity is caught in the crossfire and if you are chosen to join one of the armies then there is no escaping. Dr Petra Robichaud was recruited by the new gods to serve as a medic and it is her job to patch up the soldiers and get them back to the front lines as quickly as possible. When Commander Galen of Delphi ends...
Published on 8 Oct. 2012 by Sarah (Feeling Fictional)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars an original series
an origional idea, the author has stayed away from all the typical supernatural storylines and has come up with an excellent premis for a series. The heroine is half human half fae, and as such can see the dead, a talent which if known would get her killed. Conscripted (for life) she works as a doctor in a frontline M.A.S.H. unit patching up greek gods wounded fighting...
Published on 2 Mar. 2013 by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monster M*A*S*H book 1, 8 Oct. 2012
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
With war raging between the old gods and the new gods humanity is caught in the crossfire and if you are chosen to join one of the armies then there is no escaping. Dr Petra Robichaud was recruited by the new gods to serve as a medic and it is her job to patch up the soldiers and get them back to the front lines as quickly as possible. When Commander Galen of Delphi ends up nearly dying on her operating table Petra risks all to save him. Galen survives but he is convinced that Petra is the subject of an ancient prophecy and that she could bring peace and end the war the gods have been raging for hundreds of years. Is Petra brave enough to risk her life again for the chance of peace? As Galen wins her heart and heads back to the front lines can she afford not to?

I have heard great things about Angie Fox's Demon Slayer series and have had the first book on my wish list for ages so when I was offered a review copy of the first book in her new series I jumped at the chance of reading Immortally Yours. Anyone who has ever seen an episode of the old TV series M*A*S*H will recognise the kind of setting for the story - a mobile military hospital where the doctors are working out of tents and without access to all the latest technology. You'll also recognise the kind of humour between the staff, the way they are constantly trying to play pranks on the base commander and each other. Throw in a plethora of different paranormal creatures, each with their own quirks and you're in for a hilarious read. This is the kind of book that you pick up and start reading and can't help but wonder why nobody has come up with the idea before. Luckily Angie Fox now has and we get to enjoy the results!

Petra is a great main character, as a human she is physically weaker than those around her and the idea of being the person mentioned in the prophecy terrifies her. The last thing she needs is the weight of the world upon her shoulders, especially when she has a secret that if revealed will mean an instant death sentence. I loved the way Galen was so determined to get her to admit her ability - almost as determined as she was to hide it. The way she tried everything in her power to avoid him in spite of the attraction between them and the way things kept conspiring to throw them together was hilarious. Galen was very much an alpha who wanted to take control of every situation but Petra didn't make it easy for him and I really enjoyed the will they / won't they chase before anything happened between them. It was also great to see the relationships between Petra and her other co-workers but particularly her room mates, werewolf Rodger and vampire Marius. Conversations between the three of them never failed to make me laugh out loud.

Although Immortally Yours is set in a supernatural battlefield with the doctors constantly battling to save the lives of seriously injured soldiers the tone of the story is actually quite light hearted. The humour in the story is more than enough to lighten the tone and barely a page went by without me chuckling to myself as I read. I had already heard that Angie Fox writes great feel good and amusing paranormal romances and that has certainly been proved correct with this book. I can't wait to pick up the next book in the series but this has also made me even more keen to check out her previous stories.Whether you're a fan of the M*A*S*H TV series or not if you're looking for a paranormal romance that will make you laugh out loud then this is well worth reading. If you want to get a feel for the story check out the Paranormal News Network website (pnn - network dot com) created by the author based on the news program the camp watch to find out the latest news about the prophecy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars an original series, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an origional idea, the author has stayed away from all the typical supernatural storylines and has come up with an excellent premis for a series. The heroine is half human half fae, and as such can see the dead, a talent which if known would get her killed. Conscripted (for life) she works as a doctor in a frontline M.A.S.H. unit patching up greek gods wounded fighting in the war between the young gods and the old gods. She shares her billet with a werewolf and a vampire,and spends her days working in the O.R. and sleeping till one day while working on a greek demi god fatally injured she reveals to him her talent. From then on he will not leave her alone convinced she is the one prophecised by the oracles who will somehow bring peace. The book is very funny in places, and well worth a read, i can't wait for the next book in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 13 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortally Yours (Monster MASH Series, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This has a little of everything,action,suspense humour and romance! A cast of great characters will keep you reading. I have to say I've really enjoyed reading this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it!, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortally Yours (Monster MASH Series, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I got this one as a free download. I liked the story and the characters were good - if you liked other series by this author, you'll like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i enjoyed this book, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortally Yours (Monster MASH Series, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book,it was reasonably priced and was so well written,the storyline kept me interested from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lots of fun, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortally Yours (Monster MASH Series, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved this book. It felt well researched, while still being an enjoyable fast-paced read. Action, sizzling sex, a bit of mythology, and a fitting HEA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars potentially very good but a little frustrating, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Zoe "Talyn" (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortally Yours (Monster MASH Series, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm not sure this book succeeds in making me laugh (as others have said) although the end with the sea creatures was amusing. I think it tried too hard to be funny...in terms of a war with death..and then there is news coverage on the tv that trivializes it all somewhat. Talking about the prophecies it's supposed to ramp up tension so you read in suspense to hear the next prophecy but the news footage ruins it for me and almost makes it ridiculous. I can understand the pranks in camp as people are trying to get through an impossible time...but the news footage sends it of on a silly note for me.
There is also an awful lot of Petra's thoughts and some of which would have been better in dialogue said to Gelan, so much is left unsaid between her and Galen such as how vulnerable she made herself in the end...coming so far and allowing him in. With so little substance to the dialogue I found the relationship a little shallow and was not as attached to the characters as in other books.
It's a shame as I thought the story had great potential but didn't quite make the bar..the plot was also a little flimsy on the whole but it did keep me reading til the end though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected And Appealing, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortally Yours (Monster MASH Series, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Not my usual kind of read, I'm a Vampire Girl through and through, but this first book of Angie Cox's Series is something totally different to anything I've read before. I had no expectations, and thought it highly unlikely I would read past the first chapter, but how wrong was I? Immortally Yours had me hooked. Great characters and lots of unexpected twists and turns.
If you fancy reading something different and outside of your normal genre then give Immortally Yours a read. I'll be getting the next in the series for sure.
4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An okay read once it got going., 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortally Yours (Monster MASH Series, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book difficult in the beginning and almost abandoned it. I am glad I didn't however as once you get over the peculiar blend of mythical & modern and get to grips with what is going on you find the world created is a fun one, albeit set against the backdrop of warring gods. The main character is feisty and has a core group of friends I liked and the male lead is heroic and handsome as together they work to fulfill a prophecies to bring about the end of the war!! Fairly run of the mill stuff served in a novel and amusing way!! Don't see myself reading any more of the series but would encourage anyone to try while it is free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not sure, 25 Feb. 2014
By 
loumar (Perth scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortally Yours (Monster MASH Series, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
i really cant decide on this one it was ok but something was missing for me but would try the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews