Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond & Top Gear...does the world get any better?! No
As an avid Top Gear fan, it takes little to convince me to watch the usual programme. Throw in a collaboration with the Bond franchise and there is little that could get in the way of me and this programme.

Thankfully the actual programme really does not disappoint, personally I am glad that they got Richard Hammond to be the presenter, Clarkson would have just...
Published 14 months ago by DJG123

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but could be better
This DVD is not as good as other Top Gear once.

It contains some good informations about the cars but the Interviews with the Stars are to short and the over all DVD is not as funny as other stuff from the TopGear Team (for instance the DUEL DVD from Clarkson).
Published 12 months ago by Taurec


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond & Top Gear...does the world get any better?! No, 19 Feb 2013
This review is from: Top Gear - 50 Years of Bond Cars [DVD] (DVD)
As an avid Top Gear fan, it takes little to convince me to watch the usual programme. Throw in a collaboration with the Bond franchise and there is little that could get in the way of me and this programme.

Thankfully the actual programme really does not disappoint, personally I am glad that they got Richard Hammond to be the presenter, Clarkson would have just ruined it trying to be the star! The Hamster gives a real fans account of the car's, people (ex-Bonds, stunt actors etc...), you can really tell he grew up as a Bond fan.

Personally I have so many good memories of growing up with Bond, the programme helped remind me of the behind the scenes action which is really interesting.

Simply the best and most iconic Top Gear episode of all time, a must watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The name's Hammond. Richard Hammond., 18 Mar 2013
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear - 50 Years of Bond Cars [DVD] (DVD)
During Top Gear's lengthy absence throughout the majority of 2012, the lads focused their efforts on the amazing spectacle of Top Gear Live and other projects. Jeremy & James went off to Whitby to produce the DVD-exclusive "The Worst Car in the History of the World", whereas Richard got the GOLDEN assignment.

Broadcast back in October, 50 Years of Bond Cars was an excellent special, certainly one of the best Top Gear have ever done. With the Bond franchise having recently celebrated its fiftieth anniversary, Top Gear saw fit to honour the James Bond phenomenon through the one aspect BOTH entertainment-forums have in common/excel at.

CARS.

It's most pleasing that this special was released on DVD. 50 Years of Bond Cars MERITS a home-video release, because of how unusually mature it is for Top Gear. The producers have truly set about making a programme to express their genuine love & appreciation for Bond, packing in a great amount of history and insight into the wonderful spectrum of 007 (specifically its cars). However, true to Top Gear, the crew have poured in enough trademark fun, antics and dedication into this special to appease the usual fans.

This programme immediately gets off to the right start because of the presenting. Understandably, Jezza and Captain Slow couldn't be part of the proceedings here, but even if they had, all three of the lads being on hand would've been overkill for this particular format. By himself, Hammond presents the whole documentary/handles the interviews with great professionalism, warmth & enthusiasm. He narrates a fantastic account of the Bond girls, gadgets, cars, stunts, most memorable film moments with great relish. There's even a behind-the-scenes look at the most recent Bond-outing Skyfall (MASTERPIECE!) to sink your teeth into.

There're some major guest appearances on hand, such as veteran Bond Director Guy Hamilton (Goldfinger, Diamonds are Forever, Live and Let Die & The Man with the Golden Gun), former 007 Sir Roger Moore, Ola Rapace (Skyfall baddie Patrice), former Stig Ben Collins, legendary Bond producer/screenwriter Michael G. Wilson and the current 007 himself, Daniel Craig. All involved really add to the spectacle of this documentary, making it a truly enlightening piece, particularly when Richard has sit-down chats with Hamilton, Moore, Wilson & Craig.

As for the premise of looking at the most major CARS/sequences in Bond history, this Top Gear special definitely does get a great look in at things. Such as the legendary Aston Martin DB5, the BMW sequence from Tomorrow Never Dies, the car duel from Die Another Day, the hilarious Citroen 2CV chase from For Your Eyes Only, the Bus chase from Live & Let Die and of course, the UNFORGETTABLE moment from The Spy Who Loved Me, where the Lotus Espirit converted into that awesome submarine. The insight into how the whole sequence was shot - with models and modified Lotuses - makes this the highlight of the whole show, along with when Hamster actually converts a Lotus into a proper-working submarine! WATCH OUT for this amazing challenge!

As was the case when it was first broadcast, Top Gear: 50 Years of Bond Cars remains essential viewing for both fans of Top Gear AND James Bond. The ONLY area where this DVD is let down is the ZERO inclusion of special features. You would've thought that there'd be additional interviews or deleted scenes to make this home release even more special. Alas, it's a missed opportunity.

Still, this remains another great Top Gear DVD to fit on your shelf. It trumps Apocalypse, At the Movies, the APPALLING India Special, and even the very good "The Worst Car in the History of the World". Like the Challenge and Great Adventures DVD, 50 Years of Bond Cars is worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !!AMAZING!! !!AMAZING!! !!AMAZING!!, 11 Feb 2013
This review is from: Top Gear - 50 Years of Bond Cars [DVD] (DVD)
I totally agree with John M. this is amazing if you are a big bond fan and a big top gear fan like me then this is the DVD for you. 100% 10stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsome!, 8 Feb 2013
This review is from: Top Gear - 50 Years of Bond Cars [DVD] (DVD)
Top Gear 50 years of bond cars is amazing!I'm glad only richard is presenting it because he is my favourite top gear presenter and its more peaceful than all three top gear presenters aguing all the time!The 50 years of bond cars starts right from the beggining bond car(Sunbeam Alpine) right to the final car(aston martin dbs).The programme has all the info on bond cars you can possibly want!Overall I love Top Gear 50 years of bond cars.I strongly recommend you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gear Treat, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - 50 Years of Bond Cars [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this primarily for my young son who loves cars, but this is a 'must see' for any Bond fan and petrolhead. The DVD looks at the story of how all the different cars ended up being included in the Bond films, from Dr No to present day, and how the now famous Aston Martin DB5 nearly didn't get included! Mixed in with anecdotes and interviews with Roger Moore, Daniel Craig, Guy Hamilton (who directed several of the Bond films) and even the Stig, if you love your gadgets and car chases you will love this. There is even an interview with the Stig on set and a look at some of the stunts from the latest Bond film 'Skyfall'. The final treat is Top Gear's 50 birthday present to the Bond people by way of a very special car they have made, but I won't spoil the suprise. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a dvd, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - 50 Years of Bond Cars [DVD] (DVD)
of historical motoring interest and the author is to be commended on recognising the need to put together a record of some amazing ideas and spectacular episodes behind scenes of the Bond films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - 50 Years of Bond Cars [DVD] (DVD)
It's for lovers of James bond and cars, on time, you will want to watch it over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present for Son, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - 50 Years of Bond Cars [DVD] (DVD)
My Son loves all things Top Gear, He thoroughly enjoyed this dvd as he does all Top Gear dvd's. Good Value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have 4 All Bond Fans!, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - 50 Years of Bond Cars [DVD] (DVD)
Love This Top Gear: James Bond Special!

Defintely A Must Have 4 All Thos Really BIG James Bond Fans Out There.

If U Love The Bond Films?

Then U Will Defintely Love This Dvd! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My grandson loved this, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - 50 Years of Bond Cars [DVD] (DVD)
BRILLIANT, grandson loved the fact it was Bond/Top Gear theme.
Excellent viewing, I'm a popular Grandma now. I Also enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa80ebd74)

This product

Top Gear - 50 Years of Bond Cars [DVD]
Top Gear - 50 Years of Bond Cars [DVD] by Phil Churchward (DVD - 2013)
7.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews