Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE MASTER OF SUSPENSE
This film centers on the life of Alfred Hitchcock (Anthony Hopkins) and his wife Alma (Helen Mirren) during the production of "Psycho." In many ways it was more about her than him. The couple turned in Oscar worthy performances. The film showed us how Hitchcock immersed himself into the production, balancing his professional and personal life.

The film was...
Published 19 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock: The Alma Reville Story
The opening scene of Hitchcock is smart, wicked and dryly funny. It promises something which most of what follows doesn't deliver. Hitchcock, alas, isn't an intriguing biopic or sharp black comedy, both of which it could have been, but a light romantic drama. Why? I don't know. Maybe the producers wanted it to be more marketable. The tagline gives the film's ambitions...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 14 5 69 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie to watch at home, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting story, the history of Hitchcock's life and times was revealing and entertaining. The acting was first class. I had expected him to be a much more unlike able person and had never heard of his wife. Fascinating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 21 May 2013
I love Hitchcock films and loved this film about hitchcock's friends during the making of psycho. Anthony Hopkins was totally believable and I loved the love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
I love Hitchcock and Hopkins, so this was a winner every time for me. It was great to see how he struggled to get his best film ever (Psycho) into production. It left me wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and revealing!, 21 Nov 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
'Hitchcock' is the inside story of how the film 'Psycho' came about, as well as focusing heavily on the relationship between the famed director Alfred Hitchcock and his wife Alma. Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren are outstanding in their roles as the couple, particularly Hopkins, whose manages to capture the voice and mannerisms of the complex Hitchcock very well.

The film is very telling, particularly when it looks at Hitchcock's fascination with the young leading actresses who he wants to catapult to stardom. Real Hitchcock buffs will find this movie a real must-see. As for the casual admirer like myself, I still found it fascinating and revealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brillant but then it is so good that I am only writing this review because I have so many words to put in. Why use 20when 1 will do! Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'That, my dear, is why they call me the Master of Suspense', 2 April 2013
By 
M. Gates "Buddy Gorgeous" (Area 51) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed! I cant honestly say I am knowledgeable about Hitchcock appart from his films and obsessions with his female cast but I really enjoyed every minute. The acting was great, Anthony Hopkins had everything from his mannerisms to the way he talks perfected. The story and its directing were interesting and left me satisfied. It has its minor problems and critics. But what doesnt? watch it and make your own decision. I found it a very interesting and entertaining film about a man who was as creepy as his films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes well..., 24 Jan 2013
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
It's clearly entertaining - although the normally wonderful Anthony Hopkins is not as good as Toby Jones in The Girl (he has neither the pace nor intonation of Hitchcock and his accent changes dramatically between scenes!). However more significantly, the film is very light on fact. The assertions it makes about the filming of Psycho, and particularly Alma (Hitch's wife portrayed by a far too glamourous Helen Mirren) and her fascination/potential affair with Evan Hunter are totally unsubstantiated. Evan Hunter was a close friend of the family and certainly not the character we see in the film. Similarly the patronising portrayal of Anthony Perkins and several of the other characters just doesn't ring true at all. Ironically - unpleasant though it is - the storyline of of The Girl was "substantiated' by information from both Tippi Hedren and Donald Spoto in his book about Hitchcock - whereas this film seems to be very thin speculation indeed. That said, it certainly is enjoyable enough - provides the occasional laugh - and is well produced with lots of period detail. However it never really delivers in a way one would hope when you are dealing with such fascinating subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
This review is from: Hitchcock (Blu-ray)
Sensational movie with great acting and characters from a top cast. A movie made with passion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren never let ..., 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film, Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren never let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
A great film and a peek into the real life of Hitchcock.Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 69 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitchcock [DVD]
Hitchcock [DVD] by Sacha Gervasi (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews