Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very watchable with excellent acting
Excellent casting of Anthony Hopkins & Helen Mirren. We enjoyed the TV documentary more which detailed more into his personal life and how his obsession was with his lead ladies, however this didn't detract our enjoyment of this version, it was different and well worth watching.
Published 3 months ago by Paul Mizen

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock: The Alma Reville Story
The opening scene of Hitchcock is smart, wicked and dryly funny. It promises something which most of what follows doesn't deliver. Hitchcock, alas, isn't an intriguing biopic or sharp black comedy, both of which it could have been, but a light romantic drama. Why? I don't know. Maybe the producers wanted it to be more marketable. The tagline gives the film's ambitions...
Published 9 months ago by Jack Heslop


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Insightful, 28 Dec 2013
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed "Hitchcock", a film about the making of the horror classic "Psycho". Anthony Hopkins simply is Alfred Hitchcock and there is a great on screen chemistry between him and his co star Helen Mirren, who plays his wife Alma. Scarlett Johansson also plays a significant part in the movie as Janet Leigh, the leading lady in "Psycho"."Hitchcock" tells the tale of the making of "Psycho", highlighting the fact that Hitchcock had to fund the film himself as his film studio partners, Paramount had serious qualms about it's content and were sceptical about its likely success at the box office. The director had to mortgage his house to make the film.However a lot of the movie deals with Hitchcock's marriage and his suspicions of there being an affair between Alma and an ambitious , younger writer. "Hitchcock" is an enjoyable light drama and it gives interesting insights into both the personal life of the "Master of Suspense" ,as well as his working life and his relationships with actors , censors and film studio chiefs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blindin hitchcock, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
Thought this film was superb really enjoyed it even though i thought it was,nt my sort of film but boy was i wrong ,,A love story between influential filmmaker Alfred Hitchcock and wife Alma Reville during the filming of Psycho and they play it blinding ,quality film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I Sir anthony does it again, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
A great portrayal of Hitchcock by Anthony Hopkins but when ever does he let us down? a great film will also be purchasing the girl. great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film (even if we do know the ending), 15 Nov 2013
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
I don't think I'd be spoiling this film for many people if I let it slip that Alfred Hitchcock's horror film `Psycho' WAS a success. However, that is basically the premise of this telling of the seminal director's life story, surrounding the making of Psycho, i.e. will it, or won't it be a hit?

But, don't let your own knowledge of cinema history stand in the way of what is an excellent piece of (borderline romantic?) drama. But then what did you expect from two of today's heavyweight actors: Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren. The film details their - slightly - complicated relationship and the relationship between Alfred `Hitch' Hitchcock and his various leading ladies.

Like I say, don't dwell too much on what you know is going to happen - just enjoy some excellent performances. The two leads are just the icing on the cake, as the film is pretty `star-studded' from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It looks like a lot of people didn't like 'Hitchcock', but I can't understand why, it's a fabulous hommage to the master, with the atmosphere from the fifties and the structure of a Hitchcock film, wonderfully acted, a very smart script, and a pervasive feeling of wonder and sheer fun. Watch without prejudice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 19 Sep 2013
By 
K. S. O'sullivan "bookworm" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
Another DVD brought as present. I've watch it and enjoyed so did the person I brought it for has watched it four days in row
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable film., 8 Sep 2013
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this film with my husband who wasent really keen, but he was won over by the great performance of Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren. I think when you have grown up knowing the "real" Hitchcock you expect to be disappointed but was totally won over by Hopkins performance and Helen Mirren was very good in a role which was different from her usual films. A very enjoyable film and would recommend it if you want a film without all the blood and gore of modern films,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and very well acted by all, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got a good insight into the making of a film and the polishing of a career. Interesting, fun and good drama. Couldn't ask for much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We enjoyed the film. An interesting insight into the man's life. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in Hitchcock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hitchcock review, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this movie.the sound and picture quality on this dvd were excellent and the special features were good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafea8fc0)

This product

Hitchcock [DVD]
Hitchcock [DVD] by Sacha Gervasi (DVD - 2013)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews