Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really tasteful, professional piece of work
I can't say I'm a huge Boz Scaggs fan but over the years he has released the odd subdued soul/blues track that has really knocked me out. This new album contains mainly covers and was recorded at Willie Mitchell's old Royal Studio in (you guessed it) Memphis and contains one Al Green cover "So Good To Be Here", as well as Tony Joe White's "Rainy Night In Georgia" in a...
Published 16 months ago by G. E. Harrison

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Latest From Mr Scaggs
Some interesting covers on this album. The best stuff is his own penned music. 2 tracks. Worth buying just for these.
Published 12 months ago by BoldiLocks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really tasteful, professional piece of work, 7 Mar 2013
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Memphis (Audio CD)
I can't say I'm a huge Boz Scaggs fan but over the years he has released the odd subdued soul/blues track that has really knocked me out. This new album contains mainly covers and was recorded at Willie Mitchell's old Royal Studio in (you guessed it) Memphis and contains one Al Green cover "So Good To Be Here", as well as Tony Joe White's "Rainy Night In Georgia" in a similar Brook Benton-style. The Moments' "Love On A Two Way Street" and Tyrone Davis' "Can I Change My Mind," are more smooth, sweet soul that isn't really to my taste and Steely Dan's "Pearl of the Quarter" is also delivered in the same style, with a nice Spooner Oldham piano break.

More to my liking are two songs associated Willy DeVille, the bluesy rock of "Cadillac Walk" and the updated doo-wop of "Mixed Up, Shook Up Girl". Boz also covers the old folk blues "Corina, Corina" - there is no radical rearrangement here, it is delivered completely straight and is absolutely beautiful. "Dry Spell" is more blues, featuring Keb' Mo's slide resonator guitar and a nice Charlie Musselwhite harmonica solo, there's more blues on a very restrained reading of Jimmy Reed's "You Got Me Cryin'" with more harp from Charlie and some really nice lead guitar.

Producer and drummer Steve Jordan gets a great sound on this album which pays tribute to the legacy of Willie Mitchell and while there was a bit too much smooth soul for me personally I have to admit that this is a really tasteful, professional piece of work by a classy artist and the superlative musicians he has assembled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album...Boz at his best...., 4 Mar 2013
By 
A. Smith "Alyn Smith" (Salisbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memphis (Audio CD)
Memphis arrived today and after 3 listens straight through - I'm loving it.... It is a wonderful album covering so much territory from hard edged blues to the smooth Boz ballads and plenty in between... first tracks that have really struck me have been the opening track Gone Baby Gone which kicks along a soul groove and is quite irresistible, Corinna Corinna is heartbreaking, Can I Change My Mind is just deliciously smooth with a wonderful spoken piece half way through, Cadillac Walk and Dry Spell are on that edge of blues and rockabilly, really tough sounding.
The whole balance is marvellous. So much better than the last couple of 'standards' albums Boz made which are nice, but low key and fairly uninspiring - certainly in comparison to Memphis which I can't stop playing now...there is so much to enjoy.
I will show my ignorance by declaring that the only track I knew before was Rainy Night In Georgia and I'm not at all familiar with the background and origins of the sound Boz is re-creating here but that's the great thing about looking into the inspiration for the album and I'm sure I will be finding a whole lot of new music to explore.
This album deserves a huge amount of recognition as a potential classic, (and to raise Boz's profile again over here in the UK) I really hope it gets it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Boz - as always, 15 Mar 2013
This review is from: Memphis (Audio CD)
Followed this guy for years and own pretty much everything he has recorded. Boz has experimented with different styles over the years but it's all been quality. He always choses great songs which he interprets so tastefully . Great musicianship and class production. After the shock of Joe Cocker's recent stuff - so good to see this old timer has stuck to the music. Boz'z voice is same as ever - that lovely delicate high register stuff - tell me who else can cover Al Greene. Just buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy Walk, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Glenn "Omaha" (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Memphis (Audio CD)
Where Clapton's latest album 'Old Sock' is a 67 year old's slothful walk to the corner store in his underwear, Boz Scagg's latest 'Memphis' is a 68 year old's cool saunter to a late-night club in a smooth suited elegance. Much of this laid-back and groovy funk plays homage to Al Green, and is therefore delightful. Elsewhere it's homage to slick production and a joy in the reinterpretation of well and/or lesser known songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boz, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memphis (Audio CD)
Boz Scaggs is a timeless artist this record is like all his others effortless style ,feel, jazzy bluesy, definitely a musicians musician
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boz plays the blues, 14 May 2013
By 
Simon Uglow "suglow" (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Memphis (Audio CD)
Boz Scaggs is probably best known in the UK for songs from his Silk Degrees era - Lido Shuffle for one - and then appeared to disappear off the UK music scene. He's been quietly beavering away and his latest offering is Memphis, and shows how this artist's voice has still got wonderful depth, the ability to sing big ballads such as Rainy Night in Georgia, and the album closer, Sunny Gone. He's always had a husky edge to his voice, and it is used beautifully on the last song.
But the stand out tracks for me were the two penultimate songs - Dry Spell and You Got Me Crying. Dry Spell features the blues harmonica of Charlie Musselwhite, and the slide guitar talents of Keb Mo, and is just a superbly worked blues number. You Got Me Crying is a slow burning blues track, superbly well sung with the band slipping effortlessly into a groove that is so difficult to produce but sounds so easy.
Boz's voice sounds superb all the way through this album, and I really hope he will come and tour, as I would love to hear some of this stuff being played live. Super stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boz back on form, 27 April 2013
This review is from: Memphis (Audio CD)
Box Scaggs can hardly be described as prolific, so any new offering is eagerly awaited by his fans. This ticks all of the boxes - soulful, slick,professional and high standards of musicianship. If I was to be highly critical; it's time that artists like Boz and Michael McDonald stopped being musical dilettantes and got their heads down to produce new albums if totally new material. Something of which they are eminently capable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Memphis blues sound, 9 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memphis (Audio CD)
I'm a big Boz Scaggs fan, and have to say that for me this album is one of his best. There's a wonderful dirty Memphis blues sound to it, and his admittedly unusual voice is very well suited to this style. I'm not going to review each track - if you are a fan you will love them all. If you have never tried Boz Scaggs before, this is a very, very good place to start. If you love blues, this is a great blues record. I can hear all the old 50s and 60s influences in this, and he does them proud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Soulful Boz, 7 Nov 2013
By 
TonyTee (Abingdon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memphis (Audio CD)
I f you are a Boz fan, this album although not a classic, is a must have for any fan. In the mould of Al Green, but with the Boz stamp all over it. As usual a great mix of soul, blues even old folk tunes such as Corinna Corinna.
I play this album a lot. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guitar Work, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memphis (Audio CD)
Bought as a gift for a serious amateur blues guitar player. He told me he played the entire CD three times in succession to listen to the instrumental work. A wide variety of song genres. Excellent lyrics, Wonderful riffs. Classic Boz Skaggs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Memphis
Memphis by Boz Scaggs (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews