Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHO ARE YOU?, 27 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: People Like Us [DVD] (DVD)
There are moments in our life, decisions we must make that define who we are. Sam (Chris Pine) must face a myriad of these in a short period of time. Sam works as a corporate barterer who has gotten himself into legal and financial problems. When his father dies, Sam leaves with his wife/girlfriend? (Olivia Wilde) to reluctantly attend his dad's funeral. His mother (Michelle Pfeiffer) is cold and distant.

Sam's father was a record producer who had a daughter, Frankie (Elizabeth Banks) from another relationship. Sam finds this out from the attorney. He is instructed to give Frankie and her son (Joseph Wise) $150,000 dad had designated for them. Faced with financial problems of his own, and not knowing how to go about this, Sam is reluctant to hand over the money, but manages to work his way into their hectic lives. The bulk of the movie is consumed by us waiting for the moment of truth when Frankie finds out Sam is her half-brother.

The formula is cliche. Chris Pine was less than stellar, but the supporting cast was great. The heart warming ending is predictable. If you simply like a feel good movie with light drama and humor...and who doesn't, count this one in and don't forget the Puffs.

Parental Guide: 1 f-bomb, minor sex scene, no nudity. Minor sex talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Movie, 7 Mar 2013
This review is from: People Like Us [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst at first the main characters of this film might seem somewhat unlikeable as you watch the movie and learn about them and their past you get a real understanding of why they are who they are. I found the movie very touching and enjoyed watching the characters who are flawed individuals but who grow as the film progresses and whom you find are actually good people who have been scarred by life. It's not blockbuster material with a huge in your face storyline but its a lovely movie about people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good all round movie, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us [DVD] (DVD)
True to life great acting and good story line . the young boy was brilliant. Bought it for my parents they also really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent film, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us [DVD] (DVD)
This film is probably one people generally haven't heard too much about - but it is really is one to watch. Its portrayal of what can happen when someone dies and secrets are revealed (which, believe me happens - having lived this - the same thing actually happened to my father as happened in this film) is accurate and the emotions shown are superbly acted. Chris Pine is an actor who shows he can act - the complex feelings of dealing with loss and the disappointment in his deceased father, and then the discovery of a second family his father had, and the discovery his mother knew, whilst dealing with his own problems, is alot to show on screen, but Chris Pine pulls it off. Elizabeth Banks as the "sister" is also excellent as is the young man who plays the "nephew". Its a journey of discovery - of self, and others who you thought you knew - and of those who come into your life in the most bizarre, and sometimes, most distresssing way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. C. Saliba "cas "Film Buff"" (Surrey "England") - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us [DVD] (DVD)
this is a wounderful film with a stella cast who bring it to life , and based on a true story if you need a little faith in humanity
watch this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Love it, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film. So pleased I was able to purchase from Amazon. The DVD is in excellant condition even though it was delivered a day late, sometime these things cannot be avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great video, 5 Nov 2013
This review is from: People Like Us [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great film, very moving. Chris Pine gives a fantastic performance in this very emotional film. A must see film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us [DVD] (DVD)
Really great movie, the story of a guy who loses his estranged father and discovers he has a half-sister and a nephew. Chris Pine is flawless in this role, as is Elizabeth Banks. Definitely a movie to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun engaging movie with a lot of heart, 10 Sep 2013
By 
E. Muhlhause (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't expect to enjoy this as much as I did. It's a family story where you keep discovering different aspects of the relationships and you find out that no situation is black and white, everyone is just doing their best with the hand they are dealt.

Engaging performances all round, though the young nephew stands out as wonderfully bratty and quirky. Chris Pine has never disappointed me with a performance and continues to impress. Michelle Pfeiffer is excellent as always. Elizabeth Banks is likeable as a recovering alcoholic mother of a challenging child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: People Like Us [DVD] (DVD)
good story line - interesting combination of drama and mild suspense - brilliant performances by the actors and the perfect cast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

People Like Us [DVD]
People Like Us [DVD] by Alex Kurtzman (DVD - 2013)
5.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews