Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stuff Of Dreams
What a lovely idea and what a lovely voice too. Jackie Oates' last
album 'Saturnine' was one of the treasures of 2011 (do, do listen
to it if you haven't already). Her new recording 'Lullabies', as its
name implies, is a collection of songs designed to help babes on their
journeys to the land of Nod and what an absolutely magical venture
it is...
Published 15 months ago by The Wolf

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars hardly lullabies
I do like this singers voice but this is not a lullaby album, its an album of folk songs, Misleading...
Published 12 months ago by cassie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stuff Of Dreams, 20 Mar 2013
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lullabies (Audio CD)
What a lovely idea and what a lovely voice too. Jackie Oates' last
album 'Saturnine' was one of the treasures of 2011 (do, do listen
to it if you haven't already). Her new recording 'Lullabies', as its
name implies, is a collection of songs designed to help babes on their
journeys to the land of Nod and what an absolutely magical venture
it is. Forget any comments elsewhere such as "niche"; such is Ms Oates'
mastery of her chosen theme and the delightful selection of songs that
our attention is not allowed to flag for a single moment. This is, indeed,
the stuff that the deepest richest dreams are made of.

There are fifteen numbers in the set and it's almost impossible to guide
you towards the best because each one truly is as good as every other.

The sublime song 'Waiting For The Lark', with its warm piano and string
arrangement, paints a sublime picture of the countryside in the early hours
when all is still and a farmer's working day is about to begin while his
child still sleeps; the crisp guitar and fiddle accompaniment to 'The Posy
Rhyme' frames a gloriously simple vocal performance and the curiously surreal
and unsettling story of 'Alexander Beetle/Farewell Nell' brings just a
smidgen of darkness to the predominantly tranquil and moonlit proceedings.

Ms Oates has given the listening world one of the greatest gifts of the year.

Every home, with a little one at its heart or not, should have one!

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No need for trepidation, 27 Mar 2013
By 
M. W. Hall "just_martin" (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lullabies (Audio CD)
I have to admit that I was a little nervous when I loaded this disk. I've followed Jackie almost since she started and am a great fan of her previous work. I just thought that a set of lullabies would be a step too far. I was wrong. Yes, these are lullabies, but not necessarily treated as such (after all, what lucky children get serenaded to sleep with violins, clever guitar work or any of a number of instruments). And the term 'lullaby' or 'sleep song' is treated somewhat loosely: 'Alexander Beetle' was originally a poem by AA Milne, 'Junk' by Paul McCartney she admits is 'not exactly a lullaby' and 'Sleepers Awake' is, as its title implies, anything but. These are not criticisms, the choice of songs makes this a much more interesting collection, I think.

As for the presentation of the material. Jackie Oates is in fine voice and the accompaniments are sparing, but beautifully played. If you like her earlier stuff, then you should be listening to this as well. If this is your first introduction, then go and get the other ones immediately, your ears will thank you for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delicate and moving, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullabies (Audio CD)
I only received this a couple of days ago and have played it now five tims,...well where do I start .......well its beautifully arranged, sparcely at times. and the singing is very delicate and very moving .....I love it ,and if you like Jackie Oates I am sure you you will too..............from me a five star rating........Steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close to the heart, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullabies (Audio CD)
Just can't let this one go by without a comment. The magic of English folk music is still alive. I was enjoying the wonderful music right enough, but once or twice the tears fell like buckets, but happily. I will let you decide which ones might do that to you! This one stays close to the heart, and is timely too, as it is like waking up on a Spring morning, and realising that the world is born again. My daughter, 8, is off looking for Alexander.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullabies (Audio CD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 5 Nov 2013
This review is from: Lullabies (MP3 Download)
I thought this could be an exercise in sentimentalism but it's not. A Beautiful record almost as good as the violet hour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Lullabies, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullabies (MP3 Download)
Sweet, haunting and so beautiful. What a wonderful collection of songs by Jackie. She is fantastic live as well. Go see her if you get the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Folk Classic with a twist, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullabies (Audio CD)
Jackie Oates has produced an album of the sweetest sounds. Her vocal style is ideal for these - in the main - forgotten stories in song. Recommended for anybody who wants to adventure away from the usual formulaic folk song setup of hero's and villain's. Buy this album - it'll make your dreams soulful and you soul enriched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good acoustic folk album., 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullabies (Audio CD)
II have enjoyed listening to this relatively new album (March 2013). It is a folk production but without being over-folksy. There are some particularly good tracks namely Dream Angus, the Worthy Wood Carol and LIttle Fishes but there are no poor tracks and the album flows very well. There are some tracks recorded or half recorded in Reykjavik which work well and include somee local instruments which give the album an eccentric feel. The CD was given to me by my eldest sister and I have recently brought my little sister into the fold by giving it to her. Very satisfied with the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good album, pretty about the packaging., 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullabies (Audio CD)
I thought the concept of the album was good before I purchased it and so far I have enjoyed playing it. My one reserve is the packaging is dull on recycled material, which easily tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lullabies
Lullabies by Jackie Oates (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews