Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Blu Ray Player
I wanted to buy this, as i have a blu ray box set that is region locked. Installed the software that came with it and worked fine. The cyberlink power dvd 10 player is a nice player that plays blu ray and dvds. I googleed region free software for the player and now i can set the region of the player as many times as i want. Its great for those looking for a easy region...
Published 11 months ago by J. R. Tripathy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage compatibility with BD-R. Firmware updates non-existent.
Bought this so I could archive data onto 25G BD-R disks. Doesn't recognise them at all and these are proper, branded TDK single layer BD-Rs i.e. about as bog standard as you could possibly get.

Samsung has only released one firmware update since the drive was first released; supposedly to fix media compatibility but it hasn't.

Don't buy this rubbish...
Published 2 months ago by Mark M


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Blu Ray Player, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External 3D Blu Ray - White (Personal Computers)
I wanted to buy this, as i have a blu ray box set that is region locked. Installed the software that came with it and worked fine. The cyberlink power dvd 10 player is a nice player that plays blu ray and dvds. I googleed region free software for the player and now i can set the region of the player as many times as i want. Its great for those looking for a easy region free player :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked perfectly out of the box on both Mac and Windows for me, 3 May 2014
By 
N. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External 3D Blu Ray - White (Personal Computers)
Have used this for watching and ripping backups of BluRay and DVD discs, as well as to install Windows on a Mac, and it worked perfectly. It is slightly noisy when copying large amounts of data, as some reviewers noted, but it's certainly not enough to distract from watching a movie unless you put the drive right by your earhole. The noise might be annoying to a sleeping partner if you're using it to watch movies in bed or something though. The light didn't seem too bright to me, although another reviewer found it irritating. I have a WD hard drive that is far brighter and extremely annoying, so I suppose it's all relative.

The white version is cheaper, and while I thought it would look tacky, it's surprisingly nice looking and solidly made, even if it is only plastic. It's also lighter than some drives with metal cases, so would be easy to carry around. I would recommend this machine highly to anyone, and Mac users should be happy to know that it works fine with free BluRay player software you can find online. Far better value than Apple's Superdrives too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External 3D Blu Ray - White (Personal Computers)
Does everything I ask it to! If only everything in life was this good! Used with iMac (10.6.8).
No hesitation recommending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 18 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Sh Watson "DnB DJ" (Surrey & Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External 3D Blu Ray - White (Personal Computers)
I bought this for use with a Mac OS - looked at various options of different prices, quality was worried about software etc. but if you own a mac all you do is plug it in and off you go - There's two bits of free software Mac Blu Ray Player and Make MKV which are perfect for all uses of the samsung!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality product, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External 3D Blu Ray - White (Personal Computers)
Slightly larger than I expected. Works perfectly. Need third party software to watch 3D bluray discs. I wish I had gone for the black one instead of white although it looks quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage compatibility with BD-R. Firmware updates non-existent., 14 Sep 2014
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External 3D Blu Ray - White (Personal Computers)
Bought this so I could archive data onto 25G BD-R disks. Doesn't recognise them at all and these are proper, branded TDK single layer BD-Rs i.e. about as bog standard as you could possibly get.

Samsung has only released one firmware update since the drive was first released; supposedly to fix media compatibility but it hasn't.

Don't buy this rubbish - get a drive that works and more importantly that has proper support. Won't be buying Samsung anything again......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does What It Says, 5 July 2014
By 
D. Griffiths (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External 3D Blu Ray - White (Personal Computers)
Neat little unitd does everything you expect.
My only moan is that for ripping purposes it is liminted to 2X speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I could have hoped for., 12 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External 3D Blu Ray - White (Personal Computers)
Reads and writes everything, no issues with writing BD-R discs thus far. Very slim, very quiet and only needs single USB2 port. Very good value for money too. Perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivered fast and does what it said on the box, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External 3D Blu Ray - White (Personal Computers)
Delivered fast and does what it said on the box. Great price, bought this to playback Blueray disks on a Macmini and it works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Plugged and played on my laptop. No issues at ..., 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External 3D Blu Ray - White (Personal Computers)
Plugged and played on my laptop. No issues at all. It comes with cyberlink software. I didn't think I would need it as I already had a copy, but it turns out my copy wasn't registred for Blue-Ray so it was very handy to have. Been using it for a few months now and no issues. It works as I would expect it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews