Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Unbounded" series book 1
Erin's family never expected her to survive the horrific injuries she sustained in a car crash; however Erin isn't human. Spirited away from the hospital to recover from her burns and regenerate her amputated arm, Erin begins to learn more about her change into an "Unbounded". Now expected to age roughly 2 years in every century, plus developing supernatural powers,...
Published 6 months ago by Book Addict

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea
3 - 3.5 Stars in my Sky!

The overall concept for The Change is really clever and I appreciated the different approach to immortality but wasn't totally 100% convinced and won over by the characters.

MC Erin goes through the change (no not THAT sort of change) into a sort-of-immortal. Think vampires crossed with The Tomorrow People and you get the...
Published 6 months ago by Zili Robins


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Change (Unbounded Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
3 - 3.5 Stars in my Sky!

The overall concept for The Change is really clever and I appreciated the different approach to immortality but wasn't totally 100% convinced and won over by the characters.

MC Erin goes through the change (no not THAT sort of change) into a sort-of-immortal. Think vampires crossed with The Tomorrow People and you get the Unbounded. Erin is suddenly thrust into this strange and dangerous world where everybody seems to have an agenda and are apparently allergic to the truth. After the initial change, the pacing in the first portion of the story is a little slow and I kept waiting for Erin (who by the way is an adult and not a teen) to get on with things. I didn't blame her though because it's the secondary characters who I found hard to engage with.

As much as he's a pain and I wasn't always convinced of him as the hero (or anti-hero depending on how you look at it) Ritter did grow on me and I did (mostly) like his hot-guy, alpha style moodiness.

One particularly interesting idea was that of the immortality v's the problem of genetics. Would you risk having children who more than likely wouldn't get the Unbounded gene and then have to watch them die? Throw in the idea that due to your super reproductive system (contraception doesn't work) you can't have causal encounters without the risk of babies! Sex = long term commitment!

Although I had some issues with certain characters and the pacing early on, I did enjoy the story and the MANY twists. The story got better as it went along as Branton seemed to find her stride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Unbounded" series book 1, 10 Nov. 2014
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Change (Unbounded Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Erin's family never expected her to survive the horrific injuries she sustained in a car crash; however Erin isn't human. Spirited away from the hospital to recover from her burns and regenerate her amputated arm, Erin begins to learn more about her change into an "Unbounded". Now expected to age roughly 2 years in every century, plus developing supernatural powers, Erin is indoctrinated into her new world by other Unbounded known as Renegades. They, and opposing faction The Emporium, know far more about Erin than she does herself, and both appear to ruthlessly use what they can to ensure her co-operation and obedience.

The plot twists and turns as Erin not only uncovers more about her own history, but also questions the motivations of those around her. The complexities of the story line, coupled with a large cast, add up to an addicting read that leaves Erin and the reader wondering who can be trusted. I'm pleased to learn that there are another 3 books available in this series and I've added all of them to my to be read pile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly different!, 15 July 2013
By 
zoe (Newark, Nottinghamshire, U.K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Change (Unbounded Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a surprise! Clever, intricate and engaging. The story requires some concentration, but it is really well worth it. The characters are very varied, and I quickly grew attached to them, especially Ritter. I loved how the plot played out, it wasn't obvious or predictable. overall, just a great idea, and really cleverly written. I cant wait to read the next in the series. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved this book, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Change (Unbounded Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I love the book so much so I paid for the next book in the series, looking forward to seeing how her relationship develops. Would highly recommend for a wet Sunday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Change (Unbounded Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this read as it was quite different from usual and it did not become to unrealistic with a very good base to story. On second book now. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and original idea, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Change (Unbounded Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the book and finished it quickly. The idea that the unbounded were where the vampire myth began was a new and interesting. There was plenty of action and suspense and a little (tiny) bit of a romantic interest that will probably be expanded in further books. All in all an excellent read. I look forward to the rest in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The book started well and showed great promise. However, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Change (Unbounded Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The book started well and showed great promise. However, by the middle I was finding it hard to stay interested and see what happened. Even with all the surprise revelations (they got quite tiresome) I just felt the book leapt from action scene to action scene without any substance to it, despite a good premise. The largest problem for me was any lack of connection I had with the main character. Without ruining the story several of her family suffer serious injury and this largely doesn't seem to bother her that much. In fact I found many of the characters a little cliche - the dark mysterious muscle man; the dominating, cruel patriarch; the fat, loveable uncle type. Enjoyable but I probably won't read any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Feb. 2014
By 
Fren (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Change (Unbounded Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Plenty of action, drama, mystery, violence - you name it. A new idea and a great story, a welcome change from vampires and werewolves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The basic "us good, them bad" draws the lines but there are ..., 31 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Change (Unbounded Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting start to a series. The slightly - OK, vastly - different take on immortality that emphasised the problems that super-longevity can have when living amongst ordinaryily life-spanned mortals kept my interest and as well as an engaging storyline. The basic "us good, them bad" draws the lines but there are multiple sub-plots and twists underneath that, and every character seems to have their own hidden agenda in addition to those of the group that they are in. It even brought in the vampire mythology in an offhand sort of way... "oh yeah, that was us" :-)

I liked it. Not the best writing style perhaps, but it kept me reading it. And it will probably pull me in for the rest of the series, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New Author, 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Change (Unbounded Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book caught my attention from the first page. Non stop action with great characters but importantly for me an exciting and new idea for a book that became a page turner until the it was finished. Enjoyed the growth of the main characters and their surrounding and ever growing support group but appreciate that people come and go during a story. Because the action is almost non stop, and whilst realising that you can't always stop a storyline to give characters the chance to grow and share themselves, have thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. An interesting and unusual concept. Loved it so much that I immediately sought out the next book in the series.

Lynne Kerr
Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Change (Unbounded Series Book 1)
£2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews