Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this the future of Nuevo tango?
This album seems to be an evolution of their earlier work, perhaps even a whole new direction for the genre, with less emphasis on the heavier electronic beats which will no doubt appear in a remix album. The music is a little less obviously tango derived, but the complex layering is there if you listen to it, the bandoneons, the strings and the piano and what I think...
Published on 13 April 2013 by Neo_Tanguero

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Alas, for me, this is the poorest Bajofondo album to date.
Published 2 months ago by Brian M


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this the future of Nuevo tango?, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Presente (Audio CD)
This album seems to be an evolution of their earlier work, perhaps even a whole new direction for the genre, with less emphasis on the heavier electronic beats which will no doubt appear in a remix album. The music is a little less obviously tango derived, but the complex layering is there if you listen to it, the bandoneons, the strings and the piano and what I think they have achieved here has more mainstream appeal, but in a rather clever way, they've not left their fan base behind, they're taking us with them. Time will be the best judge of how successful this is. Favourite tracks are so subjective, what I like my tango buddies don't and vice-versa...Oigo Voces certainly polarises opinion...Nocturno so far seems the stand out track. On further listening the album seems to be a grower, which has to be a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 22 July 2013
By 
S. Renshaw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Presente (Audio CD)
I've edged around Bajofondo for a while, being more of a Gotan Project and Otros Aires man. However, I took the plunge and bought "Tango Club" a couple of months ago and, after three or four plays, finally fell in love with it.

Presente is very similar - I find that a first playing of any of Bajofondo's tracks is never enough to fully appreciate everything that's going on. In fact I don't think I really like any of them the first time around. There's so many layers and such a mix of sounds on each track, that you listen to it again and again and find something new each time.

Also, the variety is incredible. This isn't a one-trick neotango pony. There's everything from house-style to tango to acapella to full on power ballads, and some songs weave two styles into one song to great effect. Some tracks will have you dancing round the lounge, others will evoke haunting memories.

This is one of those albums you'll have on continuous loop on your iPod for days on end, it's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally makes good on the promise of the first album!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Presente (Audio CD)
If (like most people) you've ever wondered what the best alternative electrorock tango album is, then you're looking at it.

I bought their first album (Tango Club) several years ago. It was good, but too electronic and not tangoey enough for me. Then I saw them live and it was a totally different ball game; I realised what superb performers these guys (and one gal) are. 10 years and only two albums later, this album finally delivers the goods. It's far more acoustic than electric, yet superbly catchy and funky at the same time, with some epic beats.

It's also epically long, at 1 hour and 20 minutes. But incredibly there's not a moment of filler on there - there just isn't space! There's a startling variety of sounds, mostly instrumental, a few tracks sung, even acapella tango at one point, making the album is a real musical journey.

I've seen their web page and they're not coming to the UK any time soon, but this album will more than make do until then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 8 Mar. 2015
By 
Brian M (Edinburgh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Presente (Audio CD)
Alas, for me, this is the poorest Bajofondo album to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Presente (Audio CD)
Never disappoints. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Presente (MP3 Download)
Excellent Argentine Tango.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not their best, 29 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Presente (Audio CD)
This album is much more a mix of styles than earlier albums. Fans of classic tango may be turned off as the tracks are not really dance-friendly. As a listening album, however, it is superb. It fails to get 5 stars from me because of its difficulty as a dance album but as Nuevo tango it is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Presente
Presente by Bajofondo (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews