Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 25 Feb 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
I think most people have seen March of the Penguins - Luc Jacquet [DVD] [2005], and so are aware of the Emperor Penguin and the birth of its young. In this set of documentaries we do see the Emperor Penguin, but also we follow Humboldts, and Rockhoppers. This series follows these three breeds of penguins, although near the end we do get a glimpse of Adelie Penguins as well.

By using things like 'penguin cams' and 'egg cams' this series can get some really close up shots of the penguins from right inside their nesting grounds making this excellent to watch. We follow the Emperors in Antarctica, the Rockhoppers in the Falklands, and the Humboldts in Peru as they first come to land to lay their eggs, and then to rear their young.

This makes compulsive watching as we see both the joys of birth and the woes when things don't go right. With eggs and young penguins being vulnerable they have to be protected from natural predators, and in the case of the Emperors, the extreme cold, meaning that not all make it to adulthood. As we watch these animals being brought up we can also see group dynamics, with penguins looking for mates, as well as stealing baby birds. And of course as the baby penguins start to move around they will try to fool any penguin into feeding them.

At times funny and others sad this is riveting viewing that really brings penguins to life like never before, and shows the strong survival instincts of these wondrous birds. Narrated by David Tennant this is great viewing for young to old, although there is violence and death in this series. This is a documentary series well worth watching, and I am sure will be viewed many times, both because of its educational value, and also because it is just great tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Mar 2013
This review is from: Penguins - Spy in the Huddle [DVD] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Pioneering documentary techniques, wonderful narration and beautiful photography throughout the entire series. Im a big fan of all wildlife/science series and this is up there with some of my favourite Attenborough collections. Interesting story line with the perfect amount of detailed scientific information, couldn't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series from the team that brought you Earthflight, 2 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Penguins - Spy in the Huddle [DVD] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Well-narrated by David Tennant and beautifully filmed with cameras hidden in model penguins and dummy eggs by John Downer, the team that brought you Earthflight a year earlier. Fortunately available in HD blu-ray format as well as DVD, unlike the new series Wild Arabia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait :), 26 Feb 2013
I am so pleased that this fantastic series is coming to DVD!! What a brilliant set of programmes,just Wow! Congratulations to all concerned. Can't wait to buy iy and watch it again!! Definately recommend it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Penguin heaven, 22 Feb 2013
Yet another fantastic documentary from the BBC, All the images are crysal clear and give you an idea of the Penguins eye view of life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new way of looking at penguins, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguins - Spy in the Huddle [DVD] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Such a nice concept, hidden cameras around penguins' natural habitats. I saw it on TV and bought the DVD so I can rewatch as I enjoyed it the first time. My favourites were definitely the bouncy rockhopper penguins, but all the portraits were brilliant and innovative. If you like penguins and haven't seen this, it's a definite must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC1 Spy In The Huddle, 26 Feb 2013
By 
M. B. Ghinea (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Seen this on TV, great documentary, incredible of how much devotion and sacrifice the panguins are capable of. The title, Spy In The Huddle, comes from the penguin cams "Spycameras cleverly disguised as life size penguins" infiltrated through the real penguin population being able to record very close details of their real life. Great image quality on TV, should not be any different on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids loved it, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguins - Spy in the Huddle [DVD] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It was great to be able to watch a nature programme as a family without worrying too much about content. The children are still talking about it months later. They were enthralled by the disguised cameras as much as the penguins. And, as a bonus for family viewing it is narrated by Mr Tennant, who does an amazing job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top dvd, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penguins - Spy in the Huddle [DVD] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Excellent view into the penguins live.
Best nature film ever.
There is a lot of humourous comments involved. You can look at it several times withouten being bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Reportage, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good work by the team who followed the different groups of penguins. I really liked watching it, because it's an awesome documentary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Penguins - Spy in the Huddle [DVD] [Blu-ray]
£16.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews