Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent budget camcorder
♦ Brief ♦

The Canon HF-R406 is a smart looking and very lightweight camcorder that has the ability to record high-quality footage when in the right conditions.

♦ Box contents & recommended items ♦

- Included in the box are the following:

Camcorder | Power Adapter | AC Cable | Battery Pack | HDMI to Mini...
Published 23 months ago by MyKeyReviews

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for indoors but difficult outdoors
This camera is a basic model with no WIFI and gives good quality video playback in a choice of two formats. The main problem with this camera is the fold out touch screen display panel. This is highly glossy and extremely hard to see in bright conditions so that tracking activity on screen is very difficult.
Published 21 months ago by Mike B


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent budget camcorder, 27 Aug. 2013
By 
MyKeyReviews (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Canon LEGRIA HF R406 High Definition Camcorder (32x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilisation, 3 inch Touchscreen LCD) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
♦ Brief ♦

The Canon HF-R406 is a smart looking and very lightweight camcorder that has the ability to record high-quality footage when in the right conditions.

♦ Box contents & recommended items ♦

- Included in the box are the following:

Camcorder | Power Adapter | AC Cable | Battery Pack | HDMI to Mini HDMI Cable | USB to Mini USB Cable | Software Disk.

- Things you NEED:

A memory card is a must, otherwise the camcorder is rendered useless as it has no internal memory.

I would advice one of the following depending on your needs: Sandisk 32GB SDHC Memory Card or SanDisk 64GB SDXC Memory Card, obviously you can choose a different brand or capacity, however if you're going for the highest quality, a higher capacity and faster write speed is advisable.

♦ The Good ♦

+ I personally found this camcorder to be very comfortable to hold, not only due to it being lightweight, but also the hand strap is easily adjustable and feels very snug.

+ Quality on this thing can be really good providing you're in a well lit area (inside or out). If you are in the appropriate conditions then the video at it's highest quality is very smooth & crisp.

+ The zoom is extremely quiet, it can still be picked up in the recorded video, however is so subtle you wont notice it unless your really trying to listen out for it.

+ Sound quality is pretty good and has some audio modes to enhance certain audio such as speech.

+ Really impressed with the focusing, although you can manually focus on this when recording by tapping on the screen, I found the automatic focus to be just fine.

+ Depending on the capacity of your memory card, the battery lasts quite awhile when recording. The quick guide included suggests the battery will last for an hour worth of recording or 2hrs 30min worth of playback, however I've recorded more than 45 minutes of footage and still have "57min" worth of battery left which is at 50%, the only downside about the battery in my eyes is it takes around 5 hours to fully charge.

+ I found the camcorders interface to be easy to navigate around and was able to find the settings I wanted with no hassle.

+ Decent amount of recording modes available such as 'Auto', 'Cinema', 'Scene' or 'Programmed AE'.

+ The touch screen is very responsive and covers a good mount of different viewing angles.

♦ The Bad ♦

- First of all, this camcorder can get quite warm when in use for more than 10 minutes, even more noticeable at the 30 minutes mark. The battery pack actually remained cool throughout use, it's the bottom & side of the camcorder that gets warm.

Whilst it can get fairly warm, it hasn't gone beyond the point where it's uncomfortable enough for me to stop using it.

- My final gripe with this camcorder is with the poor quality when in low-light, it's just... awful, there is so much picture noise going on and when using the specific low-light mode, that noise intensifies and the video becomes jittery.

♦ Overall Opinion ♦

I think it's fair to say this is a decent camcorder available for a reasonable price.

It may not be perfect, however I believe it would be most suitable for holiday videos or general purposes videos such as parties & events etc...

For those wanting a bit more quality in all areas, then you'll need to cough up more money for a higher end camcorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for indoors but difficult outdoors, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon LEGRIA HF R406 High Definition Camcorder (32x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilisation, 3 inch Touchscreen LCD) (Electronics)
This camera is a basic model with no WIFI and gives good quality video playback in a choice of two formats. The main problem with this camera is the fold out touch screen display panel. This is highly glossy and extremely hard to see in bright conditions so that tracking activity on screen is very difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for its price., 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon LEGRIA HF R406 High Definition Camcorder (32x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilisation, 3 inch Touchscreen LCD) (Electronics)
I previously owned the canon legria hf r306 (previous model) but was robbed, and therefore replaced it with the new model, which at first seems almost identical, although the picture quality looks like it might be slightly better. The zoom is quieter than the previous model and I don't think you can hear it at all on playback (I could with the 306). One downside is that this camera isn't great for low light video as the image becomes quite noisy, you still get an ok picture but it's not at all as good as with full daylight. Another plus over the previous model is the inclusion of a longer lasting battery which is very useful considering the price of official replacements. Other features such as zoom, focus, stabilizer, usability, and appearance are all good in my opinion. In conclusion I think this is a decent low budget videocamera, and given its price is definitely worth it over the old model, and I really don't think you lose out at all by not getting the more expensive 46 or 48 models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon HF R406, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon LEGRIA HF R406 High Definition Camcorder (32x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilisation, 3 inch Touchscreen LCD) (Electronics)
First ever camcorder I have bought easy to use light what a brilliant piece of kit the shots from Italy were fantastic I took on holiday wish I had one last year, once I downloaded software on laptop easy to save films to laptop, 1st class camcorder and no help from my kids to set it up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Camcorder, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon LEGRIA HF R406 High Definition Camcorder (32x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilisation, 3 inch Touchscreen LCD) (Electronics)
Fantastic results with this camera. Crystal clear picture - true full HD, not interlaced (there is a definite and marked picture quality difference). Easy to use straight out of the box. I used it to record my daughter's university graduation with excellent results indoors. Would recommend this camera to anyone needing a compact, full HD camcorder to use straight from the box. Fantastic value at the price of £214.00. I cannot recommend this camera highly enough. Top marks Canon. Delivered quickly too and by far the cheapest HD camcorder I found so top marks again Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to believe the performance from a "budget" camcorder, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
Clever Spud (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Canon LEGRIA HF R406 High Definition Camcorder (32x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilisation, 3 inch Touchscreen LCD) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been using this constantly since I got it and have only recharged it twice. The battery life is far better than I've become used to.

A major problem in most camcorders has always been the way the image jitters at high magnification. The HF R406 offers 32x optical zoom, and a digitally enhanced 53x zoom, but couples this with optical image stabilisation which is not perfect but extremely impressive. You'll still need a pretty steady hand at higher magnifications but at lower levels it becomes quite forgiving of a slightly shaky hand.

It's a small device that fits comfortably in the palm of your hand with all your most used functions at your fingertips.

I found the audio to be decent and it isn't plagued by picking up the "whirr" from zooming that some devices suffer from.

Small enough to chuck in a pocket, I'd say it punches above its weight in results. Hard to knock Canon - they've been in this game for a while and with products like this is doesn't look like they'll be going away any time soon, even despite the "competition" from mobile phones.

If you're raising a baby there are also a bunch of "memento" features which allow you to tag videos with specific labels and features as a memory-jerker when you look back on them. Not for everyone but another nice touch.

5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay for medium priced camcorder., 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon LEGRIA HF R406 High Definition Camcorder (32x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilisation, 3 inch Touchscreen LCD) (Electronics)
A nice little camcorder with great daytime and well lighted subject movies but not too happy with low light results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Camcorder, 8 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Canon LEGRIA HF R406 High Definition Camcorder (32x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilisation, 3 inch Touchscreen LCD) (Electronics)
I am a YouTuber and this camera is great quality sound quality is ok but i record separate audio using the audio technica atr 3350 lav mic THE CAMERA DOES NOT HAVE AN EXTERNAL MIC PORT i record to a laptop but apart from that it is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, 14 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. John Connell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon LEGRIA HF R406 High Definition Camcorder (32x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilisation, 3 inch Touchscreen LCD) (Electronics)
Easy-peasy to use, good quality recording, good zoom range, great image stabiliser. Would have got 5 stars but for the manual lens cover and lack of audio input.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good video camera for the money, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
A Smile and a Wave (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Canon LEGRIA HF R406 High Definition Camcorder (32x Optical Zoom, Image Stabilisation, 3 inch Touchscreen LCD) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The first thing that struck me when I opened the box was how compact this video camera is. It's not so long ago that equipment like this would be two or three times as big, but this is easily held in the hand and fits into a good sized pocket when necessary. It has an adjustable strap which copes with a range of hand sizes too so that it won't be dropped and ensures a good, steady hold. In use I was surprised that it could deliver such decent results, and I found the picture to be really good in most circumstances. Very low light filming shows the camera's limitations but it seems to cope admirably the rest of the time. The image stabiliser has certainly been a help as the picture doesn't jerk around even when zooming in. The sound isn't perfect but is more than good enough considering it has a built in microphone, and I liked the fact that it has a decent optical zoom range. Battery life has been very good - a single charge is more than enough to do loads of filming and then play it back for everyone to see.

All in all it's been easy to use, and even technically challenged members of the family have used it without problems. One thing to note is that it doesn't come with a memory card so it's worth ordering one at the same time as the video camera, preferably one that is designed for the higher access speeds that you need for filming HD video such as this one SanDisk Extreme 32GB SDHC UHS-I Class 10 Memory card. It's only a small point but it would have been better to include a card in the box as anyone who buys the camera without realising is likely to be disappointed about that.

This is very good for an entry level video camera and for most people it will give perfectly decent results. If you just want a general-use machine which works well for things like family events, holidays, or even making then simple films you won't go too far wrong with the Legria HFR406.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews