Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebrating 60 years!
First it should be noted that the reviews from Amazon.com are for a totally different album. This 2 CD has 37 studio tracks recorded between 1960 (The Party's Over) to 2007 (Get The Party Started). Like dozens of other CDs currently available It contains all of DSB's biggest hits from the 60's and 70's. This set differs slightly as it includes History Repeating, the...
Published 22 months ago by cduk2001

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful career tribute....
For those who do not have anything from Dame Shirley Bassey in their CD collection, this is a great start. A wonderful selection taken from her long recording career. Just a shame that her 75th birthday went by without EMI releasing something more memorable.... In 2012 it was revealed that EMI and Capitol Records are sitting on many unreleased recordings from DSB.
A...
Published 21 months ago by D. W. Peirce-hendriks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebrating 60 years!, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Collection (Audio CD)
First it should be noted that the reviews from Amazon.com are for a totally different album. This 2 CD has 37 studio tracks recorded between 1960 (The Party's Over) to 2007 (Get The Party Started). Like dozens of other CDs currently available It contains all of DSB's biggest hits from the 60's and 70's. This set differs slightly as it includes History Repeating, the aforementioned Get The Party Started, and the wonderful away team remix of Where Do I Begin (Love Story) as well as the original version. For the price it offers a great selection of songs, it's just a pity that to celebrate Bassey's 60th year in the music business (2013), EMI could not have produced something special containing unreleased tracks that we know are in the vaults!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bassey, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Collection (Audio CD)
Great compilation although nothing new but well presented and excellent reproduction. The dame never disappoints. Long may she reign. Here's to another 60 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Collection (MP3 Download)
An absolute classic, fantastic. All her very popular songs, this woman has a fantastic voice and this album is a must for Bassey followers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shirley Bassy at her Best, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Collection (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Shirley Bassey for years and it brings back
so many memories, I have seen her on stage several times
and she never fails to give of herself completley she is a one off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 60 year retrospect, 7 Mar 2013
By 
A. Russo (Cambridge, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Collection (Audio CD)
If you don't know Shirley Bassey, this is a great 2 cd set that will enlighten you to the diversity and talent of Dame Shirley Bassey. This collection has most of her classics including 2 of the three James Bond hits Goldfinger and Diamonds Are Forever. Moonraker was eliminated. She does a theatrical version of Pink's Get The Party Started which was released a few years back on a collection of today's hits with a Dame twist. There are two versions of Where Do I Begin (Love Story theme), the original from 1971 and an updated earthy sounding version from 1990 (according to the liner notes) The liner notes were minimal and bare. I wish they elaborated like most collections like this does. The songs were arranged well having continuity and flow.

As noted on the recent Oscars 2013, Dame Shirley bassey can still belt out a tune with ease. I have to say...better than Barbara Streisands weak, but important performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful career tribute...., 26 Feb 2013
By 
D. W. Peirce-hendriks (DRUTEN, (Gld) Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Diamond Collection (Audio CD)
For those who do not have anything from Dame Shirley Bassey in their CD collection, this is a great start. A wonderful selection taken from her long recording career. Just a shame that her 75th birthday went by without EMI releasing something more memorable.... In 2012 it was revealed that EMI and Capitol Records are sitting on many unreleased recordings from DSB.
A planned CD set (including a live concert from the early 1970's) was approved by The Dame for release. Unfortunately it seems, due to infighting between her old record companies, we are left waiting for these tracks from the vaults. After the amazing performance at the Oscars on Sunday last I hope that we will finally get a tribute that the great Dame deserves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Collection (Audio CD)
Good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Best., 3 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. W. S. Jackson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Collection (Audio CD)
Great collection of songs - Shirley Bassey at her best.
This was a surprise gift for my wife, once again I made her smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond Collection, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Collection (Audio CD)
A cracker, a real gem of a CD. I would recommend this CD to anyone who likes to listen to a proper artiste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Beltizar (Stockport, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Collection (Audio CD)
This is my first venture for a Shirley Bassey compilation. Her voice is amazing and makes for good background music whilst enjoying a nice meal and a bottle of wine with friends. This is a permanent addition to the iPod along with Ella and Etta.

It turns out that quite a few of our friends are closet Shirley Bassey fans

I bought it as an autorip, so it was on my Ipod within minutes and the CD arrived a few days later
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diamond Collection
The Diamond Collection by Shirley Bassey
Buy MP3 Album£7.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews