Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TWO JACK JONES ALBUMS OFFER GREAT ENTERTAINMENT!
Having already reissued Jack's two initial albums for Kapp Records, Sepia's follow-up now combines the singer's third and fourth releases. I'VE GOT A LOT OF LIVIN' TO DO, released in 1961, is a predominently up-tempo affair (exceptions being IT'S A LONESOME OLD TOWN and bluesy WHEN A MAN CRIES) with arranging/conducting duties shared by Pete King, Marty Paich and Billy...
Published on 14 Jan. 2013 by A. POLLOCK

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars second only to sinatra.
compare this album with the next few of his and you'll notice vast differences in the quality of his voice .here he sings the numbers dead straight dull even. after this he changed style and his voice became more exciting and thrilling to listen to.He's 75 now and still a great singer he puts these new imposters to shame.
Published 20 months ago by peter townsend


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TWO JACK JONES ALBUMS OFFER GREAT ENTERTAINMENT!, 14 Jan. 2013
By 
A. POLLOCK (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Having already reissued Jack's two initial albums for Kapp Records, Sepia's follow-up now combines the singer's third and fourth releases. I'VE GOT A LOT OF LIVIN' TO DO, released in 1961, is a predominently up-tempo affair (exceptions being IT'S A LONESOME OLD TOWN and bluesy WHEN A MAN CRIES) with arranging/conducting duties shared by Pete King, Marty Paich and Billy May. With the popular title song intoduced in Broadway's BYE BYE BIRDIE, Jack also favours BYE BYE BABY from GENTLEMEN PREFER BLONDES and I LOVE PARIS (CAN CAN) before including oldies YOU MAKE ME FEEL SO YOUNG, I LIKE THE LIKES OF YOU and WHEN I TAKE MY SUGAR TO TEA as well as his Dad's signature song, DONKEY SERENADE, which Allan Jones sang in the 1937 movie version of THE FIREFLY.

The second album, THE GIFT OF LOVE, released the following year, concentrates on ballads - in particular standards LIKE SOMEONE IN LOVE, TIME AFTER TIME and I SEE YOUR FACE BEFORE ME as well as the more recent Fifties favourites SOMEWHERE ALONG THE WAY, TOO LATE NOW and FLY ME TO THE MOON. Glenn Osser and Chuck Sagle take turns to conduct the orchestra and the featured string-filled arrangements enhance Jack's smooth romantic outpourings. Four bonus tracks are singles that were naturally geared towards chart success with suitably heavy beat and chorus although SHE'S MY DARLING, SHE'S MY ANGEL proves to be a commercially catchy novelty with a bright and brassy backing from Billy May whilst DREAMIN' ALL THE TIME is notable for being a Burt Bacharach ballad collaboration with Bob Hilliard.

Whilst the current trend salutes the longevity and continuing career moves of Tony Bennett, it's easy to overlook the six-decade efforts of Jack Jones who receives insufficient credit for his fine body of recorded work. He tends to be under-represented by CD reissues so Sepia's latest reissue is especially welcome and serves as a reminder of his great vocal talent with excellent remastering and presentation adding to listening enjoyment. Good to also realise Jack continues to perform, with a 2013 UK tour imminent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack's back on Sepia..., 18 Jan. 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I am a big fan of Jack Jones and agree with other reviews that he is under rated and oft overlooked. These 28 tracks will do much to bring his past recordings back into the hands of collectors and those who attend his concerts. I had the pleasure of seeing JJ on his last UK tour and he was so relaxed and at ease with himself and the audience. These 1961/1962 recordings are from his early years and he sang some great songs that now deserve to be heard again. Sepia have transferred these albums wonderfully and all the liner info is top notch. If you are a fan then you must buy this CD and if you have not heard JJ before then this is the perfect introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORE EARLY MATERIAL, 13 Mar. 2013
By 
K. Johansen "luvmusic" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jack Jones voice matured so well with his RCA recordings This is a much younger Jack but the recordings are still excellent with good arrangements and orchestrations - however I long for the day his complete RCA catalogue is made available on cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buble, Connick Jr. Step Aside!, 19 July 2013
By 
AsianCharm "AC" (Frisco, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
Before Michael Buble and Harry Connick Jr, there was Jack Jones. Before Jack Jones, there was Frank Sinatra, so the tradition of Crooning continues.

Sometimes you ask what it takes to be a great crooner? To have a good voice and the "natural" jazz inflection of course help, but to know how "to interact with a dynamic jazz orchestra/band that accompanies you" is just as important. Having said that, Jack Jones did a fabulous "energetic" job in the first half of this CD, "Shall We Dance" with various arrangers' superb big band "swing" arrangements. My favorite track is "I Love Paris".

The second half of the CD includes the contrasting album "Gift Of Love", with a more mellow and lush orchestral accompaniments.

Serpia's decent digital re-mastering certainly enhances the overall enjoyment of this compilation CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine job of remastering, 29 Jun. 2013
By 
Kurt Reichenbach "Jazz Singer" (Los Angeles, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From reading the liner notes on this CD, I am assuming that they are not licensed from the copyright owner (Kapp/MCA) and instead taken fro the vinyl LPs. This said, they are beautifully done. Since the original copyright owners seem in no hurry to release these classic albums, this appears to be the ONLY way to get them. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars second only to sinatra., 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
compare this album with the next few of his and you'll notice vast differences in the quality of his voice .here he sings the numbers dead straight dull even. after this he changed style and his voice became more exciting and thrilling to listen to.He's 75 now and still a great singer he puts these new imposters to shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
never get tired of listening to a great singer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early Jack, some you; ve never heard before ..., 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Early Jack, some you;ve never heard before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews