Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A parent's nightmare
Terry was just a wild teenager but went off the rails and fell in with a bad crowd. Has happened to many kids. The real heroine is Terry's mother Pat who has pulled her out of the mess.
Published 16 months ago by David John Gray

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An manipulative version of 'the truth' and an insult to my intelligence
I was extremely disappointed and insulted by this book. This author must think we readers are stupid if we believe this tale. An admitted drug user and alcohol abuser (who now says she is clean) who is trying to manipulate the truth and make money out of her story - and story is what I believe it is. She wants us to believe she was in the wrong place at the wrong time...
Published 11 months ago by Kindle Ed.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An manipulative version of 'the truth' and an insult to my intelligence, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passport To Hell: How I Survived Sadistic Prison Guards and Hardened Criminals in Spain's Toughest Prisons (Kindle Edition)
I was extremely disappointed and insulted by this book. This author must think we readers are stupid if we believe this tale. An admitted drug user and alcohol abuser (who now says she is clean) who is trying to manipulate the truth and make money out of her story - and story is what I believe it is. She wants us to believe she was in the wrong place at the wrong time - not just once but several times. She put herself in those places with her behaviour and, if not actually 'guilty' she is certainly culpable. Her family have been amazing for her and how does she repay them? By taking more and more money off them and not being there when they needed her. Selfish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother!, 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passport To Hell: How I Survived Sadistic Prison Guards and Hardened Criminals in Spain's Toughest Prisons (Kindle Edition)
I got this book imagining it would be similar to that of other innocents that have been incarcerated abroad, it's actually the story of a silly selfish woman who abused drugs and alcohol in the extreme. Not particularly interesting or thought provoking, certainly not worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A parent's nightmare, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Terry was just a wild teenager but went off the rails and fell in with a bad crowd. Has happened to many kids. The real heroine is Terry's mother Pat who has pulled her out of the mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put this down, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passport To Hell: How I Survived Sadistic Prison Guards and Hardened Criminals in Spain's Toughest Prisons (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very interesting and would be a great lesson in what not to do to anyone thinking of trying something crazy! I found the writer to be very honest and open and my heart goes out to her, her strength for managing to cope with the immense pressure of what had happened and was hanging over her constantly is amazing, i feel so sorry for her that she was put in that situation by someone else and was so let down by the authorities. A great read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this!, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passport To Hell: How I Survived Sadistic Prison Guards and Hardened Criminals in Spain's Toughest Prisons (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, I found it interesting to see what goes on abroad!
Very addictive once I started reading I wanted to know more.
Defo a 5 star rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant.., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passport To Hell: How I Survived Sadistic Prison Guards and Hardened Criminals in Spain's Toughest Prisons (Kindle Edition)
Fab book, read it whilst on holiday....if you have ever had addiction problems you will relate very well to Terry the author of this book and main character...fabulous courage and stamina...she didn't give in...someone to be respected, her downfall was so unfair...but she eventually conquers all ...Brilliant ...loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the most boring book I have ever read. I just didn't relate to the author at all and could not believe she was really that naïve!. I expected the book to tell the story of the authors time in a Spanish prison however, it is almost an after thought. Feel like I wasted part of my life reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't find any empathy for this self centred person who ..., 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passport To Hell: How I Survived Sadistic Prison Guards and Hardened Criminals in Spain's Toughest Prisons (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't find any empathy for this self centred person who kept making these major life mistakes and mum and dad had to spend years bailing her out with time and money. They probably had more pain and anguish than she did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRIPPING AND HARD HITTING., 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book should be read by any young person who has spent or is planning to spend any time working abroad. The dream can so easily turn into a nightmare, as the author found out. Terry has not written this in a way as for readers to feel sorry for her, the opposite is true. She never denies that she enjoyed the party and rave lifestyle of the day. Drugs and partying was a way of life for her, as it was for many, She admits that while she was living and working in Tenerife drugs were in abundance , and she took them. and so ,combined with the twenty four hour party lifestlye of the Island not much else mattered.. but she made one big mistake, and that was putting her trust in someone, and that trust was going to cost her dearly. It would nearly destroy her ... I thoroughly enjoyed reading this story, It is well written and gripping. I admire how after all she went through and all she lost, she came through it all and is now helping others . HIGHLY RECCOMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passport To Hell: How I Survived Sadistic Prison Guards and Hardened Criminals in Spain's Toughest Prisons (Kindle Edition)
I gave up half way through this book I wish now I has read all of the previous comments before purchasing

I found the book to be slow and boring. I cannot believe that someone would have 2 prison sentences hanging over their head and be completely innocent,

The prison situation in Northern Ireland took away any compassion I may have regarding the drugs issue in Spain.

For me, total waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews