Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Adaptation ... but why in two parts?, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Greywolf (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Knight Returns Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
As other reviewers have said, this is an excellent adaptation of Frank Miller, Klaus Janson and Lynn Varley's extraordinary 1986 comic book series, Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, widely regarded as one of the finest works in the medium. The film-makers have taken the wise decision to stick very closely to the original story and the way it is told. Miller's tale redefined the Batman character in ways that continue to resonate to this day and was one of the stories that helped the superhero genre to grow up. The animators have also done a pretty good job of translating the stylish artwork of the comic onto the screen, so fans of the graphic novel shouldn't be disappointed. The voice acting is also good.
No spoilers plot-wise for anyone who hasn't read the story, in which an ageing Batman comes out of retirement when his beloved Gotham City comes under threat. It's a darkly satirical tale and, at times, genuinely moving.
A couple of questions though. First, why have DC/Warner decided to release this in two parts? On the Region 2 discs, each part runs for 73 minutes, giving a total running time of 146 minutes. A lot of movies on single dvds have longer running times than that, so there's no technical difficulty. The answer, therefore, must be that DC/Warner makes more money by making us shell out for two discs instead of one. The second question is why the running time for the Region 1 releases clocks in at 76 minutes each. Are we missing three minutes from each film or are the Region 2 versions running at a slightly increased speed? I've no idea and would quite like to know. It's these questions that lead me to give only 4 stars to what would otherwise be a clear 5-star winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the 'real' films!, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Knight Returns Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best Batman film yet. Unencumbered by budget and A-List actors, this is a fairly faithful adaptation of the graphic novel. Turns the lights off, grab the popcorn and make a night of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Animated Adaptation Of Frank Miller's Graphic Novel, 11 Feb 2014
By 
timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Knight Returns Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Dvd Info.
Running time 73 minutes approx, Region 2, Rated PG-13 US, UK 15.

Trivia.
1)Peter Weller voices Batman/Bruce Wayne but is best known for starring as Alex Murphy/Robocop in 1987's Robocop & 1990's sequel Robocop 2.
2)Michael Emerson who voices the Joker is better known as Benjamin Linus in Lost & also played Zep Hindle in horror classic Saw.
3)This review is from a two part animated adaption based upon Frank Miller's graphic novel.

Review.
Batman has not been seen in Gotham City for over 10 years but when a new vicious crimewave hits the street's of Gotham a 55 year old Bruce Wayne once again dons the cape & cowl becoming Batman the Dark Knight of Gotham City.

But does a older Batman still have what it takes to stop this new criminal crimewave that is terrorising Gotham City?

Timelord Thoughts.
This is a fantastic animated adaption of Frank Miller's graphic novel with a great voicing performance of the Bruce Wayne/Batman character by Peter Weller & a superb vocal performance of the Joker by the brilliant Michael Emerson.

This is a gritty violent Batman adventure in tone with the Nolan Batman movie's & contains very dark themes & at times quite times graphic images as this was intended for more mature audience fan's of Batman & is not suitable for young children in my opinion.

My only criticism is that the movie is in two parts which is odd as surely both parts could've easily fitted on to the one disc but I'm assuming WB trying are trying to milk money out of the buyer by releasing the dvd/Blu ray in two parts which they have released as one whole movie in the US recently which I think is fleecing the fan's who will buy three editions a bit too much.

But for mature hardcore Batman fan's this is without doubt a must buy purchase as this first part of the animated movie does justice to it's source material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Violent not suitable for under 8's, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Knight Returns Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Good story. Like Peter Weller's voice but can't compare to Kevin Conroy who remains the definitive batman. I watched this with my 9 year old-he had reservations about it being a 12. There is no profanity as such but the violence is gratuitous and some of the big fight scenes make you wince! Looking forward to part two😃
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cold comes the night, but colder comes the vengeance of Batman, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Knight Returns Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Cold comes the night, but colder comes the vengeance of the Dark Knight.

This adaptation of Frank Miller's graphic novel; Batman Dark Knight Returns TP, is a brilliant example of how a good story works on any platform. The aging and retired Bruce Wayne must battle his inner demons and come to terms with an increasingly crime-ridden Gotham and a heavier-weighing conscience.

The Dark Knight Returns Part 1 had me on the edge of my seat, and although it didn't keep everything from the original, it generally stayed quite true to the original in thought and action. The voice cast is quite impressive also,with Peter "Robocop" Weller as Bruce Wayne/Batman was quite a nice surprise. His grim and weathered tone lent a lot to the character, and really made me feel that this character was one that had seen his share of spilled blood, broken bones, disillusion and loss.

What really marked this feature as an accomplishment though, was its marvelous pace. It never got boring or tedious but rather kept the action and drama rolling, and the multiple story-arcs kept the narrative moving forward constantly in an exhilarating way. The inter-cut news reports set a very definite tone of the time and place, while the cutting back and forth between Wayne and Gordon, allowed for a multi-tiered perspective on a Gotham losing its grip of law and order. This pace then fed into the empathy which I felt for the caped protagonist, so much so that (no spoilers) when he faced off with various opponents, I followed each punch with enthusiasm and despair (depending which way the punches were flying).

A really entertaining DVD and an essential part to any respectable Batman collection, as is its sequel Batman: The Dark Knight Returns - Part 2 [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome !, 12 Sep 2013
By 
Frank William Rhinds "ryukyu kenpo74" (nottingham .uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Knight Returns Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If you have been into Batman for about 25 years you would heard or read the Dark Knight Returns (Frank Miller) It was an Awesome story about Batman coming out of retirement at the age of 50 , Beating the bad guys once again . But to watch the story on your T.V Laptop ect...Is a real treat indeed , I enjoyed this DVD a lot, WB struck gold this time, It's a must have for every Batman Fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant tale, 23 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Knight Returns Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Animation is the best medium for super hero's and this is a fantastic tale of a world without hero's as they retired as pressure from the government. Into this world come horror after horror and the only one to stop it is a hero from the past with a brand new hero. A great tale and definitely one for my collection. And yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT ANIMATION, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Knight Returns Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
AS A LIFE LONG BAT FAN I FOUND THE STORY BRILLIANT BY FRANK MILLER W B ANIMATION DID IT PROUD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad36906c)

This product

Dark Knight Returns Part 1 [DVD]
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews