Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Last, Her Best: Judy Garland
in 1961 when director stanley Krammer bought a project called "the lonely stage" his two lead players would be Dirk Bogarde and the wonderful Miss Judy Garland. However, the title didnt last long, and was soon changed to I Could Go On Singing.
In this film judy gives us one of her best performances of her screen career, and up to this point she had made 34 films, 31...
Published on 31 May 2004 by nheath13

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Could Go On Singing DVD
Although I know and like the film, I was disappointed with the presentation on this video. When I played it, what I saw was a small picture in the middle of my screen. As the film was originally filmed in CinemaScope couldn't they have reproduced that rather than this weeny pictutre in the middle of my screen.
Published 22 months ago by mr derek w. bennett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Last, Her Best: Judy Garland, 31 May 2004
in 1961 when director stanley Krammer bought a project called "the lonely stage" his two lead players would be Dirk Bogarde and the wonderful Miss Judy Garland. However, the title didnt last long, and was soon changed to I Could Go On Singing.
In this film judy gives us one of her best performances of her screen career, and up to this point she had made 34 films, 31 of which were musicals, and indeed i could go on singing would be her final musical and final film before her early death in june 1969.
I Could Go On Singing introduced something new for Judy Garland, 3 of the films 5 numbers were sang live on the actual stage of the London palladium itself, and the dvd is a great restoration!
110% amazing
200% phenominal
all thanks to Judy Garland!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Judy's last film, 30 Oct. 2003
Judy Garland plays an international singing star in this her last film. In London to play the Palladium, she drops in on old flame, Dirk Bogard to ask a favour - she wants access to their son, a son she abandoned to Bogard in favour of her singing career. When he refuses, she goes to the boys boarding school posing as a "friend" of his father, and whisks him away for a week of fun around London. Confrontations with her estranged husband ensue and Garland has to make the biggest decision of her life - her son or her world tour. With strong performances throughout and extensive footage of Garland's stage show, this film is a treat for anyone who wants to fly over the rainbow. You know who you are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This time it's really in 16:9 anamorphic widescreen... AND a better print..., 30 Jan. 2014
By 
C. Raupach "klassikerfilmfan" (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Could Go On Singing [DVD] (DVD)
Judy in her last film - I had the US DVD which had an ABYSMAL picture... simply awful.

The UK Acorn edition is INFINITELY better... it seems like they might have gotten a better transfer... and in anamorphic widescreen too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Could Go on Singing [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this movie, being Judy's last film I enjoyed it and she does a fantastic job as pretty much playing herself to a degree, a must for Judy fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bittersweet, 4 Feb. 2012
By 
R. Poole "baby boomer" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Flawed this may be,but the acting between Bogarde and Garland works well and of course she sings her heart out.There is a problem however with the dvd as its been "adjusted" to fit tv screens so you do get some of the scenes more in close up with less of the overall picture.One scene has Garland and Bogarde in the back of a car and you only get half of each face!Plus because of this "adusting" some of the images arent quite as crystal clear and sharp as one would like (or expect nowadays).
However get past this and its not at all bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judy can go on singing forever ! Ten stars !, 28 May 2013
By 
Mr. P. Barrie "Philip" (Sussex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Could Go On Singing [DVD] (DVD)
At last Region 2 for this WONDERFUL film. A First Class performance from both Judy Garland and Dirk Bogarde - well, what did you expect??? Ths story of a beautifully tragic life, lived out both for real and on the stage.
As there is no footage of Judy's classic Carnegie Hall concert, here we have several songs performed at The London Palladium, to capture all the magic again.
Watch out for Alma Cogan and her sister Sandra Caron, who were there,they were friends, making their way down the aisle to their seats in the Stalls for the stage performance before the Overture starts.
A simply smashing film, heart-rending, Judy will be singing for us forever, they must have invented the stars so we would have something to compare Judy Garland to, when she came along. God Bless her Memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars garland fans, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
K. corish - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Could Go on Singing [DVD] (DVD)
if you love judy garland as much as i do your going to love this movie just as much as her other movies. its a must have garland movie so buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Film, 21 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Judy Garland in her last film but putting on a fantastic act and in fine voice. It is dramatic and heartbreaking at times. I chose the letterbox style DVD which i would not do again as it seems that half of the screen is black with a small picture in the middle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of a Diva, 19 Nov. 2013
By 
J. Scott-mandeville "jackie veronica" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Could Go On Singing [DVD] (DVD)
Judy Garland could be playing herself in this, her last movie, the story of a declining singing star whose life is rather a mess but who can still wow her audiences with her sheer talent and drive, and ability to rise to the stage occasion.

Dirk Bogarde is suave, bitter, and cynical, qualities which he plays superbly, and Judy, well, she's just Judy Garland, wonderful. She tears your heart strings and you feel her pain all the way through. And we also get at least 4 of her marvellous numbers sung at the Palladium (where she in fact played one of her last British concerts to a sell-out audience).

For every Judy Garland lover, this is not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars film buff, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Could Go on Singing [DVD] (DVD)
A very good film it was Garland s last film and her and Bogarde worked very well and the last scene is breathtaking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Could Go On Singing [DVD]
I Could Go On Singing [DVD] by Ronald Neame (DVD - 2013)
£8.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews