Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you haven't tried Bioshock yet, now's your chance!
Bioshock: Ultimate Rapture edition is extremely good value for money. You get the original Bioshock game, the sequel, plus all the avaliable DLC add ons for both titles, an exclusive museum level, and some stickers relating to the upcoming release Bioshock Infinite.

This is the PS3 version so all content fits on one Blu Ray disc, however it is not as simple as...
Published 22 months ago by Miss AL Holloway

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Refused to install add-on content
I've wanted to get hold of Bioshock ever since I played the demo, but never got around to it until now.

Anyway, both games require individual installs from the disc, as do the various bits of extra content. After installing Bioshock (5.5GB) I tried to install the add-on content for the game but this just resulted in my PS3 clicking furiously (to the extent that...
Published 22 months ago by The13thMan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you haven't tried Bioshock yet, now's your chance!, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Miss AL Holloway (Oswestry) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BioShock Ultimate Rapture Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Bioshock: Ultimate Rapture edition is extremely good value for money. You get the original Bioshock game, the sequel, plus all the avaliable DLC add ons for both titles, an exclusive museum level, and some stickers relating to the upcoming release Bioshock Infinite.

This is the PS3 version so all content fits on one Blu Ray disc, however it is not as simple as just popping the disc in and playing, each individual DLC pack has to be installed and this can be quite time consuming. They are worth the wait though. Both games (but particularly the first one) are magical experiences with the most engrossing storyline and game world I have ever experienced. The art deco style of rapture is truly mesmerising and still looks beautiful several years on. What are the games actually like? Well they are first person shooters with some RPG customisation elements. The controls are easy to get to grips with and are slightly improved upon in the second game. I favour the single player campaigns over the multiplayer but the online is not bad for a quick blast now and then and is worth playing just to see the different maps!

The stickers were a little disappointing. They are nice but there are only three of them and I was hoping at least one would be the bioshock infinite logo, alas they are posters from the world of columbia, which out of context are not that special although I will look out for them in game when infinite is finally released!

The museum level is not a dlc map or a new gameplay level it is more like an interactive art book with early concept art and character models and little bits of info you can read about the "exhibits". I love this sort of thing and thought it was a nice touch.

If you are a true fan like me, you have probably purchased both games already and possibly all the DLC too, and therefore you probably do not need this collection. However, I did not buy all the DLC so I thought this would be worth getting anyway. I am glad I did as the museum level is interesting and currently not available anywhere outside of this collection, neither are the stickers.

If you have never played these games before and are tempted, this is a very reasonably priced set of all you need. Although we are nearing the end of this generation of consoles, these are to me THE games of the generation, intelligent, beautiful to look at, and above all great fun. Highly recommended to all gamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I chose the impossible, 20 Feb 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BioShock Ultimate Rapture Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
It's not very often developers manage to get the full potential out of the Unreal engine, but damn it looks good when someone does. Right from the opening scene you instantly forget that bioshock is soon celebrating its 6th birthday. The visuals are truly stunning. And this is continued as you enter the beautiful underwater city of rapture.
Without a doubt one of the most unique twisted entertaining and beautiful games made.
At first it can be slightly confusing, and even frustrating, but you soon find yourself as addicted to playing as splicers are to plasmids.
The story is fantastic. The challenges and puzzles/hacking are fun and researching can provide a lot of entertainment. Big guns and bigger explosions combined with some of the down right silly plasmid powers make bioshock a solid 5 out of 5 just from entertainment alone. But as mentioned before the graphics are truly stunning and the gameplay is perfect. There's plenty of replay value too if you want that platinum with a lot of collectables and the not for the faint hearted "I chose the impossible" trophy.
5 out of 5

Bioshock 2 offers a different take on the game when you become a big daddy and re enter the world of rapture. Again beautiful gameplay, amazing graphics. Unfortunately the story isn't as gripping and it feels more like a chore in comparison. 3 out of 5
The multiplayer is a waste of time and should never have happened. When you eventual find a match you soon lose interest.
2 out of 5

Dlc.
Bioshock 1. The challenge rooms are a great little addition and if you want that platinum they are just that, challenging! Save yourself an extra £9.99 from the psn store here :) 4 out of 5

Bioshock 2. Minervas den (aka bioshock 2.5) is a fun little mini story continuing the role of the big daddy, just in a separate location with a few extra weapons. 3 out of 5

Multiplayer add ons.. I'm not even going in to this. 1 out of 5
Save yourself an extra £20 from the psn store.

All in all a great little package for any bioshock fan or for anyone wanting to experience bioshock before the arrival of infinite. Both games and all the dlc for £15 saving you around £45. 5 out of 5 overall, although bioshock 2 (especially multiplayer) lets it down a little bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the one star reviewer he obviously has no brain or taste!, 27 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: BioShock Ultimate Rapture Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
The games are both brilliant in there own way and very original. This is great when your bombarded year in and year out by the COD games. Don't get me wrong they are ok, but once you have played one of them there is not that much difference with the others!
I have now played 1 and 2 more than two times and still enjoy them as much as the first time I played them. Also, the additional content you can buy like Mivernas Den is a must capturing its own little story.
To keep up with the originality of it all the new bio-shock infinite is set in the sky, and I'm looking forward to that. These guys are not flogging a dead horse and I am looking forward to the new instalment.
Forget what the 1star rater said he just is not living in the imaginative and original world that Bio-shock offers.
So get it guys just to annoy the hell out of him and to thoroughly enjoy yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, 13 Feb 2013
By 
K. Davison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Ultimate Rapture Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
At this price it is hard to resist this product. The DLC alone would cost the same via the PS Store.
Everything is on the disc, but other than the original game, everything has to be installed. This will take 2 hours at least, and requires 22 GB of HD space. That's right 22 GB minimum. But these games are amazing and it is worthwhile to have both in one package. Play them today and you will immediately preorder Bioshock Infinite, I guarantee it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A deal that can't be missed!!, 16 Feb 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BioShock Ultimate Rapture Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
It includes Bioshock 1, Bioshock 2 and all of its DLC on the disc. A spiritual successor to Irrational Games System shock, its got it all: amazing storyline, good reward system, complex power system and badass gameplay. For about 15 Pounds, its hard to turn this deal down. Warning: Bioshock is the only thing that has been pre-installed on to the disc, meaning your gonna need about 13/14 GB of space on your PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful scenarios, good story, and it's not horror, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Ultimate Rapture Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Bioshock Ultimate Rapture Edition comes with the two first games from the Bioshock Series.

Regarding the first game, on a plane crash in the middle of the Pacific, you discover Rapture, a city under the sea.
Many people say that this is an horror game, it's not! It isn't even that dark, and the places with the ambushes are easy to find, people get scared because they already go with the idea of this being horror.

The gameplay is simple and easy to understand, so I won't talk much about that.
The AI knows how to dodge a little on the hardest difficult, but nothing much.

The scenario is excellent and the music is also good.
The DLC content are just some challenges (besides extra plasmid on the campaign), so nothing much.

As for the second game, this one takes place some years after the original, and now we control a Big Daddy (the thing on the cover), the gameplay stays the same, the scenarios and music also stay the same, everything stays the same.

As for the DLCs, there's again challenge maps. And one campaign DLC, called Minerva's Den.
Minerva's Den doesn't change much either. There's also a multiplayer but...

So why buying this if there isn't a lot of difference from both games? Because of the stories, Bioshock 1 as a pretty good twist, but Bioshock 2 and Minerva's Den DLC have a better story.
PS: You need to install Bioshock 2 on your PS3 hard drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so great bundle... BUT GOOD GAMES!, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Ultimate Rapture Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
It takes forever to install in the hardrive, and the Bioshock 2 requires an 11GB installation and runs directly from the PS3, although Bioshock it's great game and Bioshock 2 it's kinda funny. The bonus content it's very small and requires a lot more of space to install, but it's a fair price if you have'nt bought any of them yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Ultimate Rapture Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Ultimate Rapture Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Loved the ultimate rapture edition. One of my all time favourite games. The extra dlc parts are great to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for all the content, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BioShock Ultimate Rapture Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I wanted these great titles for my PS3 as I already had them on other platforms but this was a great way to get all of the content bundled into one package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BioShock Ultimate Rapture Edition (PS3)
BioShock Ultimate Rapture Edition (PS3) by Take 2 Interactive (PlayStation 3)
£18.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews